*Originally posted by Fita: *
Kosher is in no way Halaal. Why, because for it to be Halaal an Islamic prayer in Arabic has to be read when the animal is slaughtered. So Kosher is as haraam (non-halal) as any other meat.
Yeah but in cases where halal is not easily available...and by unavailable i don't mean walking an extra two blocks for Kennedys...like if you lived in the middle of Utah (mormon-country) then kosher i believe is okay..
*Originally posted by Fita: *
Kosher is in no way Halaal. Why, because for it to be Halaal an Islamic prayer in Arabic has to be read when the animal is slaughtered. So Kosher is as haraam (non-halal) as any other meat.
Maulana saab...dont be so hasty when it comes to religion. Declaring something haraam or halaal is a matter of great responsiblity...something we dont even think about.
As far as Kosher is concerned...it has been declared legal to eat Kosher meat. The reason behind is that, the animal is killed the Islamic way. Secondly the Jews pronounce the name of their God, who is Allah infact, on sacrificing the animal. Meat from animals slaughtered by the people of the book is legal. The scholars have said that its fine, and since they are a lot more educated in matters of religion, we should keep our 2 cents to ourselves.
There are several issues with Kosher:
1. In Judaism, the rules and methods of slaughtering are not open and published. Unlike in Islam, where any adult sane Muslim can slaughter an animal by following the rules prescribed by Shariah, in Judaism only one kind of Rabbi, known as the Sachet, may slaughter Kosher animals. The Sachet is specially trained for this purpose and no other Jew can slaughter an animal.
Although Jews say that they slaughter in the name of God, we do not know what else they say in Hebrew while slaughtering. Their prayers and methods of slaughtering are in the hands of a few people and are not generally known.
2. The Sachet does not say prayers on all animals he slaughters at a time. Instead, he only says prayers on the first and last animals he slaughters. For example, if a Sachet has to slaughter ten cows, he will only say the prayer on the first and tenth cow while slaughtering, saying nothing on the cows in between.
This method of slaughtering is not similar to the method prescribed by Sharia for Hanafi sect, nor is it similar to the practice of Ahle-kitab at the time of our beloved Prophet Mohammed Sallallahu Alaihi Wasallum. Meat slaughtered by Ahlekitab was considered halal because of similarity in the slaughtering method and in the Niya at that time.
These are the reasons why most Ulama do not consider Kosher meat halal.
If a Muslim is not in danger of death, he must avoid eating haram food at any cost. If halal meat is not available, one can eat fish or vegetables or can even go to the slaughter house to slaughter an animal himself. There are many halal food stores online who can ship frozen Zabiha meat or Zabiha meat food products overnight. There is no excuse to eat non-zabiha meat or kosher meat in USA.
Zabiha products can easily be found in a big city like New York City. In addition, there are many Muslim-owned restaurants that serve zabiha meat and there is no excuse to eat Kosher.
I would say the best thing to do is imagine yourself in a similar situation. You are visiting someone and they are going to prepare a meal that may or may not be to your liking. Would you be satisfied eating dishes that you may have never tasted before? Would you think it rude that they didnt make any dish that is native to your own country/place? Would you prefer they call you and ask you about dietary requirements? Would you be satisfied if they suggested a restaurant if you didnt like the menu?
With the arriving guests this weekend, will you be mentally prepared to deal with the fact that they may not eat anything you decide to cook? Will you be ready to make another dish if that happens? All things to consider.
mamaof3, to be on the safe side, i,d suggest you have a couple of generic dishes that go with everything, like maybe some nicely roasted/baked/fried chicken. or maybe some fish etc.
you can have rice and one normal desi dish, preferably meat/chicken. and the rest, u can experiment with.
wen u said he,ll be fasting, i suggest u can have a nice fruit salad (fruit chaat), some dates etc. and maybe some pakoras (if u know wat those are and how to make em) or some other fried snack like maybe spring rolls or some other finger food or watever else is available.
if its an iftar-dinner (iftar = breaking fast), its nice to have a few different things/snack… a dessert/sweetdish as well.
By the same token most of the "zabeeha" meat bought is not halal either
have u ever seen the zabiha done at a bazaar, the dude will pull out chicken from the cage and cut it while exchanging maan behen ki galiaan with his co-workers. thats not quite zabiha then right..surely the words on his tongue while preparing that chicken were not god's name.
Well my goodneess they will be here in about an hour! My husband and I have been cooking since yesterday!! :) so heres the menu
to break the fast, we have pretty dates and chick pea salad (with mozzarella, peppers, tomatoes, purple onion, cukes and spices) then samosa and pakoras for after prayers.
Then we have tandoori chicken, "pepper beef" (like masala kind of but with yogurt and pepper), korma chawal (hubby made) rice with spices and veggies, home made raita, pickel relish, rotis and i made carrot halva.....
Whew! Mama hopes they like....seems like they are nice people and will eat whatever we prepare. I just hope that they LIKE it!
I know there are issues with goris fixing food sometimes and also with "kosher" vs "halal" but we did what we could sticking to the rules as closely as possible, hubby cooked the meat dishes and we stuck to what can be considered acceptable and we just hope they enjoy (esp the wife who is expecting...)
I will be sure to query them abt making a turkey dinner, see if they would be interested.....I'll let u all know! and I will post in lifestyle2 my recipes...i promise. And will post abt how things went...
fingers crossed!
..and thank you all for your support and your recommendations! It is so nice to come here for advice!
just contact a local muslim restaurant in your area, and ask them to cater you something nice. Dont sweat your self, just relax and place an order over the telephone.
*Originally posted by Furqan: *
just contact a local muslim restaurant in your area, and ask them to cater you something nice. Dont sweat your self, just relax and place an order over the telephone.
yeah but desi food prepared in resutarants is just nasty .
*Originally posted by Mamaof3: *
Well my goodneess they will be here in about an hour! My husband and I have been cooking since yesterday!! :) so heres the menu
to break the fast, we have pretty dates and chick pea salad (with mozzarella, peppers, tomatoes, purple onion, cukes and spices) then samosa and pakoras for after prayers.
Then we have tandoori chicken, "pepper beef" (like masala kind of but with yogurt and pepper), korma chawal (hubby made) rice with spices and veggies, home made raita, pickel relish, rotis and i made carrot halva.....
Whew! Mama hopes they like....seems like they are nice people and will eat whatever we prepare. I just hope that they LIKE it!
I know there are issues with goris fixing food sometimes and also with "kosher" vs "halal" but we did what we could sticking to the rules as closely as possible, hubby cooked the meat dishes and we stuck to what can be considered acceptable and we just hope they enjoy (esp the wife who is expecting...)
I will be sure to query them abt making a turkey dinner, see if they would be interested.....I'll let u all know! and I will post in lifestyle2 my recipes...i promise. And will post abt how things went...
fingers crossed!
..and thank you all for your support and your recommendations! It is so nice to come here for advice!
Blimey! When can I come round???? Let us know how it went!
I guess no credit for the chef. The poor husband who stood in front of the stove frying pakoras, samosas, making the marinade and baking the chicken, making dum ghost, making rice, and making tandoori naans.
Chalo theek heh I guess zindigi ke khel baray unfair hotay henh :)(someone can translate that for MO3).
All you guppies are more than welcome at our home. Just BYOB.
Well! The dinner party was just lovely! The cousin and his wife are very nice people and have an adorable little girl, age 2. My boys just loved her and my 2 1/2 yr old keeps asking "Where pretty girl go?"...must be love!
Anyway, the food was delicious and they seemed to really enjoy it very much - and they would also like to have a turkey dinner with us. They especially liked the carrot halva, I'm going to go over to the other lifestyle board to post the recipe.
Anyway, mr Chic Sahab is quite the chef...doesnt quite trust the wifey yet to make the meat dishes so I guess I have some work to do there but its wonderful to have a chef-type hubby!
I'll post thanksgiving feast directions once i dig them out, winter's coming and theres nothing nicer than smelling a turkey roasting in the oven on a wintry day!
Thanks again for all the replies, I had much fun with this!