Help a Gori have a nice party?!

Hey mamaof3, cook what you want, if he has a problem with what you cook, he can go eat out... in fact, maybe he'll bring back dessert for all. I think Pakistanis who are so particular about their food that they border on being insulting to their host can go stuff themselves with achaar.

what kinda lame equation is this

chicken = halal
turkey = non halal

Any half way decent halal butcher shop will get you a halal turkey.

mamaof3, your husband should know his cousin's tastes and can guide you, rest is up to you.

also, being religious and preferring fod from one's own culture do not go hand in hand. Some people prefer their own cultural food and some are open to other foods.

*Originally posted by Fraudz: *
what kinda lame equation is this

chicken = halal
turkey = non halal

Who said Turkey = non halal????????????

hmm I love turkey and so does my husband, he loved it the first time he had it, even though we cook desi style mostly, sometimes just fry it, he says turkey is much better than chicken.

I think some people only prefere desi food, because they have not been eating (exposed to) anything else. I for instance love boiled veggies with holland sauce or with chicken, where as my husband likes fried veggies with desi masala, I think it takes time to get used to other tastes, give them a chance, make that turkey, they should not complain about it, if he is so religious, he would know that its unreligious, unmoral to complain about food when invited to someone's place .. oh this reminds me of my arabic friend of my sisters husband, his mom made the best baked turkey, gosh lovely, I wish I can learn to bake like that.

Mamaof3 would you mind posting some of the recipes of traditional american thanksgiving food, its been a long time that I had that.
Would love to try it out at home. Merci

Oh I forgat to add, when you present the food, put a small bowl of desi masala like red hot pepper, garam masala or chat masala, so that he can add to his food, if he finds the taste a bit bland.

Do like a lamb casserole or something just put about a tub of chilli powder in and tell them it’s curry and few pita breads for chapatti, with salad, spicy chicken & beef sati on the side, and a nice ice cream/custrad for afters.

Turekey is too tasteless for Paki taste buds, same with boiled spuds, carrots, broccoli n what ave ya.

Be generous with the servings, it’s a Paki thing, we waste more than we eat and if anyone does it any different the bastrds talk behind your back.

Mamaof3,

I do think that you should do what you want to do. However, if your goal is to cater to their wishes then you might think of other options. I love turkey and the feel of a traditional Thanksgiving dinner, but lots of Pakistanis (including my father) are not big fans, and will mope and feel improperly fed. It's totally rude, but you need to be aware of it.

You could ask them if they like turkey? They might really love the traditional feel of the dinner. However, since it's risky, why not just ask them? Or do it with chicken to be safe. The idea of cooking it with desi spices is good too.

Good luck, and make sure to post recipes and pics :D

Well thank you all for your kind replies! I am going to "chicken out" so to speak...since this is the first time I'm meeting them I think I'll save the thanksgiving turkey for next time if they seem receptive. Our grocery store doesnt sell Halal meat but they do have kosher chickens and turkeys which is (I think) ok...

Anyway, I think I'll do tandoori chicken, I've made it before and it was delicious. Also biryani I can do pretty well and carrot halva for dessert. I plan to get a nice tray of dates for breaking the fast. Thanks for the ideas!

Ummm...I'm getting hungy!

^ You're quite the chef. Care to share?

Apaa jaan ! you seems to be expert in desi cooking :yummy:

Why ask others when you can make gajar ka Halwa(carrot halwa) by yourself. I bet your husband’s cousin will be drooling over halva :love:

Depending on how strictly religious this cousin is, it may just be worth the effort to hunt down a proper muslim halaal meat shop in your city and get chicken from them. Even if this cousin is ok with kosher chicken, the info may come in handy some time in the future.

Check out this site for a list of halaal restaurants in your neighborhood and you can call them to find out where they get their meat from.

Good luck with the dinner preparation. Your menu is utterly mouth-watering. :k:

*Originally posted by Neely: *

Who said Turkey = non halal????????????

no one said turkey is not halaal, but ppl were posting as if you cant find zabeeha turkey anywhere, lemme show ya some samples

maulana ahmedjee nay farmaya "Well, the Pakistanis I know would eat turkey in a heart beat as long as they don't have a problem with eating jhukta. So, if Halal is an issue, by all means go with Chicken"

Re: Help a Gori have a nice party?!

*Originally posted by Mamaof3: *
Hello,

My husband's cousin is coming this weekend...he is religious and fasting. His wife is expecting so she cannot fast...they also have a 2 1/2 yr old girl. I would like to have a nice dinner for them when they come....

okay so mamaof3 said that her cousin's husband is coming this weekend. I did not see in any post later which indicated that he was arriving from las vegas or chuk#42 zilaa mardaan,

somehow Qrium Aunty assumed that the dude is living backhome (or living in backhome as she states", and then posts..

"mamaof3, i am not sure how long your husband's cousin and his wife has been living in those surroundings..but i am going to tell you the likings of people from backhome. Lot of pakistanis in backhome don't eat turkey. Personally, i have never tasted turkey either. If they are particular about their meat..you can get halal meat. People usually don't like boiled vegetables"

o bhai logo, the guy could be religious and be living in US his entire life, or could be a big fan of polish cooking,

why are we assuming that the guy is some recent arrival from some pind who would have no interest in experiencing something different, and how do we know if this is something different for him..maybe he loves thanksgiving feasts.

mamaof3...we need more information to give you real advice rather than advice based in illogical assumptions :)

since he is your husband's cousin, just ask yer hubby about the guy and what he is like.

oh and just so i dont forget, there are many desis who eat desi food day in day out and while they may not want to eat some other food every single day for the rest of their lives, they may more than welcome a change and have something that they dont usually have at home.

Plus many desis do have traditional thanksgiving feasts.

Re: Re: Help a Gori have a nice party?!

*Originally posted by Fraudz: *
oh and just so i dont forget, there are many desis who eat ....

Plus many desis do have traditional thanksgiving feasts.
And just to be clear, while we may know a lot about "many desis", we really know jack about your husband's cousin, mamaof3. So naturally the best person to get advice on dinner menu is your husband and not Gupshup. At the end of the day, yours and ours hope is that the cousin is properly fed and goes back well-nourished.

Quite right Mr Faisal. But my dear husband isnt one who really, truly enjoys food. He also doesnt have tastes of a typical Pakistani...so thought I'd see what you others think...no harm done yes?

*Originally posted by Mamaof3: *
He also doesnt have tastes of a typical Pakistani
Well, true, but you are not concerned about 'typical Pakistanis". Your focus is obviously on this one Pakistani, who is your husband's cousin. :) Your husband can guide you if this cousin will like turkey or chicken, or spices or whatever.

When a guest is coming for the first time at our home, and I have no idea what they like, I sometimes just call them to find out if they have any special dietary requirements e.g. less salt, no red meats etc. Or whether kosher meat is fine for them or do they want a hand-slaughtered-by-muslim halaal meat. That gives them and you an opportunity to figure what will work to make it a more enjoyable meal with no unpleasant surprises.

Faisal next time I m in CA i expect to get a call asking about my food prefs.

shukriya

You and I have been to dinner a few times... so I know with you anything goes. :p

Mamaof3....just make whatever you are good in making. If its good...than he will definetly enjoy. Dont spend ur time and energy on trying to make food you dont know how to make....just be urself.

And yea...like how FG mentioned, just make sure theres plenty of meat content....and that the meat is not too bland.

Kosher is in no way Halaal. Why, because for it to be Halaal an Islamic prayer in Arabic has to be read when the animal is slaughtered. So Kosher is as haraam (non-halal) as any other meat.