Re: Hello Ladies..please pay attention…PD has a question for you girls
And the reason is not that every Pakistani male has four wives.
In a country where it is hard for majority to earn a honest living to support one family it is useless discussion if a women should or should not accept this limit. It is not like this practice is rampant in the Muslim countries and causing some kind of havoc on women , men and children. No societal ills are happening , no lives are being destroyed , no woman rights are being violated on a grand scale in any Muslim society just because majority of males are polygamous. In my entire life I have come across only a couple of mullas who had two wives. I have never met an average Joe who had two wives. I know of a couple of waderas through newspapers who have/had two wives.
I fail to understand why people spend their energies discussing something which is irrelevant to their lives or lives of those around them.
diwana bhai, nafraton ka karobar mat karien.
You are portraying me as if I am an anti-Islamic fascist trying to humiliate our religion…that is so wrong.
How conveniently you ignored this part of my post
"is it mentioned in quran somewhere that a man can marry 4 women? if so, we cannot change it but we need to make sure we do justice among our wives. PERIOD"
so what did i say? i said if it is mentioned in quran then we have to respect it PERIOD
and then i said that
***“but if it is not in quran, dont you think that we need to change this Islamic ruling through ijtihad ijmah/qiyas? I feel it is not fair to woman that a man can have more than one wife at the same time. When this ruling came, there were far more women than men because so many men died in wars. That is not true anymore”
***yes if something is not in quran it is subjected to be discussed per ijmah/qiyas and ijtihad by scholars
and there is no uncivil statement in your post? you called me troll, then attacked me for opening a thread outside PA, called female posters of this thread “so-called wanna-be liberalized women”, and “how much more freedom these women want”…i think these are not exactly civlized comments…no one else used such language in this thread.
The simple answer to your question is that nothing is impossible.
As a matter of fact, I myself got my husband remarried to my friend who was going in severe depression due to not being able to get a right match. I have been married for 17 years and have a blessed marriage alhamdulillah and my husband is the best person I’ve known thus far so i had no insecurities about the justice part. It is extremely important for your spouse to be “Allah fearing”. Anyone who fears Allah, won’t really hurt someone intentionally.
Winning over a person isn’t important, for he is a mere creation of The Creator. It’s The Creator, you need to please!
jazak allah Apa…allah aap ko iss nakiee ka ajar day… but i think you will agree that every woman is not as selfless as you are. I have never heard of such a selfless attitude.
by the way, your hubby must be a god fearing man as well … i am sure he did not want to marry your friend as he loves you so much laikan aab koi muskal may ho to uss ka dil to rakhna hee parta hai… jazak allah for your moman hubby as well..
Yes, alhamdulillah I have four kids, two of them teenager boys while our two daughters are younger. I discussed this with my kids and explained everything to them and I’m thankful that we all are on board. She was not a new person to my kids so that was another factor making them comfortable. We discussed it with my parents and parents in law as well. I’m so glad that my mother instantly knew where I’m coming from and her spontaneous remarks were full of Dua’s and encouragement.
I thought we went over this already. Is being independent and self-reliant equivalent to being a feminist? Then congratulations, you along with most men are feminist. I don’t intend to treat my husband as a 2nd class citizen or someone who is easily replaced or disposed of. I expect the same treatment. Instead of teaching our women to be independent, we find rishtas for them so they could be taken care of by SOMEONE. That doesn’t seem right to me.
I didn’t read the article, but I think we should avoid using words like “typical mullah” and mocking the scholars,especially the genuine ones who devoted their lives to studying the Quran/hadith/sunnah/shariah/fiqh…when we don’t even have a quarter of that knowledge. We never had the devotion they did. Granted that even the scholars themselves will differ in opinion on various matters…but I have heard that the scholars of yore respected one another despite their differences in interpretation of matters. And here we are…the folks who know very little…who may not even adhere to the 5 pillars regularly and we’ll haughtily dismiss scholars in their entirety. I’m guilting of doing it too. We should be careful.
My wife may not have a depressed single friend, but if I search hi and lo, I am sure I can find a depressed single female and make her my wife’s friend. Will that work: (
i was too much possessive even for my gf…but when i came to know that ‘Wife’s permission law’ was made by Ret. Col. Ayub Khan (although am very much fan of his acts & policies)…in islam there is no rule of wife’s permission…so i make my counseling by myself alhamdolillah now i feel whenever i get marry i’ll allow my hubby to get 2nd, 3rd or even 4th marriage
i never to wish a part of my hubby’s gunah-e-jaria…never