Hello Girls-Born-Abroad :D *happy thread*

Re: Hello Girls-Born-Abroad :D happy thread

^thats brave of you IMO! Living on my own, 2 years ago the idea would have seemed awesome to be! I would love it! Even two months ago before I really went in the other city I was loving the idea, but seriously now I am counting the days till I am done. I dont like living there even though I am living with a friend haha! We are both missing our families and cannot wait till we are back in our hometown. I've realized I am not built to live in another city let alone another country :p. My mum laughs at me when I tell her I wanna come home, cuz she is like "If we had stopped u, u would have been "ohh they dont let me go anywhere, I can live fine on my own" and now u are there, u wanna come back". Oh well. What are u doing ur masters in?

media design and communication :)

Ur family sounds just like mine, my dad's always encouraged me to do my own thing whilst my mum has been a lot more restrictive.. He even used to cover for me when I wanted to go off on holiday and my mum had said 'no' :D

I agree with both these points...there is a huge focus on clubbing and drinking and sex..its not very good..it almost makes it hard to fit in!

And the second point i agree..im never going to pak for a 'holiday' only on wedding as i cant deal with the horrible comments :S and they seem to be waiting for you to say something so they can jump on it...i think they have too much free time to be honest..

what's your life like?

Alhamdulillah its not bad, it mainly revolves around work and home at the moment.

what do you like to do?
Watch movies, listen to music, hang out with my hubby, go driving with him, hang out and chat with my sisters, write, try new places to eat, travel(havent actually really been anywhere yet though lol),make the people i care about happy annnd read.

how do you celebrate eid?
its gotten boring over the years lol. its spent going to my behji's for lunch, then going for my other behji's for dinner. since me and hubby got a car, last year i tried to make it a bit different and in the evening after the usual behji visit lol, we and my sisters and bro went out for icecream.that was nice :)

do you do any volunteering?
i have done in the past, but right now with work i just dont have the time, but i will definietly take up some more when ive the chance inshallah.

what did you find different that you had to do? something that you liked, something that annoyed you?
like everyone else i didnt like being gawped at by so many men lol.its pretty unnerving when you look back at them and rather than looking away they continue to stare! ive found that frowning at them sometimes shames them into looking away. try it girls!
what really annoyed me though, the machar! omg. they heart me. everytime ive been in pakistan, i get bitten almost every day.last time i went i had about 5 bites on my right hand towards the end of my trip and my whole arm was aching. really i hate the damn things.

How is your family life different?
well ive certainly more independance, more freedom to do as i please(within boundaries though). ive noticed that lots of people have said the people in pakistan have naukers and dont do anything, well you should come down to where i stay lol. the majority of my relatives are from villages. so my girl cousins are always busy with chores, tending to animals, tending to our land, doing chores around the house. they do more than i do here for sure.
life in pakistan is a lot slower than in the west, but people there(at least the ones i know)dont need the internet or playstations or mobile phones to entertain themselves, they make do without things that are taken granted for here. and theyre happy!

**whats special about your life that you would like to share with us today?
**my family is special though we dont always get on lol,my hubby also my family,is very special. and my faith in Allah. :)

funny how each question you asked of me can be asked of you about pakistani girls as well. how do YOU know that paki girls can't multi task just as well as you? and by the way...the emphasis you placed on "how busy stay at home moms are even", how do you know i'm not also a stay at home mom? just because i'm defending pakistani girls you assumed i'm hating on the american girls EVEN THOUGH I AM ONE MYSELF! . and by the way the OP asked these questions to clarify WHYY there's so much being assumed abt paki girls in the first place. its not like the OP is agreeing that us amreekan girls are so busy n productive whereas pakis just suck overall n deserve to be shot in the head. NO. she's trying to bring awareness and acceptance into this forum. obviously its not working very well.

the only point i was trying to make in my post is the we all seem so boastfull of our upbringing in america when we compare it to our cousins...maybe we should be a bit more compassionate. i mean its one thing to say that Allah blessed us with an environment in which we can express our view and opinions, live our lives the way we want, pursue any goals/interests, etc but its another to be like "uff i would've just died if i had to live in pakistan those people lack so much in their lives, they have no idea what it means to really live and enjoy life etc etc. i dunno i guess i don't like putting them down :(

Well, growing up I read a lot and watched tv and chatted on the phone with my friends lots. We have a huge family, mashAllah and for a while we were one of the few households settled here. That meant that there was always at least ONE relative (and usually more) staying with us. My mom was constantly a great hostess (and later even while working). She basically does it all. Abu was constantly inviting people over and volunteering himself or our home for any Pakistani/desi person/event. It was hard on both of them (especially Ammi), but I think they both felt it was important to maintain a traditional welcoming Pakistani home, even without all the servants and high income.

I grew up very close to my family. I am the oldest. with two younger brothers and people think it's weird that we don't usually fight and didn't much even as children. I LOVED visits from my cousins (much to the surprise of my non-desi friends, who dreaded visits from relatives). In my childhood it was usually only my dad's side that visited; very few of my mom's side had the resources to travel to the US. My nani did come when my youngest brother was born and both nani and nana visited again a few years later. Nana passed away before he could make another visit. Now that all of my mamoons have their green cards (received 15 years after applying), nani comes more regularly, tho she gave up HER green card long ago.

My parents had a core group of desi Muslim friends that had become like family. They all had kids around the same time, and these are still some of my closest friends (I think of them like my cousins and my daughter will call them khala and mamoon).

I also had a good group of friends at school. I was usually the only Pakistani-American and Muslim, but I never minded that; my strong connection with my family made me confident to share my religious and cultural background, though there were a few times when I envied blonde hair, pink skin, etc. Those were rare moments. By college, I loved being in the minority and talking about myself :D. Though I did have good non-desi friends, I was not allowed sleepovers or lots of late parties, etc. I was able to convince my parents to let me go to prom and other dances. I did not take dates.

I went to a co-ed public school until the end of 5th grade, then attended a private girls' school. I loved it and gained a greater degree of confidence and poise. I participated in plays/theater, a quiz show team, math meets, arts, cultural, and diversity clubs. I was never athletic.

Ammi taught us to read the Quran and I attended Islamic schools for two hours on Sundays. I was always with older students because I was ahead, thanks to Ammi's teaching. We also had annual speech contests and I participated regularly (and won a few trophies :D ). The Islamic school was just in its beginning stages when I was little and all run by volunteers; there was a lot of trial and error, but looking back I have a lot of respect for the persistence and hard work of everyone who ran it and taught in it. After I graduated I was only in 10th grade, so I started helping out in the KG classroom there -- lots of fun!

Affording college for middle class families in the US is nearly impossible. My college counselor pretty much told me my parents weren't in enough debt. Abbu and I had pretty much decided that I would go to the state university and attend its honors program. That's when Ammi stepped in, knowing how much I wanted to attend another college. So I ended up going to the small liberal arts college of my dreams -- having some of the best years of my life (don't tell hubby!) and still not fully comprehending the sacrifices my family must've made.

I majored in English and completed my pre-med requirements. I never really wanted to do medicine, but I enjoyed chem and bio, and it appeased the parents. I grew up hearing how teaching would be a waste of my time and talents. Also that English was a frivolous pursuit and not the basis for a career. A relative told me there was no such thing as a phd in English, and a cab driver told me not to worry, I could go back to school later and get a real degree. And since I can't stand people telling me what to do, I got a masters in English, another in Education, became an English teacher, and eventually the head of my department, all in my twenties. Now I am taking a couple years off to raise my daughter.

I was engaged at 23 to the man of my choice (and parents were happy) and married at 24. I live ten minutes from parents, brothers, and inlaws. MashAllah we had a daughter 3 months ago, after 5 years of marriage, and she is the light of everyone's life. She is spoiled with love, and a lucky girl to have so much family around.

I loved to visit Pakistan growing up. I never minded the bathrooms, tummy aches, water issues, chipkalis. I loved sleeping on the floor at my nani's or cousins' houses and the madness of "shadi ka ghar". My brothers and I felt very uncomfortable with the special treatment we got from relatives in Pakistan. We also are awkward around servants, not being used to asking people to do things for us like that. In my teen years and early twenties, trips to Pakistan were also filled with sobs, as relatives I barely knew loved to point out every flaw they noticed. In the US it's so rare to have people discuss your flaws openly with you; it is only meanspirited. I was constantly embarrassed and hurt, shutting myself up in the bathroom to cry, despite usually being a content and confident person. But I have very strong feelings of love for the lifestyle I encountered in my family in Pakistan; I was married there. When I went back alone a few years later, I was crying and crying to leave; it felt like my actual ruksati. I think I knew I couldn't visit like that again. During my trip one of my mamoons got his green card call; I knew the spirit of my nani's house would dwindle as each mamoon slowly migrated and had to deal with struggling in the US. My khalas are still there, as is one phuppo, and lots of extended family.

Phew! long post! Any questions? :D

Oh about Eid -- it's great! Growing up we would always get up early, get dressed up, then go to the mosque for prayers and greeting people. Then Ammi would usually have an open house in the late morning, and lots of our friends and relatives would come by. The afternoons and evenings would be spent visiting others. It's pretty much the same now. I remember when were younger, we'd go all out in ghararas and such (after all, where else could we wear those pretty outfits before we grew out of them?).

Ramadan too was filled with food and visits to friends and family.

It's not too different now.

I never celebrated Christmas or other religious holidays, but Thanksgiving and July 4th were always fun with gatherings and festivities.

So awesome and brave of you!! :D It was kinda similar situation in my case (but not really since I never studied abroad!) where my mom was the main one that was not up for me moving too far from home for college (bachelors). But yea - there was an untold assumption that I would apply anywhere I wanted when I went for my doctorate! Hence why I ended up in another state. Definitely eased my parents (specifically mom!) into this since now my siblings are having no problem applying anywhere and everywhere...including abroad!

... ahhhhh lucky younger siblings! :D

When I read this part of your post, it felt like I was reading about my own perspectives and experiences!! :) I luved going to Pakistan as well... still luv it. I try to go every two years and since I mashAllah come from a big family, its hard to coordinate everyone's schedules together - So I have been going by myself sine I was 13. No one does this unless they truly luv to go to Pakistan :) But yea, as I got older, the constant critiquing and open discussion of flaws did hurt my feelings often. This was never from my immediate relatives... always more distant ones. My mom says that us kids from the US just do not have much of a hardskin since we are not used to the culture in that way. We take the comments too personally and get emotional. But khair, it still never discouraged me from going back along with all the other issues (staring, loadshedding, the heat, etc.). The luv you get from your immediate relatives is unparallel. And I am sure I am going to be sad like you the next time I go to Pakistan (for my shaadi shopping!!!!!) ... beacuase I know in a way my trips will never be like this again post shaadi.

p.s. I luved reading about your family dynamics Sahar! MashAllah it was very heartwarming! U r such a lucky girl to live so close to your own parents and siblings along with inlaws! :D