Height of religious extremism or nationalist paranoia?

ISLAMABAD: Pakistan might restrict actors from appearing in Indian movies after Pakistani superstar Meera’s “vulgar” scenes in her film * Nazar * , Online news agency reported.

Meera is currently in India shooting for  *  Nazar *  , directed by Soni Razdan and written by Mahesh Bhatt. It is her first appearance in a Bollywood film. 

Official sources here said the film’s “objectionable scenes” showing Meera kissing an Indian actor had prompted the Pakistan government and the culture ministry to impose a heavy fine on the popular actress.

The sources said people had reacted strongly to some of these scenes as they were against Islamic ethics and moral values. 

The government has directed the culture ministry to take severe action against Meera as Pakistani actors visiting other nations were seen as ambassadors of the country.

Meera had earlier this month claimed in Mumbai that a Pakistani religious group, which she did not name, had been making threatening calls to her. The calls began after still showing her in a clinch with her * Nazar * co-star Ashmit Patel were circulated in December.

http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/articleshow/1028874.cms

what’s ur take on this ppl? finally ppl got to see some pakistani babes but pakistani govt. has done klpd for them by banning the actresses :smack:

Re: Height of religious extremism or nationalist paranoia?

Meera was 'vulgar' long before she crossed the border.

but whats ur comment? do u think the mullahs are right in stopping their actresses or do u think they have the freedom to do what they want?

Show of hands...How many people here find it lewd and vulgur when they watch Julia Roberts kiss geroge Clooney?

If they've crossed over to Bollywood, they can do what they want. The Pakistani government should have little say in their actions.

All the hooplah over one lousy kiss that no one has seen? Sheesh! I am sure our government has nothing better to do. Ofcourse, all other problems are already solved.

Naturally there is a line in the sand that is drawn at some point. Pornography, for one. We can make a reasonable argument that the government (of Islamic Republic) should stop production of pornographic material in the country. I think Indian government has similar enforcements. But stopping people from working in other countries, is probably taking the responsibility too far. These movie stars seems to be a victim of their own fame. If it were a two-bit unknown girl who is acting in a porno movie of Mumbai, few will give a rat's ass. (Except, may be that vaila lawyer who sues everyone under the sun to get a few lines in the local newspaper)

^ Which lawyer you are talking about? Aasma Jahangir? that FemiNazi?

No, I think its another one. Its a guy, who sues cricketers and film actors all the time. Basit Alvi or something?? I can't recall the name now.

btw i am surprised at the prudish attitude shown by these mullahs.. i happened to download a few "mujra" videos made in pakistan and a few were quite suggestive and raunchy.. in fact in one video, there was a nip-slip by nida chaudhry.. now i dont know how the mullahs wud treat that.. and to think of it these videos were made in pakistan.. then why cry when something similar is made in india?? or is it the feeling ke hamari qoumwali hamare watan mein chahe kaise bhi rahe magar vilayat mein usse "waisa" kuch nahin karna chahiye

Mullahs can cry out loud all they want but they have no power over this issue. They can't restrict actors from appearing in Indian movies. But it's a different thing if such orders came from Mushi or his gang, which I doubt, will ever happen.

nahin bhai lagta hai wahi hone wala hai.. he's gonna bend over this time for the mullahs.. tats very sad cos it was good to see indo-pak unity at least in movies :(

She holds a Pakistani passport, she has to live by the rules of the land. And I think we have many Indian sluts in Bollywood to satisfy your tastes :wink:

shut up you mullah paki *******. :rotfl:

hahahaha…funnie…holds a paki passport…oh plz liek its worth nething…next …wow this one def is contradicting…“rules of the land”…what rules jack***…and how many rules are u actually living by…third…bollywood sluts…well the person above has sort of already established who u are…but let me clarify…you are one of those who critisize in the morning but go off to “kaata laga” videos at night…and i am sure you are def buying the the dvd of “nazar”…
anyway bottom line is just because this “meera” kisses an indian actor should become no reason for this extremism …after all its all by choice, no one forced her into kissing…and what if she does…why is she not an actress …it is all entertainment buddy no matter how it comes…movies try relating to real life, whether it comes through scenes of murder, family related, prostitution or just romance (enough lecture)…point being she is an actress and should be left alone…also dont try to vent out your frustration over her working in india by critisizing bollywood (same for everyone else who critisized her but would like nothing more than to watch her in bare minimal…go to any theatre in pak and watch how many people actually care when she is kissing…thts cuz it would be hard for them to think with their pants down…) …it is really very frekin sad that people like you oppose stupid stuff like this but have no bearing on how many times have watched scenes from basic instinct…

I agree

buddy, One period will do after each sentence. Calm down............. Don't get mad......... I think you need to just take a break................

I wonder why saying someone whose a Pak national and who should be following the guidelines laid by his or her government would be "funny" and "contradicting". And no I'm not buying some crappy Bolly DVD. I saw her Inteha and loved her in that film, beyond that I haven't seen much of Meera. And Atlanta if you think calling someone a "Mullah" is deregatory, I can't really say much about you. Acc to your logic, all these bolly-folks on this site should then be "Pundits".

The Dixie Chicks were damned by the media for what they did. We are pretty "liberal" with these things in Pak ;)

^ that is the question lillytit..whether those guidelines make sense...Dixiechicks weren't fined for making their views heard in CHina. there is a difference.

They definitely would have if they did in North Korea. Atleast learn to put in acurate analogies jackass.

As long as the government is forcing its rules within the boundaries of the country (whether its FCC in US, Info Ministry in Pakistan or India or whatever) its one thing. Even here in the US either, the FCC routinely fines radio and tv stations for saying crass stuff on the air.

The difference is should the government stop/interfere with people making a living outside the country? If Brittany Spears goes to Sweden and makes a porno or talks sh!t about US, you won't see the US govt fining her or stopping all other US artists from going to Sweden. You may have public groups voice against Brittany (like they did with Dixie Chics).

However, on the flip side, if you remember, there is this American chess champion for whom arrest warrants were issued for playing in Cuba. I think he ran off to Japan and married a Japanese lady to avoid deportation back to US.