Heart Bypass

Dear all,

Help me please!

I am bit sad today. Dad had an angio-graphy today and he has been told he needs a by pass. He sounded very down. Mum had a cyst removed couple of weeks ago and is going through a stage of mild depression and keeps having a go at him. Now they have had an argument and are not talking to each other hence are not able to help each other in terms of emotions.

I, on the other hand am expecting and have been crying on various topics for the past 2-3 weeks including issues with the inlaws, mum’s op and other stuff…I have really drained myself out basicaly!

Do you guys know anyone who has had a bypass? What does it entail? Dad told me that they will have 2 surgeons working on this legs for grafting and one of the heart…what does this mean and involve?

What about the recovery time? I am just scared and i know he is too…

I just want to console my parents but i just dont know what to say except inshallah sub teek ho jai ga…

Please pray for me and my family.

Your advice would be kindly appreciated! Thank you.

Hi Sunset eyes

I would give you a big hug right now, coz i sense you need one (cant find the damn emoticon)

I can understand what you are going through...it must be really stressful but the best thing to do at this time is do dua...a lot of people unfortunately are having bypasses these days and with the technology we have its quite normal now...Its sad that it has to happen but its the way of life...

My father also went for a scan recently and they also said that hes blocking up a bit so they will keep an eye on him and that on its own made me really scared so I can imagine what you are going through...

I would do loads of research on it and ask the doctors whatever you want to ask so that your dad has a peace of mind..it will be scary for him..but inshallah it will increase his life for him...

I really hope hes going to be ok and I urge you to be strong because parents look to their children for strength...even if im scared i just tell my dad, oh its normal and loadsa people have it and ive done all the research and your gnna be just fine...and straight away he feels better and positive..

I will do dua for u and ur family and hope everything works out fine inshallah...

keep us updated and do loads of dua when your down..ur baby is gnna be rhona dhona wala if u keep this up ;)

Now smile :)

Re: Heart Bypass

First of all :hugz: I know it is a very distressing time but you also need to put your health and that of your child first.

My dad had a triple heart bypass a few years ago (totally unexpected as he was relatively young and did not have a history of medical problems, or maybe they were caught at the wrong time) Anyway, yes they took an artery/vein from the leg (I am not a medic and don’t have the foggies but I recollect that they took a vein from the leg and used to replace the blocked arteries in the heart- the procedure varies dependent upon how severe the blockages are). I recall deep and long scars on his leg and chest. Recovery time is dependent upon age and activity. He was in hospital for a few weeks and then when he got home it took quite a while for him to settle in and have some sort of routine. Having extended family around at that time definitely helped.

I understand how it can be a very upsetting time. It was a very emotional time for us as a family when my dad went through it. However, all you can do is pray and offer support for your father. If necessary, will you be able to ask some relatives/siblings to help with the aftercare? It will be hard at times but please remain strong (easier said than done).

With regards to your parents, I guess more so than anything that probably are finding it hard to cope and are hurting at the same time. Inshallah they will be fine soon and they will be there to support each other :slight_smile:

Inshallah I hope things work out for the best for you and your family. May Allah grant you and your family health and happiness. Aameen

:hugz: If you need anything, please do not hesitate to ask

The British Heart Foundation has some very informative little booklets for family/support services and any other concerns you may have. Build a rapport with the consultant, I know my dad felt much better after building a good friendship with his consultant.

Hope everything goes well inshallah. May Allah keep them safe and healthy and in His Protection, ameen!!!!!
hugs

They are going to take parts of veins from legs and used them as accesroy artries to bypass the bloackage in his heart arteries. They also use an artery inside the chest internal mammary that for the third artery of heart and this its results are betterthan veins.

There are two techniques used, on-pump and off-pump. The off-pump technique is easier.

Recovery depends upon how well he is otherwise. The first few days after surgery are most critical. They may need to keep him on ventilator for couple of days and may need to put a tube in chest. Success rate in good centres is above 90%.

Its time to forget everything else at present and focus on his operation. Specially plan about 2-3 weeks after surgery on how you are going to help him.

Thanks doc sahab for your input.

Sunset, my dad had a triple bypass surgery 19 years ago. He's doing great. He takes good care of himself in terms of medications, phyiscal exercise and diet.

Don't worry, just be there for him. I know it'll be hard as your mom isn't that well and you are pregnant, but you'll need someone to help out with meals and simple tasks at home. A couple weeks post surgery are most demanding but recovery will be steady inshaAllah and within a month you'll be back to normal business.

Awww dear sister Sunset eyes lots of love and hugs for you. First don't be stressed first advice as you are expecting so it is not good for you. Everyone knows that. I know it's easier said then done.

First Cheer up for the sake of your health and your baby and also for your both parents you have to be strong.

First don't take anything seriously. Share your problems here that help to ease when you share things and yeah we all are here to help each other in tuff situations.

I'll post details about your father problem Insha Allah.

See Allah gave you good news that Insha Allah you will have a baby boy. Whenever you are sad think about him and pray that Allah give you a baby boy.

Don't worry about parents misunderstanding or misbehaving. They will remain like that for whole life. Just try to ease them both.

Itna parayshan honay ki zaroorat naheen. Insha Allah sub asan ho ga aap kay liaay aur aap kay parents kay liaay. Bypass to purana ilaaj ho chuka hai so itna darnay ki zaroorat naheen.

Allah sub achcha karay ga. Insha Allah.

Fikar not all GS members are with you including me. I meant "hum saath saath hain"

To OP,

I am not going to say heart bypass is nothing to worry about. Its a serious and delicate operation. However, in the hand of good surgeon the success rate is very high and it is not only the surgeon but patient factors make a great difference in themselves.

Bypass operation as pointed out above is simply a bypass of the clogged/blocked/pinched arteries by veins mostly from legs and artery from inside chest.

Off pump means surgery on beating heart and on-pump surgery is cooling the heart in high potassium water so it stops beating and the heart lung machine pumps blood in to the body.

There is also a kind of surgery which is called minimally invasive bypass only for few selected patients which means the whole chest is not opened.

Recovery in otherwise healthy people is within three days and up to 5 days.

Intubation of lungs is only for overnight for most cases.

Wound care is important.

Stopping smoking before surgery is of great help.

A lot depends on heart own pumping ability (Ejection Fraction). A strong heart has good recovery and weak heart before surgery may make recovery prolonged.

Some extra wires are placed at times to heart chambers for a few says in some cases to be able to beat the heart by a pacemaker in case it is needed.

A good cough with pillow tightly held against chest to clear lungs also helps after surgery.

Kidney function and more importantly liver function has to be good for operation to be successful

Risks of heart attack, stroke and death are major problems. Still in the range of 1-3 percent if person is otherwise has good heart. Clogged carotid arteries in neck make stroke more likely and need to be checked before operation.

Other problems may be infection of chest, leg or lungs. Some people with bad lungs may need intubation longer.

Overall bone healing requires 6 weeks just like any adult bone fracture.

No driving during this period is advised due to airbag trauma to chest in case of accident.

**Bypass has not solved all the problems **but may be necessary or only chance in people with too many and too much blockages.

Veins are known to block in one year by 15% and in10 year close to 50%.

Arterial bypass has better chance of being open even up to 20 years.

My advice: *Find a good surgeon with good reputation.

These days ballooning and stenting is another good option for suitable patients. and many surgeons have limited experience even during training because of reduced numbers of bypass and more ballooning and stenting.

This was realistic

........and now I will say Good luck and all the best wishes.

*Successfully Bypassed patients live long and happily and even known to do diving from airplanes with no problem.

Regular yearly check up is required.

If possible, upload/type the angiography report.

Salam Alaikum,

Iconoclast has pretty much given you a brief run-down on the procedure. Bypass is exactly what the name refers, in it, the procedure includes taking healthy artery from another part of the body and utilizing it to go around the blockade in cardiac arteries thereby bypassing the problematic area and re-routing the blood. It's commonly termed as "cabbage" procedure, CABG.

Your dad will be monitored for upto a day or two after the surgery. He will most likely be shifted to Cardiac ICU for more immediate monitoring. He'll be on medication for a while, and visitor may be allowed. (Would be best to allow him to rest as much as possible though, the medicine might make him kinda groggy). Expect him to be staying at the hospital upto a week, or longer depending on the pace of recovery, because they will need to done monitory tests on him to ensure all is well.

With more signs of improvement and recovery (inshaAllah) he will be allowed to go home. :)

So don't worry so much. You will still be able to visit him when he's in ICU or Recovery. Just keep your spirits up, give your mom comfort because chances are she needs your support the most right now. and just pray for the best, inshaAllah all will be fine.

Fortunately, this procedure is quite common for its field of health and the success rate is near perfection.

He can expect to be given orders of regular exercise and diet, as well as stress and anger management. So your role will be absolutely important in setting the right kind of atmosphere between him and your mom to ensure they can rely on each other and help each other (especially in the area of stress and anger).

Thank you so much to everyone for their duas. I am praying that inshallah everything goes ok whenever the bypass is going to be arranged for and he gets well inshallah very soon. I know i shouldnt stress for the sake of the baby but its just not possible. For the past recent months, alot has happened and my mind is everywhere. Emotionally, mentally and physically i am totally drained. Sometimes, i have been so stupid that i keep thinking i wasnt alive - May Allah forgive me for thinking like this.

Tabu - after reading your post, i did smile. I appreciated that alot. Thank you! I am a very sensitive person and can easily get emotional and i keep praying that i can have strength to deal with this in the coming weeks inshallah.

Dildarani - Thank you for the hugs and duas. Much appreciated! I am sorry to hear that your dad went through the same op and pray to Allah that he is feeling much better now. You are right, all we can at that time and at present is to keep praying and Inshallah everything will be ok. Regarding asking siblings/relatives for aftercare, i live away from them. Its a 2 hour journey however, when the time of the op comes, i will probably go home for a few weeks and be there with mum and visit him. Younger bro and sis are working and studying so they are only available in the evening. Inshallah we are here for him. Its just me getting worked up alot and stressing! I know its not good for me but everything is happening at the same time, you know?

All i can do is pray and pray and ask Allah to make everything easy for all of us Inshallah.

Midnights - Ameen and thank you. May Allah give all our parents long and happy life - Ameen. Hope you are ok?

Icon - Thank you for explaining the procedure.

Niksik - thank you for the kind words of re-assurance. Inshallah everything will be ok. As i said above, i am leaving work in couple of weeks inshallah and when the time comes for the op, I will probable go home ang help out. Alhumdullilah, i have got energy in my pregnancy so i will help out asap. I just cant wait for all these difficult times to be over and back to normal business. Inshallah soon and he will have his 1s grandchild to play with.

Gr8heera - thank you for the reply. I know my guppies are here for me always that i always come here for some words of advice and support. Btw, i dont know if i am having a boy or girl - i just pray to Allah that its healthy and inshallah everything goes ok in the final days.

Diwana and Teggy - thank you for the detailed info. Appreciated!
Inshallah everything will be ok but i just cant help worrying. Even my hubby says i worry so much but thats just me you know. When you are living away from your loved ones, you tend to worry too much but i am assuring my parent as much as possible. Parents can be very stubborn. Mum and dad are not on talking terms at the moment but it happens between all the adults and they make up in the end.

Thank you to all for support and advice. I really really appreciate it.

My dad had triple bypass surgery also a few years ago just like DDR and the procedure was similar.

He might become a bit more sensitive after the bypass and you will have to make sure you keep in touch and be there for him as much as possible.

Please make sure you support him, research his hospitals and surgeons before the procedure, watch his diet and regular exercise!!! My dad went through at least 4 months of cardiac rehab after the bypass and now he has a treadmill/free weights at home to help him stay active.

Sunset, good luck to you, your father and your family...you are all in my prayers.

:hugz: No worries Sunset..inshallah all will be fine. Like others have also reinforced, contact the consultant who will carry out the procedure. They are normally very supportive.

Look after yourself too! You need to be strong for your dad and the rest of your family. It is overwhelming and an emotional time but inshallah everything will go fine and things will be back to normal soon.

Do check out the British Heart Foundation website.

Thank you for the duas too :slight_smile:

Asalamualikum, My father suffered a severe heart attack this monday and after angiography, Heart bypass is recommended...I was searching about it here for support and saw this thread. Please pray for my Abu that ALLAH (SWT) bless him with long and healthy life and for his operation to be successful. I just cannot tell how my heart is feeling. Please pray for my abu.

Less than a year ago my dad a quadruple bypass! You can't get any bigger than that. He's a tough guy but he was really scared. He spoke with me as though he might not wake up after surgery. But I was very confident that he would not just recover, but he would be healthier afterwards. Fast forward to the present day and my dad is RUNNING on the track!

He's doing awesome. Pray for your dad. He can make a great recovery. Just make sure he has a good doctor with a good history. Bypass can greatly improve quality of life!

Bypass is taken as normal surgery here in N.A. My dad also had quadruple few years back..i must say he is Alhamdullilah healthy. May Allah give your father shifa and ease ya guys in any difficulty..

angio-graphy is a method to take the snapshot of internal veins and indicate blockage. Your dad's doctor will going to make bypass near blocked vein of heart and usually they use leg's vein. In order to accomplish this task, they will give anesthesia and then turn off his heart and shifting him completely on machines and then create a bypass near blockage. once they are done with it, they will going to give little electrical shock to his heart and sew his chest and then shift to him in ICU.

This is rerally serious operation. InshaAllah, he will be doing good after operation. The most authentic advice is already give to you by one of the doctor sahab over here.

My father in law had a heart bypass in Pakistan about 10 years ago and is doing fine MA! He is currently about 80 years old. My friend's mother around the same age has had a bypass too here in the US. She also suffers from diabetes and she is ok too. recovery is a bit long but patients resume normal activity and have to watch thier diet and do some exercise like walking (follow your doc on what exercise he can do). IA all will be finr, prayers!!!

Heart specialist doctor recommended me to have the open heart surgery,help me here where from I got my surgery which the hospital is better for this purposes.

In which country or state you live? Then i suggest you a best hospital for open heart surgery.

[TABLE=“width: 171”]

sivananda bahamas