Re: HDD is dead ![]()
Ina Lilahe-wina Ilaihai Rajeoon… May its data rest in clusters… ![]()
Re: HDD is dead :(
Oye PD, there's nothing to fill yaar, or maybe there is, Tuppware.com. Haha!! (only if it was still available).
:Dlol
its tupperware.com
I am still ![]()
zombie go back to your grave ![]()
Frozen fire, zyada daant na kholo ![]()
so, should we come over for Qur'an khani? or is there still some life in it? ... amm ... I can smell that biryani already *yum yum
Nos, why don't u ask her to pack some biryani in the tupperware and mail it to you?
ooooh Biryani talk..... PD ke hdd bhi PagalDewani ho gae akhir kar. Soyam tou mis ho giyaa Chaleeswan kab hai???
tofi and kk bhai
you guys are the meaniest ppl alive
fine don’t talk to me now ![]()
ok ok pagloo… ok just for the start… if you check it in bios does it appear? if yes then try running easy recovery pro. If the drive is physically demaged like read head crashed on surface then you may need to contact professional data recovery as they can recover data even from deadbody like creating from DNA as in Jurasic park but they charge hell alot of money and I don’t think its worth it for your msn chat logs :halo:
msn chat logs
I don’t keep them, I don’t keep any evidences thats gonna take me to a pro cell in future
No I have mentioned that in my previous replies I can’t detect it through bios. And, hell no m paying anyone, I am paki, I am cheap by default.
arrae chor na yaar … bhalie ka zamana he nahee raha … kudhee khichree … errr … biryani bana loun ga mai .. ![]()
weally, mujhe bhee bhejh dena plz flutter flutter pweez, dekho na mujhe banani nahie aati hai, I don’t like indian/paki dishes that much, so thats why I didn’t bother learning them either, but I don’t mind eating it either ![]()
banani nahee aati tou seekh lou, cause you are not getting it from me
… baree aaie angraiz … I don’t like paki dishes
…
Thought moms hard-drive was on the brink of death...seemed a bit noisier than usual...and and also suddenly shutting down.. Shutting down seemed to occur when downloading music to ipod or my nephew loading some kind of game codes for Nintendo or something.
Any way went to comp usa and bought Western Digital hard-drive.
Reason for purchase of the Western Digital was.....
Packaging indicated the drive included step-by-step instructions....:)
So figured sinse she and I had added memory to her previous computer...using directions included with hardware..changing out the hard-drive shouldn't be too hard...:)
Also the fact that lugging the tower to Comp USA and paying labor fee of $200.00 fee did was not appealing .... Also Comp USA advised they would need original Windows CD to load onto the new hard-drive. Well there was no XP CD. T
he HP system was purchased with the software pre-installed. What todo? She was sent restore disks a year or so ago by HP when she was having problems...and lost the set...duh... So purchased a new set for $40.00.
Well hard-drive is back in box...mom took one look at directions and put the thing back in the box. Restore disks remain unopened...
I haven't looked at the directions yet...but am guessing the "easy to follow" instructions are pretty complicated...:)
I wonder if worth myself giving them a shot?
Another question... Would a restore C.D. install original specs and software to a new hard-drive? We do have the license key number for her windows software....
Another question... If we unplug the zip drive (drive E) from the main tower will the files on the zip drive be lost?
Is there anyway to salvage files directly from the old drive?
In the mean time I vaccumed the fan area of the Tower really well..it was pretty dusty...and was able to run a scandisk auto repair on the system in safe mode and system did not crash for about a month...until my nephew used his nintendo code software..?? Could that be the problem? And the hard-drive is fine?
This new hard-drive is much larger 120 Gigs (I think) compared to current 30 gig original. We were thinking of installing the new one anyway...
We have found a tech shop that will install the drive for $75.00 but she will be without her beloved for a couple weeks.... This shop also mentions that there are 2 fans in a tower and one of them..the inner? fan might need replacing which they would do for $25.00.
Should I attempt to install this hard-drive??? Would it be worth saving $100.00? Or is swapping hard-drive alot more complicated than box indicates?
Installing is not a huge matter, if you have done it previously. And how much exp do you have in it. I guess you can do it yourself, but it all depends on you, xp cd you can get it from anywhere, from a friend or even dl it. However, in my opinion if you haven’t done it before then either ask someone around to show you step by step or give it up for few weeks. Since, I am curious monkey, if I were you I would proly jump start :D, but I am sure not everyone is like me.
… waiting for nos, tofibaba, kk, and punjabi bro’s opinion and critic …
agar khilana nahie hai tou na khilao, mai agar bina khae mar gaee na tou tumhain badrooh ban ke daraongee aur tab tum mere liey daighien bana rahay hoge, isi liey keh rahee hon abhee bhejh doo ![]()
The difference between restore CD and original installation
You can't use a restore CD to install windows from scratch and I'm sure the windows key you've got cannot be used for a clean install. A restore CD is useful only when you are facing problems with your installation and you need to fix it, without wiping it clean and starting over.
If we unplug the zip drive (drive E) from the main tower will the files on the zip drive be lost?
No, they won't be lost simply by disconnecting the drive. Make sure it is not in use when you disconnect it.
Is there anyway to salvage files directly from the old drive?
Yes there certainly is a way to do it. Its quite simple if someone takes the pain to explain the entire process. Lets see if a guupies volunteer's to do this.
The fan might need replacing
amm ... it could be true that the fan might have konked off ... but I'm sure a simple fan does not cost $25 (I believe he's charging labour). If you are getting the hard disk replaced by this guy then I reckon you get it done for free. Or forget that, you can do it yourself. If its the extra fan in the casing and not the one on the CPU then you should be able to do it yourself. In order to identify which fan it is, remove the side panel for the tower and switch it on. Try to identify the fan which is sluggish or does not work etc. All you need to do is get a new fan, which costs about $4 I guess, unscrew the old one and replace the new one. You'll have to make sure you place it in the right direction cause you wouldn't want the fan to suck the air "in" instead of "out" :p
watching too many Indi movies ‘eh … badrooh n’ all
… you are talking as if you are dealing with a 6 year old, trying to scare him about ghosts n’ evil spirits … ![]()
hmm .. because you are acting like a depraved, threatening kid, thoree see biryani chakha doun ga ![]()
*kahan mar gaay wo delivery walay, biryani lay ker aay he nahee rahay
I am not begging for it, I was just thinking you must be a good cook so I might be able to give you cook’s job at my rukhsati, but nooooooo, you have to mess things up eh. rakho apnee biryani apne paas mai ne nahie khani ![]()