Having your brother-in-law's children

Is this common in Pakistani culture. IF it is not, has anyone else, besides myself, heard of it. i find it rather odd to put it mildly.

A family we know have two sons (and one daughter, but the daughter is not relevant to this particular issue). Son A is the eldest. When he was born, there was some sort of medical problem and i am sad to say that, he is not able to conceive children. Son B does not have the same medical problem, he was married (now divorced), with three young children. Son A is currently married; his wife is medically able to have children, but of course she can’t because of her husband’s condition.

Anyways, to cut a long story short, there were many problems going on within this particular khandaan (as is true for each and every family around the world). Son A’s wife (i’ll call her Wife A - bear with me, people, it does get less mundane) was not informed about the medical condition prior to the nikkah. i know - extremely wrong. There were some serious incompatibility issues between the two of them, as well as between Wife A and her inlaws.

Anyways, i assume that in order to ‘resolve’ the problems and hopefully ‘fix’ (???) what was becoming a deteriorating marital relationship, Son A’s parents suggested to their daughter-in-law to have children with Son B - i.e., for one wife to sleep with her husband’s brother. Now i know this family extremely well, infact i’ve lived with them even for a year. Our family connections go back decades. So i am not making any of this up.

Maybe this is common - afterall, they are not suggesting anything so completely out of this universe. Then again - i mean, that’s your husband’s brother… how can you possibly have children with him ? Not surprisingly, Wife A refused… To be honest, i am not entirely certain i appreciate how desperate some individuals in this khandaan must have been, in order for Son A and Wife A to have children together. Did they think that if they did have children together, that the marital relationship would improve ? (There was SOME hint of Wife A leaving Son A, so maybe they thought - if she has a kid, she will be less likely to leave?). When she refused, she was asked why…she replied she would never in a million years, she did not feel comfortable. Phir baat khatam ho gai; i don’t think they have brought it up again. So at least they are not pressuring her.

Honestly, i have no idea what to make of this… when i was told of this, i didn’t show any reaction; i just nodded my head and looked at the ground. i mean, afterall, you never truly know how desperate some individuals could be to even suggest such an arrangement. Then again, i mean - come on, there are like 30 million+ orphans around the world; that’s a conservative estimate. If you want to ensure your family name survives that badly, then just adopt. (NO i am not saying adopt from Africa or a non-desi country; any couple may adopt a child from the Edhi Foundation. Uss mai kia kharaabi hai ? If nationality is that important to the couple, then fine - go ahead and adopt from an org. you prefer). Maybe their rationale was that some individuals can’t give the same amount of love to non-biological children, as they would be able to, towards biological offspring?

i dunno why i’m sharing this, btw. Just found it unique. Is this common in “Pakistani culture” (whatever that means)?

what kind of penthouse letters families do u guys affiliate with, this is not common and I have never ever heard of something like that.

when I clicked on this thread, i assumed u meant 'adopting" another relatives kids, which although idiotic, is practiced anyways.

:eek: What the hell is that??? I have never ever heard of such a practise in any culture or society and of all the places Pakistan!!! Is that any less than adultery/incest??? Disgusting!

Fraudz,

i haven't even told this to anyone in my family because i do not want anyone who knows this family personally, to be made aware of this. There is no way that anyone on gupshup can identify who i am referring to, hence this thread. i haven't even told my Ammi...i dunno what she would make of it, and i don't want her to have a negative impression of the family afterwards.

Okay, so i am not the only one who thinks this is weird. For the past year, i have been thinking - maybe it's just me, maybe it's just my brainwashed mind that finds this extremely strange.... it's kindof a relief to know that is not the case.

All the same, i feel sorry for all of them, especially the husband and wife... i think it is more the fault of the parents who proposed this scheme. Son A did not suggest it, as far as i know, so i am not certain if i would put any responsibility on him for his parents' suggestion. (He probably tried to veto the idea, but i have no idea re: that).

This is just way out there.

What I have heard, ofcourse, and seen too in a couple of cases, where a couple is unable to have children, then another sibling (brother, sister) gave one of their children to the childless couple to bring up. The children are told from early on that they are living with their guardian and who their actual parents are. Seems to work fine where both the real parents and the guardians live closeby and all children have good interaction.

*Originally posted by Femme Fatale: *
: eek: What the hell is that??? I have never ever heard of such a practise in any culture or society and of all the places Pakistan!!! Is that any less than adultery/incest??? Disgusting!

lol okay phew, so i am not the only one. i honestly thought - maybe it's just me who finds this totally weird... i dunno.

They are still married, i forgot to add that.

*Originally posted by Faisal: *
This is just way out there.

What I have heard, ofcourse, and seen too in a couple of cases, where a couple is unable to have children, then another sibling (brother, sister) gave one of their children to the childless couple to bring up. The children are told from early on that they are living with their guardian and who their actual parents are. Seems to work fine where both the real parents and the guardians live closeby and all children have good interaction.

Yes i have heard of that too... well Son B has three young children; he could have given up any of the three to his older brother, if it was THAT much a matter of life and death... i mean, but to sleep with your brother's wife.... come on...

Like i said, there are always options. Adopt if nothing else.

man! We take the cake when it comes to some strange customs.... although, judging by the responses, this is an isolated case Insha'Allah.

*Originally posted by Nadia_H: *

Yes i have heard of that too... well Son B has three young children; he could have given up any of the three to his older brother, if it was THAT much a matter of life and death... i mean, but to sleep with your brother's wife.... come on...

Like i said, there are always options. Adopt if nothing else.

man! We take the cake when it comes to some strange customs.... although, judging by the responses, this is an isolated case Insha'Allah.
I don't think this was a custom of any sorts. This must be a brain wave of someone in that family. As I said, its just way over the line.

Anyway, I can tell you very honestly... bachay teen hooN ya paanch. Its never easy to give up any of them to anyone.

ah.

So true :flower1:

EWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWW

CRINGEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE

:yukh: :yukh: :yukh: :yukh: :yukh: :yukh: :yukh:

EWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWW

:bummer:

:yukh:

wtf, this is sick....

nadia, yahan pe chote chote bache aatein hain. Look what uv done to irem.

Isn’t this what happened on Friends? Phoebe had her brother’s babies cause his wife couldn’t carry them.

If they really wanted to do this properly, there wouldn’t be any need for them to physically sleep together. Just take the egg and sperm and get a surrogate mother.

Ok, scratch that … doesn’t apply in this case.

Strange to say the least. If it was such a huge issue, then why not adopt? More importantly, lying to the girl whilst knowing of his condition? Nice one! :rolleyes:

It amazes me how stupid some parents can be. At least the wife had some sense.

my explanation would be that since son A is incapable of fathering the child, and for some people, its a matter of honor that their manliness remain out of question, they resort to this sick method of preserving their social standing.

is it generally known among relatives that son A's wife is not infertile?

definitely not a custom.

The lengths people will go to preserve their honour and ego!!! I Wonder if they would suggest the same to their daughter...sleep with her brother-in-law. I can't even blame the girl for not having a great relationship with her in-laws. They start off with a huge fraud and then this suggestion...adding insult to injury.

they cant do IVF?

Irem, LOL - sorry for grossing you out!!

Sharaabi, Sorry for upsetting you as well :D
Myself first and foremost, but all of us in general, will benefit if we take off our rose-coloured glasses through which we view the world. Nothing is ever hunky dory....once again, it impresses upon me - you never really know what the other person sitting next to you on the train/bus, etc. is going through. Never know what hidden skeletons are dancing in someone's closet.

Mehnaz and Sadzzz, hmmmm i wonder they didn't go through IVF. Actually that's an excellent question. Maybe the husband's sperm count was too low but i have no idea. i never thought of that issue.

Femme Fatale, i know for a fact they would never suggest it to their own daughter.

Ravage, hmmm interesting analysis. "Honour" is such a dubious word - what is 'honour' to you, may be 'dishonourable' for me. They may perceive of their honour as being redeemed if their eldest son has children - but what honour can there be when you exploit the poor daughter-in-law/female in such a manner...

i am wondering about the IVF option now.

never heard of such things.. very very weird n twisted. :-/

Nadz.. whereabouts do they live? some desi people are quite hesitant about IVF cus theres a lot of issues about being it allowed in islam or not... they may not have even considered it..

maybe somenoe should get the couple on the side and explain it to them.. inshallah something will work out