having non-muslim friends

just wanted to know how many of you guys have close non-Muslim friend that your parents allow u to hang out with and especially( for girls).

Re: having non-muslim friends

erm....i ave gt non-muslims frnds but they do not come in the close list though.... but still i dont reali care about religion when it cmez to friendship as long as they r sfe to me than thats kool.....

most of my friends are non-muslim, my parents have any cared about my choice of friends

for me religion don,t matter either i have non-Muslim best friend and my family loves her,because she share a same or similar background. she is from Indian, but with American i don't, think so my parents will give me the permission to be really close friends.

Most of my friends / best friend have always been non-muslims from India. I knew only one Muslim girl but I was never a close friends with her.

When it comes to friendship, religion has never come in my way. I have been to their mandir and Church as well.

The only time religion has affected me personally is since 9/11 - since every Muslim is made to feel guilty - regardless of how well they knew me - there was still some type of tension.

When I was growing up my parents did not allow me to even step into my non-Muslim friend's homes. I never went to birthday parties, sleepovers, etc. When I was older and in college, I started to make non-Muslim friends. I was close to them and my parents did not like it. They thought I would get pressured into doing something wrong...never happened and eventually she relaxed.

Now, I befriend anyone want and they're okay with it. :)

my parents never said not to be friends with non muslim people

its just how i am..i dont mind talking to non muslims i think i talk to non muslim ppl more i just cant be friends with them...not because i am racist or whtever it just doesn't work for me

You are only following the fitrah ... inshaAllah.

I've noticed non-muslims have a sensibility where they respect our position and space more than the Muslims do, however, Muslims aught to be even better with each other the reality today is that we fight and squabble amongst ourselves and are nice with others. However, I must agree because of the formality we can never get into the lives of one another because the life of a Muslim and non-Muslim should be like chalk and cheese.

I've always had non muslim friends. It wasnt until high school that I really made any muslim friends because I didnt have many desi kids in my elementary or middle school. Today I have a few good Muslim friends and acquantainces and my best friend is a Jewish girl.

I've never been told not to have friends of different religions. I've only been told to keep the company of those who are of good character.

never had my parents tell me i shouldnt have non-muslim friends...

my parents didN't ever discourage me from having non-muslim friends

i had one hindu friend once and she asked abouy this inidan film and i was like oh i ddn't see it yet. it looks dumb who woulda want to watch that. she got offended and i was wondering why. then later on i found out this film was some indian nationality celebration film and i was like oopsies.

when you have friends who aren't muslim it i s easy to get in trouble by sdaying the wrong thing even if it was nothing more than an innocent remark. thats why i think they can't be like bestest friends or good friends with eachother. i may be wrong but it is my experience.

^ A few years ago, I did that once in front of an indian gal...some of them wear white gowns on their weddings and I forgot that little detail. I kept going on and on about how I find white gowns so boring and Im so glad I get to wear a beautiful lehnga on my wedding, lol.

Yeah, someone had to nudge me to get me to stop...lol

I did go back and apologize because it was mean and I shouldnt have said it. :(

When growing up we had both muslim and non muslim neighbours and we visited them equally. As grown ups, i dont remember my parents telling us to avoid anyone just because they are non muslim. Thats like alienating and cutting yourself from errm, alot of people around you. I dont see how that helps out anyone, since not every non muslim is a bad person/influence just like not every Muslim is a terrorist.

when i was in school i had some close pals that were non muslim and dad particularily used to be exceptionally bull headed about having them. mum was cool (really they had nothing to worry because i practically had no social life, no outing, no movies, no sleep overs, no meet ups, a big fat nothing!) so she didnt mind it too much. with my father he was a classic example of paranoid pakistani male and was afraid that if i breathe the same air i would become non muslim. that pissed me off some. although i am rebellious in nature and i maintained goo relations with them i saw the friendship dying out. life style differences were just to great to survive out of school life. i had halal and non halal food marathon to run every time edibles were mentioned, i didnt go to movies, i wore hijab and dressed conservatively, make and cosmatics were out, gossip was dead, namaz timing had to be cared for and they found it too much hassle for my mortal company. so although we are acquaintance on net we hardly meet up any more. while i was young my parents had no meet up policy with muslims and non muslims alike so really girls lost interest in me after school. they went their way and i went mine.

Well friends are fine especially when you are little, but I have found the drinking becomes a big divisive factor sometimes and having boyfriends etc.... ironically when you are older and people are married and over with the partying stage it becomes easy again to have friends from all ever, but I think its hard in college since when I was in school my non-Muslim friends were hooking up guys and partying and our lives kept going in different directions. So I guess as a grownup now I have more Muslim friends just because it fits my lifestyle better.

my parents dont mind me having non-muslim frnds, they just dont want me to be too close to them nd go on sleep overs nd birthday parties etc. Nd im perfectly fine with it :)

I've got a few non-muslim friends,though they don't come in my close-friends list,and my parents don't really mind me having non-muslim friends.

Most of my friends have been Non-Muslims, Im old enough to know right and wrong and who is of good and bad Character......

i dont think it's having non muslims as friends thts the problem, choose ur friends wisely, sometimes having too many Girly friends can lead to alot of confrontations, back stabbing gossiping etc... etc....

I have read some where, As a Muslim when u have a problem and need help, then u should always ask ur Muslim friend for advice over ur non muslim friend, coz ur non muslim friend will not have the same belief's as u. and may give u advice tht can lead to a decision tht is haram.....

I never had any muslim friends and have a few pakistani coworkers that tried to be friendly with me but I usually try avoid making any relationships with muslims.

One of my best friends is Chinese, non-muslim. But that's probably the only one I can put on my close-friends-list. All my other close friends are muslims.

I just find it easier to talk to them, since they know where I'm coming from. With non-muslims friends there isn't that much of an understanding.

My parents never stopped us from being friends with anyone from a different religion, except if they thought they would have a bad influence on us.