^chines and Koreans are the nicest ppl.
I had close korian gril friend. I wish if all girls had that kind of spirit. No non sense girl, strictly observed boundries. (unlike my fellow ABCDs)
One philipino. Extremity wonderful experience.
also with indians my journey was rather backwards.
I did have them as friend, but then I started giving up. I had some really bad experiences.
ive had non muslim friends all my life since i grew up in places where there were very few desis but now my closest friends are pakistani becuz i feel like i can tell then things n they get where im coming from cuz we have our religion n we have our culture n that is wut stands us apart from non muslims.... although i am still friends with non muslims n hang out with them occasionally .. they cant be by best friends becuz its hard to relate to them... even though they r amazing ppl n really understanding of my culture n religion
Its impossible not to have non muslim friends. I have plenty and my parents have NEVER told me not to hang out with non muslims. There are really good people out there and I am not about to not be friends with people because of their religion.
Up until 3 months ago i had no desi friends, they were all non muslim and my parents never had a problem with it. Infact they prefered it that way, as with desis, since its such a tight knit society theres just too much gossip. Not that i ever did anything my parents would be ashamed of, they'd just rather i didnt come in the auntie ji's radars.
i have no muslim(girl) friends..........only 1 and i dont get to meet or speak with her that much...:(
All my 6 close friends are non-muslims......When in school my parents encouraged me to have non-muslim friends as the muslim(s) had boy-friends and didnt concentrate on studies..In college there were harldy any girls who are muslims......:(
So, I have only non-muslims as girl/boy friends..........:)...didnt make me a bad person, didnt get my into trouble...they were there when i needed them. Loyalty and True friendship i learnt from them...So, no harm as far as i am concerened....
Yes, i did face the why are you covering(hijab), wear modern clothes and why this and why that...other muslims do this and that, why not you......but i stood my ground and they are ok with it....hence, i am happy..they are happy...:)
Waisey, it’s quite nice to have friends from different religions and cultures. It gives you a broader view on life, a richer perspective and helps to erase some stereotypes you may have had earlier on.
We do have many non muslim friends and get along very well with them. We try not to let our practice of religions cross limits and have learned to respect each other’s strengths. It is kind of hard to survive with any non muslim friends in a non muslim country, no?
i have no muslim(girl) friends..........only 1 and i dont get to meet or speak with her that much...:(
All my 6 close friends are non-muslims......When in school my parents encouraged me to have non-muslim friends as the muslim(s) had boy-friends and didnt concentrate on studies..In college there were harldy any girls who are muslims......:(
So, I have only non-muslims as girl/boy friends..........:)...didnt make me a bad person, didnt get my into trouble...they were there when i needed them. Loyalty and True friendship i learnt from them...So, no harm as far as i am concerened....
Yes, i did face the why are you covering(hijab), wear modern clothes and why this and why that...other muslims do this and that, why not you......but i stood my ground and they are ok with it....hence, i am happy..they are happy...:)
i kinda agree with u that having muslim friend they r too judgmental towards you they ask alot of question about why r we doing what u want to do? with non-muslim they know how things works everyone mind their own bussiness, but i still feel that a non-muslim can be your gud friend. i personally feel that a good muslim friend bring you alot close to your religion and can guide you the right path.
^^..In a way, it is right, correct... It is very true that having only muslim friends is very very difficult in a non-muslim country, where finding practicing muslims is a rarity...:(
How can you chose to not be friends with someone just because of their religion? Would you like that if someone made the same judgement about you? I have both muslim and non-muslim friends. Actually, I have more non-muslim friends than muslim friends. The drinking thing or eating halal food has not caused us to not b friends. My non-muslim friends know I dont party or drink and they respect that. They know I dont eat non-halal food and they respect that as well. You make your own choices. Your non-muslim friends are not gonna force you to drink or shove non-halal meat down your throat!
You should make friends based on the character of a person. There are many wonderful people in this world who are non-muslim and many muslims that are horrible people. I understand that it is harder to find things in common with for say a white person. I have white friends and there are many things of the desi culture that they dont understand. But there are many things on a human level that we all have in common and those are the most important things.
this was not not about that having non-Muslim friends is bad thing or they can make u a bad person it was about how u feel about having a non-Muslim friend and in which way they impact your life in both good and bad ways
I have 2-3 muslim friends that i see a few times a year. The others are non...have been most of my life, my housemates are all non-muslim. But due to my upbringing, I still stay true to my culture and religion and my friends are very respectful of that.
growing up we didnt have many muslim ppl around us (and i grew up in saudi arabia ) .. so all my friends were non muslims… there were a few but my parents always pushed us kids to befriend non muslims cuz they hated the gossip mongers muslims were (the few we did have close to us)… i can stil remember my dad saying musaalmaano se milkay kuch nahi seekh kay athay sivaye chalaki aur badmashi ke .. hehe.. but even though he felt like that.. he never stopped us from befriending whoever we wanted to (unless they had a reputation to be bad kids)…
i think i have a fair balance of muslim and non muslim friends.. though i have realized over the yrs that the ones who push me to realize my dreams, think outside the box and grow mentally and as a person, have been my non muslim friends… i dont know why but if i chat for too long with a muslim friend.. it somehow comes back to the usual gossip and how sucky life is and rights and obligations.. very cultural crap that you cant really do nothing bout… just a lot of *****ing… but i wouldnt give that up either.. sometimes goray cant understand where ure coming from as a desi