Having Kids?

^ I have certain minimum targets I have to acheive before I want to have kids like hello! GRADUATING? And yes, finding a stable job. Is that too unrealistic? Geez.

And you have to admit, you can't really ace a phd when u have twin babies. Dont give me example of wonder women now.

Well personally I think many people tend to say ," oh I wish I had done this and that etc" before the kids came along.However, realistically speaking- you cant have everything.

If you wish to go for the pd.D then you're willing to accept the fact that you cant start a family at the same time.If you travel- the same.Later when you have kids- then dont regret the fact that you wished you were younger when they came along or something.

So long as you think you made the right decision, then go for it.However there are always some regrets.We just have to set our priorities straight.

And for travelling, well I've been doing that since I was 4, so no problems there :P I don't think I'll have any problem achieving that dream of mine before I get married InshaAllah.

Everyone has their own situation. According to mine, my targets aren't unrealistic. Now go, have a lollipop.

Whose asking you to get married pronto? :) I am just saying once you make a decision after careful thought, then don't carry regrets for the rest of your life. That makes for a lousy life of what-ifs. Personal goals, are just that... personal. You want to graduate, have 2-3 years of career, want to buy a house, a Mercedes, whatever.. these are your personal goals and you should work for them. When you meet the right guy, you will want to get married. These are all your decisions.

I guess, what ChaChoo is trying to say is to keep a little perspective. And don't let small personal goals distract you from the big picture.

Ahh it all boils down to the "right guy" :D

two of my friends are students who are married, one of them just had the most adorable baby mashaAllah, and the other is expecting

theyre both doing fine with juggling classes etc, well so long as the dates are fine and they still get the best grades, neither was arranged marriage

IMO a child brings two people closer, whether someone decides to have children or not, thats entirely their decision, lekin they should be responsible etc

*Originally posted by Hum Sa Ho To Samne Aaye: *
Ahh it all boils down to the "right guy" :D
Well kind of. Till then this is all hypothetical yip yap. Ye kardein gay - woh kardein gay :-D

^ Unlike a lot of people, I really do take my dreams seriously. I have this tendency of making impossible things comes true :-)

I liked the "^ Exactly" response better :p

Anyway, yeah, dreams are important. As Benjamin Disraeli once said "Nurture your mind with great thoughts, for you will never go any higher than you think."

The "Exactly" was fine until you added "yeh ker dain gey, woh ker dain gey" :p

So you agree that this is all hypothetical yip-yap? I kinda figured.

No, I meant the "right guy" is hypothetical. We all know such creatures do not exist ;-)

Errrmm.. are you confusing "right guy" with the "ideal"?

"Right" doesn't have to be perfect, you know :)

I don't have any ideals to begin with. It's just my personal opinion - I have seen too many marriages bomb. I seriously doubt if there's anything as the right guy.

First that sans-PhD lady, now bombing marriage around you.... hmmm.. may be you need to change your company. Not that the endless search for ideal is a great idea, but so much pessimism is not good, either. There ARE happy marriages in the world, where people marry the one who is 'right' for them.

Yeah I've seen too many miserable marriages perhaps. Maybe it's a sign from God.

Ok, now we know where you are coming from. :)

Chalo, let's see :)

Oops.. I edited my reply. I doubt we'll meet mid-way. You'll have to come all the way here... on the happy side. Masha Allah :)

*Originally posted by ChaChoo: *

who is asking you to aim low .. aim high just don't miss the target :)

I would rather aim high and miss the target than aim low and meet it. I mean really, what are you if you don't dream big. But anyway, a house and 2 cars before kids is not exactly BIG! If I had wished for a mansion and 2 private jets before kids then maybe I would be aiming high.