Having Kids?

Why do Pakistani couples rush on having kids? There is nothing wrong with NOT having a child the first two or one year/s of marriage. Is it? Wouldn’t you wanna get to know the other half of you a little better, (incase, the marriage is arranged) get settled, spend some quality time together before you enter the tough part of life. (raising kids)
No, I m not getting married neither am I having kids :rolleyes: if that’s what you all are thinking. :nono1:
This question actually relates to my sister who recently got married. We had khattam over our house this past weekend. Damn Aunties wouldn’t leave her alone. And poor girl answered twenty aunties the same question. (koye khushkhabrey nahi, ,koye khushkhabrey nahi?) Her and I have never discussed this issue. But I really felt bad and didn’t say a word..
Why is this so? Why do People wait for a khushkhabreeyan the minute a couple gets married? Why is such Zehniyeit part of our society? For those of you that have tried listing differences between India and Pakistan. Here is a difference, Indian couples wait forever to have a child. Until they are settled, and are sure they can afford a child. Why isn’t that so in our society?

For those of you who think that this question is way out of line. Please Bhaiyoo mujhe maaf kurr dena. I have no other person to ask this to. This is my only way of knowing and telling aunties to grow up. If I ask my sister she will kill me. btw she also visits GS just to keep an eye on me. I hope she doesn’t read this. Or I’m dead for sure..

:wave:

I guess they think that the main purpose of getting "is" to have kids.

i think its jsut the next thing they can ask a married couple.. i dunno

but yeah its pretty sad if they expect u to have a kid straight away..

most of the girls i know are 27+ and not married.. and i know they are dying to get married so they can have kids

haha.. there is nothing wrong with having kids the first year.. as long as both the spouses are ready for it and are well established. as far as aunties goes..well they'll be always aunties.. there is no cure.

as for indian n pakistani generalizations, i know couple of indian families who had their kids in the first year of marriage :-)

everyones different... some people have kids to keep the marriage secure.. others get married to have kids.. and then u have some who cant be bothered hehe

i remember my friend whose in IVF saying "girls! get married and have kids before 27.. otherwise ur gonna regret it!"

^ thats what i've heard too that its better to have kids before 30s, apparently there are less health complications. not sure how true is all that with todays medical technology n all.

^ yeah but technology doesnt solve everything...

i mean its not compulsory to have kids before 30, but i think to avoid any problems.. it is recommended..

damn ladies, so much in just few mins

Enlighten me!

I dont know much bout why u should have babies before than.. sorries..

but i must add.. my cousin had all her kids after 28 and so did my friend, and they're doing fine Alhamdulillah

Re: Having Kids?

Oh really? :smiley: Sorry to burst your bubble but my first cousins from dad’s side are ALL Indians and all of them who got married had a child the first year…it’s quite a common practice among Indian Muslims back home :slight_smile:

Re: Re: Having Kids?

Actually, I should say Indian Hindu/shikh couples, Wait forever to have kids.That I have seen and met. :flower2:

groan :rolleyes: .. tell me about it !! … well i heard.. m not sure how much of it is true.. but they say.. first kid has to be born kinda early in marriage life to avoid complications… :confused: .. i still dont kno the madical validity of it … but would love to kno

yeah.. cus i think once u have ur first kid.. its very "easy" to have the second child..

my friends cousin had been trying to have kids for about 8-9 years.. she finally had her first child and within 11 months, her second child was born.. same thing happened with another girl i know :)

There is nothing worng in having kids in the first year of marriage purely upto the husband and wife ... but the auntie part is annoying but that is a generation thing... in the olden days that is how our and many other societies worked and most of these aunties are from that gen... hopefully when you all ladies become aunties this thing will die out ... so take note :D

At the same time there is nothing worng in waiting either... it gives couple time to get to know each other better because once you have kids that part kind of takes 2nd priority and specially ladies don't like that :) ...

One thing is though, if you have a kid early you have the option to have the next one after few years and so on.. I think these days for your own sanity and for your kids' it is important to have at least a couple of years of gap in between...

My parents had kids reltively early in their marriage - my brother was born 2 years in, I came along 5 years into their marriage.

But earlier this year, my dad took me aside and gave me a big long lecture on how the age of doing that is over, and told me that I should wait more years before having children. His essential argument was the the cost of a quality education is much higher than ever before, so it was important for both parties in a marriage to be working full time for several years before having children, to pay towards the future cost of a good school and a good university. Cos when you're old, the investment you make in your kids will pay off cos they are the ones who will have to look after you....

If thier are some geniune reasons for delay in having kids like one of the spouse is studying, then it is fine. Other then that what are you waiting for ?

You can know other person while having kids. And I think the bond between husband and wife strenghten with each child born. Just a personal opinion. but

Bachey do hi achey :D

i think its the next step after being married, kids just come along, and if ur like me only have hubby dearest and my mams side of the family, big empty house then u will want kids, but I have to say i didnt want kids straight away and i will be married for 3 years this nov, with my first kid due in sept, so i think it has worked out ok for me. Even though we had a long wait trying for a kid, over a year, and ive had the most difficult pregnancy so far. i wudnt change it for the world!
Anty jis just want somic to talk about, pehle shaadi ka para hota hai, shaadi ki baad bachon ka, whateva next...

I wanna have kids asap, and why not ? kids are such a big blessing, i wanna have a family of my own to grow and to cherish. Why wait ?

alot of the peeple there havent heard of 'protection' either

im with codered n maniac,
yeah why wait, get on with it..
:p