Having a Miscarriage

Hiya everybody

I had a miscarriage yesterday and it was my first pregnancy. I was 12 weeks pregnant and was expecting twins. :frowning: I went for a regular scan on 30th Oct and was told that my babies had lost their heartbeat and was referred for a D&C. My aunt is a gynecologist and she said that I should wait for nature to take care of it, rather than having a D&C.

I started bleeding naturally on Wednesday night and passed big lumps of clotted blood and some grayish whitish looking sack which I didn’t have the courage to examine myself. I have an appointment with the gynecologist next week but I was wondering if anybody could help me with some issues I have regarding care after a miscarriage.

My family has been advising me to rest as they think that having a miscarriage is worse than having a complete healthy delivery. Is it true? I feel very week and don’t feel like eating much. Somebody said that I should try to have more liquids like soups and avoid fiber in my diet.

What kind of food should I be eating after this? What’s panjeeri and should I be having it even after a miscarriage? Do I really need to eat it? Somebody told me I shouldn’t squat and try to rest in bed as much as possible. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Jazak Allah Khair

Fara

Re: Having a Miscarriage

i wish you well, my sis had a miscarriage, a few days ago. May Allah give you both sabar :)
Pinjeeri is stuff with sultanas, nut's raisons, almonds and all those Kinda stuff tht is fried but im not sure.......my mum makes it and it's all grounded. im not sure if it's good for you though:S

Thanks Colourful Eyes, I believe ALLAH KARIM has His own reasons and we should be contented in His will. May Allah Subhana bless your sister with sabr too, ameen.

I was looking for something that will help me detox after the miscarriage and tone me from inside.

I;m so very sorry for your loss Ms fara. I had a few of these myself and to this day I mourn my little angels who were not meant to be.

That aside, I had my D&c for two of them, I just passed the tissue for the other. By the 2nd day I was back to normal activities without trouble.

fara, i am sooo sorry for your loss :( I have been through this myself and feel your pain.

I had people tell me to different stuff after the m/c too. Luckily my ammi was here with me so she took over the house while i rested. She also made me panjeeri but didnt add stuff like char magaz etc. She made it very basic. I was told to rest and i did while she was here but after she left, i felt weakness for about a month or so i think. I would basically get fatigued qutie easily and couldnt stand in teh kitchen for very long. SOme days i had to drag myself to the couch and hubs had to bring dinner to me and then clear out everything.

But it did get better. I kept taking my prenatals so make sure you do that. I am not sure about not squatting etc. I dont think it matters. I know some ppl told me to avoid cold showers, ice cream etc but by the time they told me it was too late, i had already done most of that :D

I’m sorry and saddened to hear about your loss fara. I wish you health and love. :hugz:

May Allah SWT give u sabr n keep u in good health, im very sorry to hear of ur loss

panjeeri causes no harm in fact its usually good for u, it has this dried ginger like ingredient in it which helps to dry the excess moisture in ur body n help it return to its normal state

I'm sorry to hear of your loss.
I wouldn't wish the pain of miscarriage on anyone having been through it several times myself.

Yes, people also told me to look after myself after the m/c as they said it takes more out of youo than full term pregnancy and labour.

Above all listen to your body and do what you feel is right....

May allah give us all sabr and bless us with naik and healthy children

Insha allah

may Allah grant you sabr, ameen :(

I am very sorry to hear that. I am not aware that there is not any special diet to help tone or recover. It depends on how much u are or have bled. I would think that some rest would not harm if u feel u need it since miscarriage. Take things gently, not much exertion. Usually it takes a few weeks to months for the body to return back to normal self and conceive.

Best of luck

You need a diet rich in iron..to make-up for the blood-loss so have plenty of apple juice, beets and leafy green veggie's.. I know u have no appetite right now but Inshallah with time everything will settle =)

I'm sorry to hear of your loss fara .... but when did ya get married ... is it long since we talked last ?

fara baji :hug: i’m so sorry to hear about your loss! may Allah grant you shifa soon and give you lots and lots of little kiddies.

my cousin had a miscarriage with twins as well, and as far as i know, for her next pregnancy, she was adviced to rest as much as possible, but she didn’t really heed that advice, and was pretty normal in her day to day activities, and travelled as well. and is now a mother to a cute little moti moti girl.

I am so sorry to hear this fara... can i ask a question, what do you do with the babies or tissues or sac that passed, do you bury it or something, sorry for asking this but its in my mind and i really need an answer.

so sorry for your loss....may Allah grant you a quick recovery.

I remember when my sister had her miscarriage....the doc simply told her to listen to what her body is telling her. If you feel tired...rest...if you feel like you have energy then get up and do things. No special diet from my understanding.

Take it one day at a time...inshAllah all will be well soon.

I didn't read the first post.
But that has happened to some one in my family too.
It breaks my heart even thinking about what girls have to go through.
Don't Quote plz.

Im sorry for your loss. You should rest more and try to eat better with nutritious foods rich in iron as Gina mentioned.Continue with your prenatal vitamins as they are rich in iron as well as Folic acid.
May Allah Talleh make you better.Ameen

hugs May Allah help you and your husband get through this difficult time and help you to recover back to health quickly and fill your life with His blessing, Ameen

Salam Fara. I can understand how you must feel as I have had a miscarriage at 13 weeks. I did have to have a D&C and was given some medication after that for a week. Other than that I was advised moderate rest, regular food and vitamins.

Take care of yourself. Allah works in ways beyond our comprehension. Insha'Allah don't let this experience disappoint you. I've had a healthy daughter after that.

i m so sorry to know abt ur loss fara! i have had two muscarriages.infact one miscarriage, at 13 wks, and one still birth at abt 20th wk.. i lost my son in that..

my mother used to gv me "besan ki roti", which is made by spreading paste of besan on hot tawa and then cooking like chappati, its spicy and very tasty.. and yes avoid desi ghee sort of stuff..

May Allah give u sabar and bless u with healty child.amen