Have you got your new Eid outfit yet?

This seems to be the only subject of conversation at all the iftaar parties. . .

I think this weekend I was asked this question one too many times. . . so Muzna did what Muzna does. . . class lay lee. . .

I told the enquiring mind that I was planning on wearing an outfit that I had once before worn to a function (of course this left her jaw hanging as if I had suggested that she bathe and perform her personal hygiene ritual in public). I like shalwar kameez suit and it’s presentable. . rather pleasing to the eye. I told her that I couldn’t justify spending even $50 on a new suit when there were ppl in the world that were never going to see new clothes. Ever.

Granted. .. I enjoy several luxuries in life. But this is one of those traditions that I have chosen to forego. For the past few years I’ve made it a habit to go through my closet and pull out a few outfits that are not so worn and share them with somebody that perhaps cannot afford to buy new clothing for Eid.

Not only does this regimen emphasize the concept of sacrifice, empathy and self-control (whereby the new clothes are within reach for me yet I refrain), it makes me feel ten feet tall inside.

I wanted to share this with all of you in hopes that perhaps each of you will do the same. If you grab just one outfit. . even if it’s an outfit that you are not tired of or not quite ready to retire from your wardrobe. .. and find a person to give it to that will proudly wear it on Eid – please do so.

ooops. Main to ready hoon apnay naye kapray na bananay kay laye. but wat bout my wife thingy? since shes not the philosopher type, and I like the hair on my tind, how should i approach her? :)

I like the wardrobe idea. Only thing I would like to add is that if you can afford, buy dem new clothes. Makes them feel even better. I know people who felt bad cuz others were giving dem thier used clothes. Still, its better than not doing anything at all.

Jazakallah Khair Muzna Bibi. You have reminded us an important deed.

salamz all
muzna jee..
aap ki baat mei to bara damm hai....its a nice idea to share the wardrobe and earn Blessings from God as well....but, i wonder how ppl will understand this!...c..Azkar Ch sahib has refused to presewnt the idea to his wife!

anyways, i will check my short wardrobe and see what i can do, if it is possible at all :)

Thanks to you Muzna I now feel guilty every time I open the closet. Well.. There is this white cotton Shirt I was saving for Eid but now someone else is going to get it.Thanks to You. I dont have to like him do I ? Giving is enough I hope.

One Good Shirt Less In The Closet....
So when do I start feeling good about this?
Kindly specify the time frame.

Stud

Azkar jee. . . .aap kee tind kay baalon par main qurbaan ja'oon. . . .I refuse to believe that a man like you would be married to a woman who would object to what I have suggested. How about this. .. when you go shopping for her and the cute little one. . .buy one extra outfit. . perhaps for a little person just like our little Sahar. . .

Your suggestion of buying new clothes for someone is, of course, the best option. . .my ammi has been doing that for as long as I can remember.

Umar jee. . . everything is possible. We make it possible just by trying. Thank you and Jazakallah.

Stud jee. . .no, you certainly do not have to like the person you help. There is no prerequisite except naik neeyat and you have that already.

About the feeling good part. . .it will come in time, I promise. Reading your message has already made ME feel good. Thank you and Jazakallah.

Yup,
Certainly the joy of giving is best of all. I have given out new clothes to people on Eid, and yes Muzna, that feels good.

Lately however, practice kuch choot see gayee hai. InshaAllah, once again this time! Thankyou for telling us all how we can add to our joys of Eid, and someone else's too ;
and I don't think there's anything wrong in wearing something that you have worn before for Eid. As the Sunnah goes, you should dress up in clean "good" clothes.

Salaam.

Hi everyone

Eid.....just the thought brings a smile.
This time ... clothes!!... hahaha .. yes clothes,..i might wear some if i wake up ..but then ill have to, i have a class in the morning. ill come back , cook some food for the whole week, sleep for a while, study , watch tv, then probably do my ten day pending laudry and finally sleep.

.... clothes.. hahahah

Yeah, just the thought brings a smile.

ONLY TRYING TO CONVEY... PLEASE ENJOY IT WHEN YOU CAN :).. :)

Aslkm!

Ok, so..umm.. Muzna My very dearest Baji ji, can ya mail an out-fit over??? Need one bad! Smiles

Kidding, Man this Eid, if its on Monday or Tuesday, I'm Toast! I'm writting finals. Oh well, lifez gotta be better, perhaps some other year...InshAllah!

Wishing U all sincerly a VERY HAPPY Eid!
Regards,
Daysee Behna

How come Eid is more of a fashion show than a religious occasion? Any ideas?

Going to go visiting my friends and relatives in Sherwani suit, I dunno if its new, I'll confirm w/ me wife.

Later on
Zman

Thought I would locate this thread and revive it. Eid is nearing and the talk of clothing and adornment has once again come up.

Please take a few moments to think about the less fortunate and share with them your good fortune. It will make Eid more meaningful for you and you will enjoy your new clothes much, much more.

eXactli mujNa,
m3 fo' one, its been five years wearin' de same damn dRess
on all 3ids, jumas and on oda' oCCasions.

mOst uf ya' sucka's is riCh,
gota new dreSSes fo' ev3ry occasion, new kicKers fo' ev3ry party, new baGs fo' every season...

bUt dere is maNy likes me...
wHo kint affo'd ev3n soMe new pair uh socks...

:( :( :(

[This message has been edited by rag.tag.boy (edited December 16, 2000).]

mmm I’m wearing Black Lace…

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/blush.gif

NEW -

Originally posted by Muzna:
**This seems to be the only subject of conversation at all the iftaar parties. . .

I think this weekend I was asked this question one too many times. . . so Muzna did what Muzna does. . . class lay lee. . .

I told the enquiring mind that I was planning on wearing an outfit that I had once before worn to a function (of course this left her jaw hanging as if I had suggested that she bathe and perform her personal hygiene ritual in public). I like shalwar kameez suit and it's presentable. . rather pleasing to the eye. I told her that I couldn't justify spending even $50 on a new suit when there were ppl in the world that were never going to see new clothes. Ever.

Granted. .. I enjoy several luxuries in life. But this is one of those traditions that I have chosen to forego. For the past few years I've made it a habit to go through my closet and pull out a few outfits that are not so worn and share them with somebody that perhaps cannot afford to buy new clothing for Eid.

Not only does this regimen emphasize the concept of sacrifice, empathy and self-control (whereby the new clothes are within reach for me yet I refrain), it makes me feel ten feet tall inside.

I wanted to share this with all of you in hopes that perhaps each of you will do the same. If you grab just one outfit. . even if it's an outfit that you are not tired of or not quite ready to retire from your wardrobe. .. and find a person to give it to that will proudly wear it on Eid -- please do so.

Bajji same here i don't think naee kaaprai is the most important thing, for Eid, but it's different in Pakistan, they have to have something new, and they spend so much money on it, when there are some people who don't have anything to wear......but....hmmmmmm i don't ask or anything, and have said every year i have lots of clothes, my granmothers are grandmothers, my nanee sends something new every year, she just doesn't think it's right, that she is making clothes for all my sisters, and nothing for me......now what can i say, so she send me this pink and cream lahanga, but i'll do the thing you were saying about helping others, cause i know there are a few people who are still looking for something to wear....is that good enough???

Khuda kisi ko kis par fidaa na kare.....
Agar kare to Qyamat tak judaa na kare........

eid ki khushi dosron ki khushi mein hai..

make otherz happy..
begin a smile on their lipz..on their facez!

share ur blessingz of god with them!
not just clothez!
ur happiness aswell!

i alwayz give clothez to the less fortunates one.[though i’m not veryy fortunate myself..but there are those who doesn’t have this either!]…itz a jesture..

the feelin of happiness is immense!..
itz priceless!..
:slight_smile:

i think i can do a lot..but i don’t want to make otherz feel bad…:(..

Nayay kapray pehaan kar jaaoon kahaan, aur baal banaooN kis kay liyay
Wo shakhs to shehr hee chhorre gayyaa ab bahir jaaooN kis kay liyay?

aapki is right, people spend a lot more on eid clothes in Pakistan then here in the West. I myself, am guilty of changing into new clothes two even three times on each of the three eid days (eid is technically for 3 days right?)An obviously,there were new shoes, tons of jewellery and choorian..etc.
But ever since we moved to Canada, there's no way we buy that many clothes for eid.

"Amor Fati"

That why company is so important for people.I appereciate it that we r taking a good advantage of faciality.Plz keep it up.Finally this type of messages and strugles will save us from fire.
God bless all of us

bahut khuub Muzna! aap ne tu dil ki baat keh dali. shukria.
Hope it will be taken seriously.

Regards

[This message has been edited by musaafir (edited December 17, 2000).]

Re: Have you got your new Eid outfit yet?

Thought it would be a good time to revive this thread.