Re: Have you gone out with non-desi/pakistani guys/girls?
So my mom is not desi because her grandparents and roots are from Afghanistan?
And all Khans- Shahrukh, Aamir, Salman, Saif Ali are "Central Asians" too.. lol. Esp. Shahrukh- The moment any American looks at him- they casually say he is an Indian cuz he looks 200% Indian.. This discussion sickens me to the core. They say Punjabis/Pathans/Sindhis and most of the North Indians are "Aryans" without knowing the meaning of the word. "Aryans" means white and I havent met anyone from the sub-continent who looks an inch white.
..right back at ya. ![]()
c’mon, i would neva say that 2 any1 in person, plus u were getting on my nerves with anti-pakistani-guy comments.
, seriously i am very innocent and straight forward person…if u knew me personally u wud know…everybody whose ever met me as gotten that impression.
y u going on dates…tauba tauba karo…aaj kal ki larkia kaisi hogayi hai.
aaj kal ki larki … date …tauba? :aq: what abt the larka she goes on date with?
donon peh tauba karo ![]()
yah they shud, but what if the muslim girl is going out with a non-muslim guy? what about them? waisay bhi guna hai, life is about resisting temptations, dats what islam is all about, and here ur defending people who r going out not for love or looking for sum1 to marry, but to have “fun”, even worse they r going out with non-muslim guys n girls who strictly jus wanna have fun.![]()
I’m dating someone?? Since when??? ![]()
I’d said that guys are always talking sh*t abt grlz from here, tht they’re sluts, feminazis, pathetic etc. And you did the xact same thing, xcept u said it directly to me where i was just generally speaking.. ![]()
Let me introduce you to my fathers family. They are all tall, blonde with jade green eyes. They dont look like gorai, they are largely stunning. Except my chachai are slightly short. About 5 feet 8 ish.
Having said that. I look like my mum. Who is equally beautiful, but very desi.
^ Ur half gori ?
100% paki lovely, my point was, my father et les familie , despite being from Pindi do indeed look more white than white re:the post I quotes afore. Im the sore thumb at family gatherings, the sawali grain of rice in the boiled tub that is cumulativley our family a-gathering.
meri churiyah somthing somthing, hai hai karein sab larkayyy
Oh, sry wasnt following the arayans/afghanis/etc convo..
My cousins r mixed, the’re half desi and half white, they have total gori coloring, brown hair, light skin, etc, but their features r more hteir dads.. theyr’e cute
and i suspect my brothers baby will have freckles and brown hair and light eyes ![]()
I was only clarifying what’s what, please untangle your boxers and panties now, I wasn’t being racist and I didn’t imply in anyway that Central Asian (Iranic) people are better than South Asian (Indic) people or vice versa.
Plus nowhere did I equate beauty with fair skin, all people are equally beautiful, and I know there quite a lot of light skinned Desis especially from northwestern parts of the Subcontinent.
Afghans and Pakistanis have the same religion so aspects of culture that are influenced by religion are the same but secular aspects of culture are usually different.
The clothes worn by Afghans have a few similarities with Desi clothes but they are mostly different, the traditional turban and shawl, woollen hats and waistcoats, baggier salwar kamiz for men and the traditional Iranic ‘gypsy’ dress and silver/gold coin jewellery for women all resembled the clothes of other Iranic country’s more than the Indic. Salwar kamez was adopted by Desis from Afghans but it was altered and Indicised so it is quite different from the original Afghan version, the kurta pajama of Urdu and Hindi speakers or the ‘Xmas tree’ wedding gowns of Desi brides are not like Afghan clothes, salwar kameez is a very recent phenomena amongst Desis because 30 years ago the vast majority of people in Punjab and Sindh wore sarongs (dhoti/lungi) and kurtis.
The foods which Afghans eat are indeed different from those eaten by Desis, I’ve never known a Desi to drink pint upon pint of qahva like the Afghans, or eat naans which are [brumaccent]“forking massive man”[/brumaccent], or eat qabuli pulaow, or chapli kebabs, mantu or unspiced stew. Maybe some Desis eat these things but it’s only like a white person eating sushi or a chicken tikka, it’s not a staple diet like it is for Afghans. Afghans usually find Desi food too spicy and Desis usually find Afghan food too bland.
Languages are obviously way different, whilst a common man from Punjab can get a jist of what a Bengali or Gujarati might say, he will usually not understand Farsi or Pashto.
Shahrukh Khan is not a Pashtun (or Pathan in Hindi/Urdu), he is a Peshawari Hindko who are Desis. Other Bollywood celebrities who are Hindko (but are ignorantly labelled Pashtun by some) are Dilip Kumar, Qawwi Khan, Prithvi Raj Kapoor, Shammi Kapoor and Shashi Kapoor, they are all Hindko and therefore Desi, Hindko is very similar to Hindi/Urdu and Punjabi.
Pakistani Chief of Army Staff Field Marshal Ayub Khan was also Hindko but due to inferiority complex he sometimes claimed to be Pathan, which is unfortunate because they themselves are quite an educated, accomplished and refined group of people.
Before Pashtuns came to NWFP and eastern Afghanistan these areas were indeed Desi and they were inhabited by Hindko people who followed Buddhism, even today Hindko people live side by side with Pashtuns in NWFP but there’s none left in Afghanistan.
I don’t know about other Khans they might be of Afghan origin or they might be Hindko or neither, but a lot of them have Indian mixed into them.
This discussion sickens me to the core. They say Punjabis/Pathans/Sindhis and most of the North Indians are "Aryans" without knowing the meaning of the word. "Aryans" means white and I havent met anyone from the sub-continent who looks an inch white
I agree with you on this point, whilst the ethnic groups you mentioned are partially of Aryan stock they have other races mixed into them who equally form a part of their heritage which is confusing so just be content with present cultures and not think ourselves better than anyone else because of our present culture or past heritage.
Like I’ve said many times before ethnicity is not hereditary, it is the culture and language you were born into or adopt as your own. Many people of Pashtun origin have become Desi by adopting Desi language and culture and others are in the process of Desiisation including myself who speaks Urdu with more ease than the Pashto of his parents and grandparents, there is no harm in assimilating into another culture so long as it’s because that’s what you want and is not due to inferiority complex or coercion.
I did say the majority (not all) people from Pak, India, Bangla.. are Desi. Those people who are uninfluenced by Desi culture in inner NWFP and Balochistan which border Afghanistan and Iran are not Desi yet, they are Iranic like neighbouring Iranic countries.
However I believe that in the long run they will become Desised/Urduised in Pakistan and that’s what I want for my people because I don’t want them to be marginalized and isolated as an ethnicity without any future (I know it's not ideal but the world is not an ideal place) the way to accomplish this would be settling the Bangladesh stranded Biharis in NWFP and of course there is Gwadar being built in Balochistan where Desi people who form the majority of Pakistan’s population (90%) will settle down and assimilate the minority population into them by marrying the goodlooking Balochi muchachas and muchachos. The pan Pakistani identity which is Desi/South Asian culturally and Islamic religiously/ideologically should be promoted across Pakistan.
Pathans are a mixture of mongols and aryans among other people..ever wonder Imran Khan has chinese looking eyes?thats a mongalian feature.Most white people or white looking people in central and south asia can trace their ancestory back to Arayns who were european blondes and migrated to Asia thousands of years ago other races originated much later.
Pashtun people are Iranic with some other influences here and there, for example in Afghanistan some Pashtuns have mixed with Persians and Hazaras and in some parts of Pakistan they have mixed with Hindkos.
True my family, especially my grandparents and their brothers and sisters have this mixed look with Mongoloid features but still obviously Pathan features. We also may have had some European because a few of my relatives had blonde, very light hair and grey eyes. My husband’s family is just pure Kashmiri, so he lovingly says I’ve corrupted his gene pool with my background. I’m a mutt.
A few blondes in my family too from mothers side.One of my uncle has light brown hair and is fair...also a cousin of mine is as blonde as brad pitt and has colored eyes.
Mutts are healthier and therefore cheaper to insure.