Have you ever wished you were an Indian?

Billo, interesting thought,
Would it be the same if I rephrase your question as "do you ever appreciate anything about India"
after all we only want to belong to something if we appreciate it.
if that is the case , I for myself appreciate a lot of things about India.
India is one of the oldest pocket of human evolution.
In 5000 or so yrs that it has been inhabited by man kind , it has produced a very original culture.
The food the music, the dances, the culture, the architecture , to name a few .
It is the birth place of 2 of the greatest theological systems man has developed , i.e Hinduism and Buddhism.Two of the great men in history i.e Buddha and Gandhi were born here.
I take pride in all that, just the way I take pride in human accomplishments like the pyramids and acquaducts.(Roman cities)
Sure there are times when I want to part of so many neat human endavours , all around the globe, India is no exception.

[This message has been edited by Nova (edited December 28, 1998).]

i agree to billo really…

i gree outright!

sometimes i look around… see the things… think about them…and well how kool if i were an indian!

certainly beter than being a pakistani!

but then.. if i really am allowed to change my nationality.. why not be a canadian? english?

i kinda think like billo sometimes too… what the heck.. atleast i couldve watched gopi kishen on big screen…

think like a 14 year old or hundred year old.. ifi have to chose.. between india and pakistani..i’l chose to be an indian with al my might!!

there might be a lot of reasons why some of us think like that..

it might be an “IMMATURE” wish.. but its there and we accept it!

we need to talk about it!!

billo,

some of us have knowingly or unknowingly have been making you feel like fourteen is too young and immature..

i dunno about what 14 is.. all i know is what you are..

you’re 14, you act like 14, you are proud to be 14, and well you thought about something in a certain way.. and you sy it with pride!

thats much mature than… me atleast!!

keep it up .. i respect you!

…and i’ll wait up in the dark for you to speak to me… and i’ll open up… release me…
-black jewels of insignificance.
[email protected]
http://something.someone.somewhere.net

Hypcrisy can not be a part of or shouldn't be one of the characteristics of Great man. So, even though Gandhi is well known for his teaching etc etc, I say that "all that glitters is not gold". One need to take a closer look at his life to realize that there were common people who stood more firmly on their beliefs than Gandhi.

I am not pakistani, I never wish to be a pakistani .... I am not an indian, I never wish to be an indian. For me you both indians and pakistanis go to hell .... I dont mind ... both are waste of space .... and must be get rid of ....

Wish, I wish billo could be a kenyan monkey eating bananas sitting on the tree all day long ... winning noble prize for eating bananas. I also wish billo could travel in sea on a banana boat.

Billo wished stupid so I wish something more stupid. After all it is a wish and no one can stop me from wishing ... I dont care if someone wish something for me ... its just a wish .. so let him wish ...

Wish u smelling fish.

Zerokool : It makes you even more stupider !!! stop making fun of yourself ...

Later on
Zman

ZMAN,
you talk some sense. Ive heard good stuff about you. you should be moderator.
Anyways,
Pakistan can be just like India. It doesn't try hard. Maybe its because all it does watch indian movies all the time. I have never seen an indian film in my life.
Naseer,
If its haraam than how come arab countries like Lebanon and Egypt have won it? We can do the same. Pakistan is only one of the few countries who haven't won it.

Billo : Thx for the kind words. Me a moderator ? not in a million years. Do you know what Muzna has to go through as an admin/moderator ? I think there are a lot of other people on this forum who are and could do a better job than me in moderating.

Billo, you're not Coolio, are you ?

Later on
Zman

Zman
Im a good friend of Coolio's but he hates me cos of my site. He's a true pakistani.
Oh yea I heard you like Karishma Kapoor. Her page is gonna be up soon at my site.
IMranz is right about Ghandi but Nova is not. Ghandi as told by many Sikhs, was responsible for their genocide.

Billo mayree jaan,

Kaisay hain aap? ahem! Gandhi was responsible for the genocide - or not, I advise you do some reading of your History books before you get into these kinds of discussions.

Secondly, you are correct about beauty pageants and Egypt etc. and why not Pakistan.

Well, sweetheart, may be because some of us Pakistani ladies may have the Looks and the ahem! Appeal that it takes to, if not win but compete certainly.

LEKIN, we choose to keep our these treasures for our Sartaaj's Eyes Only and by Choice too!!
So, don't know about science and tech etc. 'cause am not that enlightened a person, but don't lament about the beauty pageant part, 'cause we ain't interested!!!!

Because they went against Islam. Hey they'll pay for the concecuences... and Pakistan doesn't want that.

You Smell What The Naseer's cookin!?
The Peoples Champ,
Naseer Malik

zman,

I am actually not pakistani .... nor indian. By nationality I am British but by origin ......... take a good guess of my origin, I leave u in contemplation .....

Wish u smelly fish.

BILLO PEOPLE LIKE U MAKE ME SICK, THERE IS ALOT MORE TO IT THEN WOMEN WINNIN BEAUTY PAGENTS AND STUFF. RIGHT NOW UR A DISGRACE TO A COUNTRY FOR WHICH YOUR GREAT GRAND PARENTS FOUGHT FOR, I BET YOURE PARENTS WONT BE PROUD OF U EITHER COZ I AM PRETTY SURE THEY DIDNT WANTED TO RAISE U THIS WAY THAT YOU WILL ONE DAYBACK STAB YOUR OWN GENES. LEMME TRY AND GET SOME FACTS STRAIGHT HERE

INDIA: A COUNTRY WHICH WILL BE ALMOST A PLACE IN WHICH PEOPLE WILL NOT BE ABLE TO LIVE, BECOZ OF TOO MANY DIEADED (PLAGUE FOR 1) GARBAGE, POLLUTION AND LOTS OF OTHER FACTORS. (I HEARD THIS ON BBC NEWS)

PAKISTAN: GLAD TO KNOW THAT MY COUNTRY PAKISTAN WILL BE ABLE TO SURVIVE ANOTHER CENTURY OR SO...

INDIA: GETTING ALL THEIR TECHNOLOGY FROM RUSSIA, A COUNTRY WHERE POLLITICIANS STARTED TO FIGHT IN THE ASSEMBLY ROOM PLACE. EVEN THE SPEAKER WAS THROWING STUFF LIKE MICS AND OTHER THINGS.

PAKISTAN: EVERYTHING IS TAKEN UNDER CONCIDERATION PEACEFULLY WITHOUT VIOLENCE.

AS U SAID SPORTS THAT INDIA MAKES HEADLINES...BROTHER U R RIGHT THERE THEY DO MAKE ALOT OF HEADLINES!

INDIA: 1996 CRICKET WORLD CUP SEMI FINALS (INDIA Vs SRILANKA) MATCH WAS ABANDONED DUE TO A VERY BAD BEHAVIOR BY THE CRICKET FANS...ONCE AGAIN THEY MADE HEADLINES CNN SAID "INDIA A COUNTRY OF BAD SPORT?"
AFTER THAT INCIDENCE ONCE AGAIN IN SAHARA CUP 1998 THE LAST MATCH HAD TO BE ABANDONED BY THE POOR BEHAVIOR OF INDIAN FANS...

I'M PROUD TO BE A PAKISTANI, PEOPLE IN EUROPE & IN OTHER PLACES SEE PAKISTANIS, INDIANS AND BANGLADESHI'S AS ALL FROM ONE NATION "PAKISTAN" THAT IS WHY THEY CALL US "PAKIS". IF THEIR WOULD BE A WAY TO TELL THEM I AM SURE PAKISTANIS WONT BE HATED IN SOME PLACES BECOZ I HAVE HEARD ALOT OF THINGS R ABT HINDU CULTRE BUT ARE NAMED AFTER PAKI'S

IF U STILL DONT LIKE PAKKISTAN THEN I WANNA SAY TO U IS TAKE YOUR FAMILY AND HIT THE ROAD!!!! STRAIGHT TO INDIA

NO violence in Pakistan?? Where have you been? Everyday people are killed in Karachi and because of their religious beliefs. That also happens in India but its more common in Pakistan. India at least gives freedoms to other minorities. Thats why they have Muslims, Sikhs and Chrisitians in Bollywood. In our "Lollywood"--the worst film industry in the world, only Muslims are in allowed to be in there.

Sure they are a lot more things other that beauty pageants to a country:
There's Nobel Prizes
Computers
Technology
Record breakers
......and the list goes on and on.
But has Pakistan any of these things? HELL NO!!
Yea, my grand parents fought for Pakistan, but they never thought it would turn out such corrupt, and basically crappy. That's why they stay home and watch indian films all the time. Cos they know that a Pakistani movie is not worth it.

Oh yea,
You ppl still need to list at least 10 things that make you proud to be a Pakistani.

"India atleast gives freedom to other minorities"?????!!!!!!

Hmm!! Lagta hai kabhee India chakkar nahee laga hai!
My Grandfather was a Calcutta University blue - an honor student in academics and sports and other family members from both his and my Grandmother's side who had high academic qualifications but it was only in East Pakistan that they were given their due jobs and social status!!

You are 14 and so I am not going to respond to you like I do to anupap68, but I suggest that you NOT pass sweeping statements about stuff you have no clue about!!

Being fond of a culture/country is a different thing but saying they are better than your own or that they would treat you better than your own would to them etc. is plain naivite and ignorance which you will overcome with age and education.

Billo,
Tu to paka pakistani hai yaar kia Hindu larkion ko tu nai nanga kia hai apni "site" par. Isay kehtay hai badla lena.
Waisay kuch log tujhay bohat bara Begherat bhi bolay gay lekin mai un mai sai nahin, meri nazar mai tu to sirf aik "American Born Confused Desi" (ABCD) hai. Lekin mai teri burai nahin kar raha, nahin nahin kabhi nahin, aisa bilkul nahin hai. Is mai tera koi khusoor nahin hai, KHUSOOR to terey maa baap ka hai, jin ki wajah sai mujh ko yeh sub likh kar apna waqt kharab karna par raha hai. Aur mian apni site ko update kab kar rahay ho Abaa jan nai naee tasweer khareed kar dee abhi tak ya nahin?
Salam
Pakistan ZindaBad
Aik aur Pakistani

hell ya, i wish i was indian!! they are much much open minded and cooler. :)I agree w/ billo totally! Ya, and what is up w/ freak LOLLYWOOD?! What is that supposed to be? Fat and old actresses trying to copy Indian dances w/ their ugly ugly ugly OLD OLD OLD "leading men"?! GROSS!

Said: plz, dont speak to ME about pollution!!! My brother and I went to Pakistan (karachi), ate the food (so called pizza from a so called reputable place), my brother ended up in the HOSPITAL w/ the NASTIEST bathroom I have ever seen in my entire life!! It was cleaner on the garbage infested street!! Plus, i decide nice "fresh" air would be nice so I open the window and almost pass out cuz on the ledge there is rotting BIRYANI AND OTHER FOOD and in the lot next to us, there are ppl taking a shit and buring garbage!!!!!!!! I couldnt even SEE the cars down below cuz of all the SMOG!!!!!! I swear, the EPA would DIE if they ever set foot in that country!!!!! AND dont even make me talk about CLIFTON and the BLACK water they call the "samandar"!!!!!!!!!!!!!
So, DO NOT talk about pollution!!

It is useless to discuss this issue with people whose criteria of greatness of a country/society can't go farther than few movies or food. It is not there fault. Its the matter of their lack of maturity/experience and information. We all can go on and on about Pakistan but the opponents would never agree since their measuring threshold is very limited....

Jez and Billo : Were you'll born in Pakistan ? Again, do not compare Pakistan to the clean and hygenic atmosphere that you find in Canada, US or Europe. I dont think that either of you'll have been to India, I got relatives who regretfully still live in India. That place aint no picnic and in most cases even dirtier than Pakistan. Go and visit India and Jez you will find that it is twice as disgusting as what you described for Pakistan.

My prediction : India will be broken down into pieces like Russia in our lifetime -- Ameen.

Sooooooooo angry and sweet billo,
Aanhaan so u have asked twice about ten things on which Pakistan is proud of.
hmmmmmmm so i think:
i) Islam
ii) Great heros.
iii) The fifth atomic power.
iv) Motor-way(as pakistan is the only country in Asia who has such an important thing)
v) Culture
vi) Society
vii) Kashmir
viii) Beauty(beauty in land, beauty in ppl, beauty in their hearts)
ix) less social and behavioual diseases (as compare to India.)
x) And Dr.Abdul Salam, Dr.Abdul Qadeer, Dr.Khaliq-ul-Zama and so on.

A long list of many other things, on which Pakistan And Pakistanis are proud of.
We cannot be ashamed of being Pakistani, only by watching Indian movies.We watch them for entertainment, not to get ashamed on our origin and our identity.

Billo, sincerly if u really wanna know what Pakistan is then u should have to visit.
Visit Pakistan and India both, i m sure u will find that why we ppl love our homeland our Pakistan so much.

Aur agar phir bhi u wish to be an Indian, u r ashamed of being a Pakistani, just go change urs nationality, urs citizenship and be Indian buy Indian, nobody is going to stop u!

As for me i luv Pakistan, i wanna live and die like a Pakistani! :)
b'bye.

[This message has been edited by SAMREEN (edited December 30, 1998).]

RIGHT! Shamreen!1 100% right. But did you know the reason India won more nobel prizes?
POPULATION MATTER!!!! INDIA HAS MORE THAN PAKISTAN. THINK ABOUT IT... more chances for India winning. India is more of a dirty country than Pakistan it's true. Second look at the religion you go there. Your in more danger than Pakistan because your a muslim. The hindu's could.. kill you. So watch out.

You Smell What The Naseer's cookin!?
The Peoples Champ,
Naseer Malik