Have you ever felt the fear...

That after death you might be told that (Allah forbid) the Sect / School of thought which you followed through out your life was actually not right ?

Re: Have you ever felt the fear...

Salam STP,

Exactly STP thats one reason i try to avoid any sect, try to read as much as possible now since its 1400 years old i believe let me do what Allaah has stated to us and submitting our will to Allaah and rest is left to Allaah as Allaah is Al adl (the best of justice). Because Allaah will not question us unless we do someting by our own choice (i.e. other than the Quran and authentic hadith).

Walaikum Assalam brother SlaveofAllah.

I appreciate your sincere intentions, as I used to think the same till I read the hadith of the Prophet (Saw) that my ummah would have 73 sects / firqas and only one of them would be on the right path.

^ This makes me a bit uneasy, though I feel satisfied with the school of thought I am presently following. (By the grace and blessings of Allah)

I feel that fear all the time. But then I think about my sect and realize that it looks like the most safe one cause it does not ask me to make too much assumptions and ask me to respect all Sahaba, Faqeeh, Imam and also have pure faith and not to go after too much of logic

I firmly believe that I am on the right path, I still feel fear and seek His mercy.

[Sahih Bukhari - Volume 4, Book 56, Number 803]

Narrated Hudhaifa bin Al-Yaman:

The people used to ask Allah's Apostle about good, but I used to ask him about evil for fear that it might overtake me. Once I said, "O Allah's Apostle! We were in ignorance and in evil and Allah has bestowed upon us the present good; will there by any evil after this good?" He said, "Yes." I asked, "Will there be good after that evil?" He said, "Yes, but it would be tained with Dakhan (i.e. Little evil)." I asked, "What will its Dakhan be?" He said, "There will be some people who will lead (people) according to principles other than my tradition. You will see their actions and disapprove of them." I said, "Will there by any evil after that good?" He said, "Yes, there will be some people who will invite others to the doors of Hell, and whoever accepts their invitation to it will be thrown in it (by them)." I said, "O Allah's Apostle! Describe those people to us." He said, "They will belong to us and speak our language" I asked, "What do you order me to do if such a thing should take place in my life?" He said, "Adhere to the group of Muslims and their Chief." I asked, "If there is neither a group (of Muslims) nor a chief (what shall I do)?" He said, "Keep away from all those different sects, even if you had to bite (i.e. eat) the root of a tree, till you meet Allah while you are still in that state."

nope.
cuz i dont believe in sects. i believe only on ALLAH SWT. (ALHUMDULLAH)

good answer!

Saying you dont believe in sects is irrelevant,,as the Prophet SAW already foretold there would be so many of them. And that has come true...Shia, sunni,ismailis,qadiyanis....all with their subsects..all claiming to be following the right path!

Salaam Brother

I think this needs to be corrected......There is a big difference between** sects and schools of thought.** The famous schools of thought are Hanafi, Shafi, Maliki and Hanbali, they are not a group but fiqh and their rulings are based on different opinions of Sahabah(ra). Four of them have minor differences regarding different issues.

All the traditional muslim Scholars follow each school of thought though they might have knowledge of all four fiqhs.
we all know about Imam Abu Hanifah(ra), Imam Malik, Imam Hanbal and Imam Shafi .I don't think they were wrong as they were all great scholars and they based their opinions on different Ahadith also according to a hadith if an alim(or amir) makes a right ruling he gets two rewards and if he makes a wrong ruling then he still gets one reward.

Please do read the biographies of these four great scholars. You don't have to follow any school of thought in order to become muslim, but then most people without a school of thought become deviant.

Allah hu Alim

SAlam sis Big statement, think again. But i agree with rest of your post but the last bold part

It is true...one should follow a SOT...

^ OK fine sir. Aap ki guzarish sar aankhon par.

Moadbana Guzarish actually!

Same here!

Everytime i ponder I find myself convinced about my faith being right.

kamzor iman

tsk tak..

i never hav that fear

:P

i just imagine the pur noor .. haseen .. roshan.. chand jaisa chehra of the Prophet PBUH showingup in the grave..

Actually the statement before that is bigger :)

good topic!

my views are quite similar to slaveofallah. i dont think any one sect is always on the right all the time, if there is such a sect, maybe I havent encountered it. I basically have become something of a non-sunni, non-shia, I see what everyone has on offer on different issues, and pick the most reasonable one.

I also think, regarding the 73 sects, one sect could be the set of people who dont blindly follow any sect.

but yeah, i am always afraid of being on the wrong side. and thats good. doubt keeps you actively skeptical.

I think the sectarian strife is had this main problem in Islam, in India shaffiis used to get beaten up and this is real, now where is the 4 imam aur charo bhi barhaq.

In makkaah before the saudi rule of Abdul Aziz, the salah was held 4 times for the four school of thoughts but Alhamdullillaah its better now.

For h2k,

Exactly the first statement is you dont have to follow SOT to become a muslim but the next statment if you dont you become a deviant.

Then Abu Hanifa must be the biggest deviant he did not have any SOT, according to the logic provided i can go ga ga ga over this topic but i have certainly lost interest coz what i have understood is unless we dont realize ourselves (esp in forums its just not possible).

Ab koi indo-pak moulvi ko bulayo mujhe fatwa pass karne ke liye.

Salam,

Aur batao kya kya imagine kar sakto hon. I hope you are being sarcastic.