Share your stories here.
Re: Have you ever experienced racism?
No sure if I have. I must have. I Just don’t register it. There is no need.
Its not my problem, is the other persons problem who holds it.
^Some wise words there from Monk. Hmm the only incident I recall was from this Irani mother and son. We were invited to this Afghan family’s home to see fire works for 4th of july since their house was near the ground where the fireworks were deployed. The mother son duo arrived late, and arrogance could be seen on their faces from a mile away. They didn’t even acknowledge us and only spoke in Farsi. Honestly, I was just like wow, how ugly are you. Icing on the cake was that they were refugees but that didn’t stop their cockiness.
lol.. well, if i had a penny for every time i’ve heard pakistanis brag about how their language is so much like farsi…
What does that have to do with this exactly?
just that i find it funny you feel that was racist. your average pakistani would have broken out the che tori qandolak shoma muah muah
I don’t think so. Arrogance is not limited to any nationality though. I don’t know if this would qualify as racist but my mom once befriended this Indian lady. Every time she saw my mom, she would ask how are your relatives back in India. Each time mom corrected her that her relatives were in fact in Pakistan and that is where is she is from too. But to no avail, I found it funny that the lady could not bring herself to say Pakistan.
indians are a special level when it comes to prejudices, even towards other indians so i’d not be surprised if she did that on purpose to annoy your mom.
When I brought my eldest sister in law from Pakistan as a refugee we had one of my wifes client and friends mother live with us as she was not getting along with the son in law. She was a hindu lady from Fiji, we used to respect her as a relative and she needed a job to send money to Fiji so we hired her to cook for us. My wifes sister put up a hge drama that she will not live under the same roof as a Hindu and she will not eat any food a hindu touches. She said Hindus are paleet although aunty was cleaner and worried about food hygiene more than her. Both my wife and I have scores of Indian clients who have been very supportive of us and call her Diddi and have invited her for pooja and stuff. Especially Sikhs have been very supportive. My experience is that Pakistanis are a lot more negative towards Indians rather than the other way around.
One Palestinian guy who was a family friend of ours had a business disagreement with a Pakistani guy and to my bewilderment said that he thinks the Pakistani guy is jealous of his Arab heritage as in middle east Pakistanis are servants of Arabs. Needless to say when his career crashed and burnt because of his arrogance I didn’t feel too sorry for him.
Lmao goes both ways. We know two sikh families, one our neighbor and another who has been a close friend of my sister for a long time. They are very sweet people but they would rather die then eat at a muslim’s home.
They usually make excuses when they invited but even if they do come, they will not touch the food even after plenty of insistence. Our neighbor finally admitted one day that it was because muslims do dum darood on the food. We are like the fudge? No we do not but even after clearing up the misconception, she will maybe have a glass of water or a fruit but no home made food.
Considering I live in a redneck podunk state, there is plenty of that to go around.
One hilarious instance of it was when I passed my driving test. I went to the DMV to get my license made and had all the essential primary documents, like my birth certificated which clearly stated I was born in New York and a stamp of approval on my permit document from the officer that tested me. Anyways, the lady working at the DMV initially assumed I couldn’t speak English and spoke in a condescending tone with “Maaake sure you have all essssential documents.”
Being me, I replied by projecting my voice a little louder than I was supposed to with “Oh don’t worry, I* made sure* to collect *everything that could be necessary
:)”
*She gave me a weird look and I continued to plaster a fake smile while she still stared at me.
This woman worked slow as f*ck and eventually had to ask one of her coworkers for some help after an eternity. In my head I was like…you do this all the time sis. However, to be fair it could have been a technological issue. Hearing her ask her coworker about what was troubling her, it was clear it was not that. She was trying to do the process of entering in the information according to the guidelines for someone who is not a US citizen and was telling her coworker that she didn’t know how to continue with it because I didn’t provide her the sufficient documents. Since I was relatively close to the desk I heard her and called her out with:
“Ma’am…my birth certificate says I was born in New York. I am a US citizen.
:)”
This broad didn’t even bother properly looking at what I provided her besides the permit and just assumed I wasn’t a citizen so I had to wait another eternity because the process had to restart.
Living in the south I’ve experienced that too. They’re just ignorant cause they aren’t exposed to different cultures. What state do you live in, if i may ask?
In the sikh faith they’re decreed not to eat any meat that was obtained from ritual slaughter or prepared with any religious rituals that includes halal and kosher, so I wouldn’t take offense.
Didn’t you claim to be half indian and half turkish in another thread?
Yo third string obviously I know that. It would be highly ignorant to present meat to them and then get offended. The food was vegan!
Genetically we are Turkish settled in India, then Africa and then spent 8 years in Pakistan as my father thought I will learn Islam there but they thought me drinking, ganja and gundagardi..so yeah connections every where.
Arkansas.
So you’re actually desi with some distant turkish ancestry (unless fabricated).
Dang I’ve never a met brown person from Arkansas, it must be real hard living there. Do you plan to leave? I had friends in rural Georgia and relatives in Louisiana and they hated it there lol.
I’m surprised myself that brown people other than my family exist in Arkansas. There is actually a sizable community of brown people in Arkansas. The cost of living here is relatively low (it is Arkansas after all) so I’ll be here a while although I don’t blame brown people and people of color in general for not wanting to live in a deep south state.