Have we become so overly religious that

the idea of another religion with an equally competent God is cause for heartburn? Is the purpose of religion to make this world a better place or is it for chest thumping and cheerleading ones faith at the expense of others?

Can we focus on real world problems instead?

All points of view welcome.

Re: Have we become so overly religious that

We as Muslims’ believe in one God for all so there is no competition as such. (Referring to your comment about competent God). Having said that, its my belief system and I won’t go around cursing other religions or their beliefs.

I like the first sentence.

We became so self imposing that we want everyone to accept our religion without admitting that we want them to accept and have faith in our god as zealously as they have in their god..
But faith is matter of faith

I think that is what I was getting at.

Southie

What are your views about these great men?

Mohammad bin Qasim
Aurangzeb
Shahab-ud-din Ghauri
Sultan mahmood Ghaznavi
Babar
Abdali

looters, looters, looters.

;emmy:
Babar was a ruler and not a looter same was Hazrat Aurangzeb…they collected taxes here and used that for building their empire and well being of their awam …

I feel ashamed that we made such people our heroes, who looted poor people of invaded areas

Mughals and well being of awam! if they were that concerned of awam and their welfare, we would have seen more roads like GT roads and universities to the caliber of Oxford, etc in India rather than pompous monuments like Taj Mahal, Hiran Minar, etc

Ahmed Shah Abdali made such an example of plundering, despoiling, despoliation that it generated a common saying in that era and it goes like

Kahya piya Laah da
Baqi Ahmed Shah da

and Aurangzeb ’ o yea as Mushtaq sb said ‘’ Us ne na koi Namaz choRi nah hii koi Bhai ‘’ :slight_smile:

That was rulers of those days…

After mughal empire we had great Maratha empire…give some of their achievements like…oxford university or GT road…

@southie whats mean by liberal?

did Marhata get similar authority as Mughals had?

khuda lagti kahonn to Marhata didn’t get sukh ka saans due to continuous wars with Mughals followed by Abdali, etc. In any case, I’m not favoring Marhatas as they would have done the same as their predecessors did for awaam.

Same can be said about Hazrat Aurangzeb…
Btw they had authority on a good portion of land after death of aurangzeb…still they failed to do so

How many years of sukh chain they got, before Nadir Shah and Abdali?

Hinting at the recent discussion that took place between us inthis thread?

Why must you interpret everything in such a negative manner? The idea of someone believing in another God is the cause for heartburn for the “overly religious”? Just because I explained what shirk is for a Muslim? Hadh hai. Here’s a story that might make you think twice before jumping to such negative conclusions:

I used to pray namaz at the back of the chapel in college when that was the only option available to us because they refused to give us a separate room for prayers. But God bless the chaplain, whom we lovingly called father Phonsie, who got the buildings office to install a sink at one corner of the chapel, complete with a towel n all, where we could easily do wudu. He did everything he could to accommodate us.

I would often see other (Christian) worshippers in the chapel praying to the statue of Jesus and let me tell you it never gave me a heartburn. Rather I developed a newfound respect for those people. I still remember this one man who I saw praying with a really despairing look on his face. He was praying as if there was nobody else there, like nothing else mattered, he was just so absorbed in prayer. You could just tell that there was something bothering him and he was desperately looking for help from whoever he was praying to. I realized how every worshipper’s deity means so much to him. I ended up feeling a bit affectionate towards him. That’s the complete opposite of being disgusted by someone praying to another God, like you have alleged. To reject idolatry and polytheism doesn’t mean you’re sitting there cursing other religions. Itne bhi evil nahin hain log, the majority lives in absolute harmony.

I don’t even know why I’m addressing you again, Southie, because it’s not like it’s been of any avail thus far. You continue to throw around accusations at others for no reason, calling them intolerant and whatnot. Perhaps I feel the need to clarify your misconceptions before they grow even bigger. But I don’t think that makes a difference to you, does it? I doubt I’ll be getting into this again. Aap ko jo sochna hai aap sochein.. as usual.

At least Islam doesn’t teach this attitude of degrading others religion. It teaches ’ there is no compulsion in religion’. It also teaches ‘don’t talk against the gods of others, so that they get a chance to talk against your’.

Who says that religious people can’t focus on world’s problems?

religious people will say religions are awesome but people are bad at following them. true story.

You are mistaken. That thread was just the last straw. I don’t intent to relitigate that thread here. I will try yo not make it personal. And not beat you up as you have me.

It is cumulative. That one HAS to be religious to be moral. And a corollary - that one has to be Muslim. That Allah knows best - over and over again. That Islam is the best. That homosexuals are equivalent to animals. That religious based laws are better than secular.

Really no need to get personal. We can disagree without attacking the other personally. It is also not always about you. Because I don’t recall you making any of the comments that catalyzed this post.

I am happy to have a chance to clear your misconception.

Some of the comments in this thread are very positive. I love Islam as a religion. And I love the people here. Just because I raise some point doesn’t change that.

May Allah bless you and bring you peace. I mean it.