Have any of you been taken for

Re: Have any of you been taken for

^ big nose ?

^ Hey. Are you being racist ?

And my nose is appropriate. Thank you very much. :snooty:

All the time and then I’m all DAMN you.. you beautiful Pakistani naak nakhsha.. always getting me in trouble!!!

Yeah it’s more like where is that exotic accent from?

LOL @ some of the comments.

Most non-desi people usually can’t tell the difference between Indian and Pakistanis. So I’ve been asked by those if I am Indian or Pakistani. But within desi community, they can almost always tell precisely where you’re from…including whether you are from Punjab side or Karachi born.

Kiyun ? Kiraanchi vaalay sookhay saRay hotay hain ? :hmmm:

Middle class people from Karachi speak Urdu without an accent. That’s the biggest giveaway. We speak softly compared to our brethren in Punjab. Our Urdu sounds like Urdu, not Punjabi. Of course there are people from Punjab who can drop the accent when in formal settings.

Urdu with Punjabi accent is the worst. :smack:

Sample please :chai:

It’s to do with accent and dressing style me thinks.

Main koi painDoo Punjaabi thoRa hi hoon. :snooty:

haw haye, so sorry to hear that. Punjabis are awesome! :coolios:

yes

and you iconoclast?

The accent is good for when you wanna kick back and have some fun. Even the lamest of jokes sounds funny when told in a Punjabi accent. And curses don’t sound that bad when uttered with a Punjabi accent.

That’s a myth.

Punjabis are perfectly capable of speaking neutralised and standard Urdu. Lahoris for one speak speak very neutralised Urdu, the educated class if we like. Likes of Ali Zafar, Wasim Akram, Imran Khan, Aisam Ul Haq perfectly demonstrate that fact, and all of them are also fluent Punjabi speakers.

All PMLM cabinet ministers - despite Punjabi being mother tongues and language of their offices - speak soft and accent less Urdu (barring Kawaja Asif). Now compare Nawas Sharif’s Urdu with Urdu of MQM’s Haider Rizvi or Farooq Sattar.

I did say there are Punjabis who can drop the accent. Never did I say they can’t speak it without an accent. That’d be like saying an immigrant can’t ever speak English with a near native accent.

However when kicking back even those Punjabis will speak with the Punjabi accent, unless they have serious self esteem issues and they try to hide the accent on purpose.

And Lahore doesn’t represent all of Punjab. Back in college I had a lot of Punjabi classmates and teachers. More than 50% of my class was comprised of Punjabis from Punjab(not ones raised Karachi). And most of them were pretty laid back and had great sense of humor. And the accent didn’t hurt one bit.

I don’t think anyone should drop the accent, no matter which on it is. It’s a futile and patronising expectation to have people speak ‘oh so accent-less’ Urdu or any language for that matter. It’s extremely discouraging. I’m sure you were neither implying that nor it was your intention, but the let thought be out there - such expectations and standards reeks of insecurity and often bigotry, and that’s a general point that goes both ways, in fact, all ways.

My post was in regards to your statement that “Karachi Urdu sounds like Urdu, not Punjabi”, as if all Punjabis speak Urjabi. Hence the example of Lahori Urdu, and I stand corrected that it’s a myth. Lahore is not whole Punjab, but certainly a very significant part of Punjab. Accents and dialects are part of identity, personality and culture, they must be embraced and celebrated.

ah yes, let’s commence the punjabi-bashing.

That is because Punjabis are far more good looking than Karachiites :clown:

Oh yeah! Gorgeousness, thy name is Punjabi :smokin:

Ab aise bhi bure haalat nahi karachi walon ke :snooty: