Are half the people you know applying to jobs in UAE, and reading Khaleej Times everyday? I think it is just starting in my family.
Re: Has Dubai/Mideast fever gripped your family or desi social circle yet?
naah - I've been through that phase and sort of realized the exaggerated hype around it. To overcome the inflated expectations, one needs to visit the place for a couple of weeks and talk to a bunch of ppl working/living there and esp. those who've had the experience to live and work in Dubai as well as another country in the West.
I thought about it 2-3 years ago, sent my resumes to a couple of places - am over it now.
I would still like to go on some project for a few months though.
The only incentive I am always attracted to is a 1 hour 15 minutes flight to Karachi :D
That was one of the reasons behind my interest in dubai.
hmmm.. so you wanted to fly to karachi :P
TDW, I know our family friend who booked two condos in 2004 and has opened his Cisco partner business in Dubai and doing well. He keeps flying b/w Dubai and Toronto every two months, looking after both businesses.
My nephew has also opened his office in last 18 months in Dubai and doing fine with his machine import business. He owns a penthouse in the newly developed high rise condo jungle near downtown.
The above two are businessmen examples.
Now come to the real world for employees. My cousin flew a couple of months back to Dubai and stayed for a while, applied for jobs, got good response. But as per him, it is not a wise idea to move from North Amercia to Dubai for the money they are offering. Five years ago the same money was enough to feed a family, now your life partner also need to go to work to 'survive' in the most expensive city of middle east. A $70K is not enough for a family to live a decent life. This should give you some idea of the living cost there these days.
Lahore isn’t that far, you know ![]()
:) living k liyey..saudi is a pretty nice place....
maybe not as much income as in the west...magar its a pretty decent place to live in:) suchi main..:)
^ yeah, and you save alot as compare to Dubai.
saving in KSA is a lot easier as compared to other countries of the world…there r no taxes here:balley:
nah, it seemed appealing for a lil bit, and is a potential option but not for now.
Not for americans. as an american resident or citizen, u have to pay taxes no matter where you work.
good to know, sara_87 that you are happy there.
about the social situation of women not being able to drive or always have a mehrem with them? and more importantly, no schcooling beyond high school for everyone?
you think that is fine?
would you like to share your thoughts on this?
best,
Dushwari
quote=sara_87;5543713]:) living k liyey..saudi is a pretty nice place....
maybe not as much income as in the west...magar its a pretty decent place to live in:) suchi main..:)
no schooling beyond highschool? where di du get that from?
I'd like to go visit the place - but then I want to visit Africa too.
Not for americans. as an american resident or citizen, u have to pay taxes no matter where you work.
u serious...did u actually find this info.......or is it just hearsay? cause as far as i know..there r no taxes here.....khair...will ask someone abt it...
good to know, sara_87 that you are happy there.
about the social situation of women not being able to drive or always have a mehrem with them? and more importantly, no schcooling beyond high school for everyone?
you think that is fine?
would you like to share your thoughts on this?
best,
Dushwari
...i love this place..am happy here...
social situation ain't as bad as it is portrayed in the media....it depends on every individuals family.....
n as far as schooling is concerned.....i am in college.....yes i agreee.....for foreiners not proper universities like UK..n US...or dubai..bahrain etc....but u do manage.....
we do hv 2-3 universities where foreingers r allowed....n they r waaayyyy too expensive...
n as far as driving is concerned..who cares as long as i get to the place where i want to....
n i do drive kabhi kabhi 4 fun.....in the desert or @ the beach...
is tht all u wanted to know.....????
AAJ K; UAE, BAHRAIN, QATAR, OMAN, SAUDI ARABIA...mein woh baat nahin jo....sunn unees sau pichhattar se unees sau navvay tukk theeh ! :)
This is a looooooong tale...hence I'll come back with the comparison and curent (horrendous) scenario in the GULF...in my next submission on this thread.................................................................................continued........
**AAJ K; UAE, BAHRAIN, QATAR, OMAN, SAUDI ARABIA...mein woh baat nahin jo....sunn unees sau pichhattar se unees sau navvay tukk theeh ! **
main tub bhi yaheen thee..:)
n ofcourse woh baat nahi rahi....kaheen ke bhi baat woh nahi rehtee....:)
I LUV D U B A I
thanx:chai: