haram actions and intentions

Okay I know intentions count for a LOT in our faith, that evne if u don’t do something right, at least if you had the right intention, then u wont’ be punished for it. At least that’s what I’ve been told, if i’m wrong someone corrct me plz, coz this is the entire basis of my question…

Now I’ve been thinking lately…
what if you want to do something haram? Like date someone, or not obey your parents, but you still abstain from those things somehow. Is it still haram to want to do those thing? er does htis make any sense?

Re: haram actions and intentions

it does, and it isnt gunah to want to do bad things, while its sawab to want to do good things. i cant give u any basis for this except class 5 Islamiat tho :)

Sara its like if u deliberately bring that thought into ur head and think of a scenario jaan bojh k where u r dating and then u derive some kinda pleasure from it then thats gunah coz u r deliberately thinking abt those things...nomsayin na?

lekin if the thought jus comes to ur mind without any doing of urs, then its not a gunah :) but ur action then shud be to try to divert ur mind or kill that thought rather than trying to grow it in ur mind...

are u sure its gunah irem bibi? mein nay buhat achay rattay maray thay class 5 mein :o . i dont think u recieve gunah until u actually commit it.. no matter how long u plot.

when it comes to sin, it's the actions which are to be taken in consideration not just thought of doing such things. However, when it comes to do good deeds, we get reward of just thinking and making intentions of doing them and it adds up if the action is actually performed.

thinking something deliberately, like imagining in ur head a real scenario deliberately is a conscious act rav so obviously its gona constitute gunah

i dont wana go into details but u can derive pleasure by imagining haraam scenarios and obviously thats gunah

actually scholars of Ahl-e-Sunanh wal Jam’at will disagree with this statement as far as I know. Wallah-O-Alam!

sigh

so it's haram to think about dating, and it's not haram to want to.....

er okay, more replies, im less confused now..thanks

and the main reason is for what I know is this:

All the bad things are suggested by shaitaan. So if a bad thing comes in mind, know that shaitaan is trying to deviate you. If you listen to him and perform the thing he wants you to, you are a sinner and if you restrain yourself from doing it then it is called CONTROL and constitutes as Sawab.

irem, i think anwaar and me both have the same reference in mind. i think Islam gives a certain amount of flexibility owing to human nature to be tempted. behr haal, im not an expert, nor can i back things up with references.

sara.. i dont think its haram to want either.

AQ janab u r not getting my point :p

there is a difference b/w these two scenarios:

1. u r jus sitting on ur chair and a thought comes to ur mind. a bad thought. u wont get gunah for this.

but NOW

what do u do?

a. do u kill that bad thought?

OR

b. do u allow urself to consciously build on that thought, and maybe u r also deriving some haram pleasure from that thought? thats a gunah. coz even if its jus in ur mind, u r still deliberately thinking abt it. nomsaying?

soche lo.. koi basis ho to fatwa do bibi, aise hi na falsafa maro :p

err.. deriving some haram pleasure :-/

A Q ummm yeah :S

i dont want to elaborate but yeah its very much possible to imagine haram scenarios in ur head and derive haram pleasure lol

aQalmand k lyay ishara kaafi hota hae :D Sara asked a question and i wanted to give the correct answer according to my knowledge :)

rav i happenned to read a long article on this. unfortunately dont have any links to it now but it makes perfect sense if u think about it.

Ok.

bibi aapki baat ka asan jawab hei meray pas (its possible to derive haram pleasure from thoughts about halal actions/plans too) lekin mein neeend mein hun aur socha hua hei ek din mein irem bibi say 10 bar say ziada nahi larna :o

KH :)

hahaha… ravage :hehe: OK! I aint sayin anything:p

rav nai wait dont go to sleep :bummer: that would mean i would have to do my work :crying:

j/k

Allah Hafiz :smiley:

AQ HAANJI :stuck_out_tongue:

ravage it's only 12 pm where u are why goin to sleep so early??

im nocturnal sadly..

irem.. kam karo kam!

AQ.. :clown: