haram actions and intentions

Re: haram actions and intentions

:hehe: :rotfl: @ the innocence of Sara’s question and rav’s reply :smiley: :hehe:
i can totally relate :smack: sigh

i used to be nocturnal...that's when I had some1 to talk to til 3, 4 AM ...
not no mo :(

wats wrong wit my question? which question...why hes sleepin at 12 noon, or my first post??

nai nai saaro jaanu i jus thought the way u had asked why r u sleeping so early at 12pm was kinda cute :)
aur ye raat tak tum kis se baatein kerti theen? :D

tha koi, abh i cant tell u who :bummer: …i still dont get why my question was so cute..:stuck_out_tongue:

acha theek hay it was NOT cute khush :stuck_out_tongue:

khair i think i know who it was jo tum ne mention kya tha who u used to talk to COZ i have some idea from ur posts :smiley: i think :halo:
but i could be wrong :fraudia:

accha u do? who who who???
im dying for some gossip!!

chalo ABH ghayb hogee :rolleyes:

Sahih al Bukhari
9.592:
Narrated Abu Huraira:
Allah’s Apostle said, "Allah says, ‘If My slave intends to do a bad deed then (O Angels) do not write it unless he does it; if he does it, then write it as it is, but if he refrains from doing it for My Sake, then write it as a good deed. If he intends to go a good deed, but does not do it, then write a good deed (in his account), and if he does it, then write it for him as ten good deeds up to seven-hundred times.’ "

for an explanation of this, see http://fortyhadith.iiu.edu.my/hadith37.htm

^ thats pretty self explanatory

Sister Irem :salam:

I agree with you completely. Others are not wrong either but to me your stance is the preferred one.

As hadith quoted by brother Gupguppy states that we will held accountable for our actions and not intentions. This does not give us any licence to entertain voluptuous thoughts in our minds. Such actions though seem harmless do have a definite effect on the personality of the individual.

It is great mercy from Allah (swt) that we are not punished for our ‘bad’ thoughts but we must keep in mind that it is Shaytaan the cursed who is encouraging these thoughts in our minds adding more ‘colour and flavour’ into them to enhance the pleasure derived.

We are rewarded for our good thoughts and intentions; wasting time in bad thoughts divests us from earning the rewards.

Imam as-Shafi`i (rahimullah) said: ‘If you don’t occupy yourself with good deeds and good thoughts, the Shaytaan will make you occupied with bad deeds and bad thoughts.’

A beautiful advise given by Imam Ibn al-Qayyim Al-Jawziyya (rahimullah):

Ward off passing thoughts, for if you do not, they will become ideas. Ward off ideas, for if you do not, they will become desires. Fight them, for if you do not, they will become resolve and determination, and if you do not ward them off, they will become actions. If you do not resist them with their opposite, they will become habits and it will be difficult for you to get rid of them.” (Al-Fawaa’id by Ibn al-Qayyim, p.33)

It is true that we will be held accountable for our beliefs and deeds and not for our thoughts. It is advisable not to entertain such thoughts as it is a clear invitation for the Shaytaan into our mind. Once invited in, shaytaan will try to control our thought process.

Hadith narrated by Abu Tha`labah Al-Khushni (ra) who said: “I once said to Allah’s Messenger, ‘O Allah’s Messenger! Tell me what is lawful and what is prohibited for me.’ The Prophet replied, ‘Virtue is what eases the soul and reassures the heart, and vice is that which does not ease the soul nor does it reassure the heart, even if your are given fatwas by muftis (indicating otherwise).’” Reported by Ahmad 4/194

If our thoughts do not ‘ease the soul or reassure the heart’ we should not let them ‘entertain’ us.

No its not. Sara516, Allah has said on many occasions that HE is Rahman and Raheem. If you are having bad (subjective to your local fatwa issuer) thoughts and dont act on it, its not haram. Its only natural for you to be attracted to a man, boy in your case :). You have feelings too, Allah is not against feelings.

^ The dating thing was just an example :p My question was a general one.

Thanks every1 for the replies :)

An Nawawi's collection of 40 hadith is such an awesome source of wisdom on so many Islamic principles.

On the authority of Ibn Abbas that the messenger of Allah, among the sayings he relates from his Lord is :

"Allah has written down the good deeds and the bad ones." Then he explained it [by saying that] :" He who has intended a good deed and has not done it, Allah writes it down with Himself as a full good deed, but if he has intended it and has done it, Allah writes it down with Himself as from ten good deeds to seven hundred times, or many times over. But if he has intended a bad deed and has not done it, Allah writes it down with Himself as a full good deed, but if he has intended it and has done it, Allah writes it down as one bad deed."

related by Bukhari and Muslim in their two salihs

It is true that we will not held accountable for our thoughts. But it doesn’t mean that we have licence to have mental ‘pleasure trips’ of what is ‘forbidden’/undesirable.