Haq Meher

I was wondering what is the value of sharayi ( Islamic) Haq meher in pakistni rupees. I Know usually these days normal haq meher is like about one lakh. My family want to have sharayi value for my haq meher and I have no idea how much is it these days???

Also I heard there are more than one version of Nikkah Nama’s in Pakistan. I heard some of the nikah nama’s that maulwi’s have dont even have the columns for girl’s rights. There is only one standard version of nikkah nama approved by the court But you cant tell if the one malwi has is standard one or not. Even if there are all the columns of the girl’s rights, they are simply been crossed. Its girl’s Islamic right ti get those filled. I am all confused about how my nikah nama is gona be filled out. anyone over here has any opinion to share?

Re: Haq Meher & Nikkah Nama

cherrybell..your dad and his dad should be deciding this...dont worry about it :)
there is no fixed amount...and i know they are supposed to give you half of it...right after the nikah...i think..thats what happened at my nikah 2 yrs ago.

the topic of haq mehar can be complexed and with different perspectives........what ever is islamic.....in reality should be followed......i know that doesnt give u an answer, but i know families who have asked for an 'x' amount of haq mehar, the rishtas have been broken or caused tensions because both families cant agree.....lol.......our ppl are weird...............

yeah..my dad didnt want it to be an issue..since hubby's dad is my dad's bf....so he is like Rs100 is fine...:)
i think they decided on Rs10,000 though..lol...seriously..its NOT an issue...even a Dollar will do!!

although i am not nikkahfied :D but i know about the girls right. its the right of divorce which islam gave to the girl but according to paki law its not allowed. the column is their in nikkah nama but they cut that part.

for haq mehr it depends on both parties. it is also not necessary to give half amount the same time. it depends on the families how they want it to be. i saw on my cousins nikkah they said

" beti "xxx" wald "xxx" ap ka nikkah "xxx" wald "xxx" say hona qarar paya hai, haq mehr ____ siqa raijulwaqt jo k zewarat ki soorat main ada ker diya gaya hai kia ap ko qabool hai"

this shows that the jewelery the boys side bring is her haq mehr. aik teer say do shikar ;)

thanks for sharing your opinion everyone.

Chanda_kh. Mine and my fiance's dad, both are not alive. His mom and my uncles are dealing with everything like that. My family was talking about to have the sharayi (islamic) haq meher. I wanted to know the Sharayi value because I wanted to be aware of what is going on with me when I am getting nikahfied. While signing my nikkah nama, i think its my right to be aware of things. Also I havent met the guy yet since he is in Pakistan. Its totally an arranged marraige. I just have anxiety I guess. So I wanted to be sure that I get all my Islamic right and should be aware of Haq Meher.

How much haq mehar will be offered, it is decided by the groom only. Not the groom's father, mother, uncle, sister nor girl's family. But not too many desis follow that.

When I got married, during my nikah, the imam asked me how much I wanted to offer. I had no idea. I said how much should I? He said that's up to you to decide, it can be $1 or it can be $100K. I looked at my dad and he started to speak but the imam cut him off and said that's up to the groom and no one can suggest how much should be offered. So I asked him to put down TWICE the amount of the sharaa'ee amount.

amount depends uopn ur deceision.. .. but i know one thing ,there is no riwaj to pay ...

which is not islamic....it must give to her.....either it is 1$ or 100000 $

yes, right

well whether u gt 1pound or 100000000pounds...ur nt likely to get it anyways....most women even dont ask for it..
my haq meher was 10000pounds aur mene usi waqt maaf kardia tha..eventhough he was ready to pay me....
so haq meher doesnt really matter..

yes there might be different type of nikka namas...but every nikka nama should include a column for haq meher...or girls right....

I did not forgive mine even though I set it to an averagely low amount because in Islam, it's for a woman's security and her right to get haq e mahr. I think it's foolish of women to 'maaf' it because Allah swt has made it a part of a wedding so a woman can support herself for atleast some time incase anything happens, God forbid. My husband and I were only ones who sat down and decided on an amount, noone else was involved, not even our parents, we just told our wali and witness, etc later at the time of Nikkah. My husband asked me how much I wanted, and considering how much gold, etc I was going to get, I set it quite low because the purpose of haq e mahr is not to loot your husband :D Anyway so keeping in mind how much all the sets, etc were worth, I told him the amount I wanted, he thought it was a bit low so he raised it a bit and then we agreed on it. I didn't tell my husband to give me anything right away but whenever he is financially able to pay. I wanted it to be only incase of seperation but he said that according to the laws here, I would be able to claim 50 percent of whatever he has anyway.

Whoever your imam is, make sure you wali (father, or whoever) talks to them and makes sure all your haq e mahr and other info is listed on the nikkah nama.

Haq Mehr is a Pre-Nuptial Agreement......it is a Gift incumbant upon the Groom..........half the sum is due at the time of Rukhsati.....this half the bride may waive.."The second half is due in case of divorce"

Yes the Groom determines....with Bride's concent........this as an appreciation of his bride to be.....

my hubby wrote me a cheque for my entire haq mehr right after the wedding reception when we were alone.

For some reason I read this wrong as usually bf means boyfriend, but I suspect you were meaning best friend in this case. Whoops!

yeah^^ LOL
they are best friends!! BFF :)

:CareBear:

so if groom gets to decide, in general guy's side gets to decide. (assuming not everyone's gonna get the imam who wont let anyone else decide but groom). You said u decided twice the sharaa ee amount. right? Do you mind sharing what was the actualt sharaa'ee amount.

There is a Mu'ajjal part and there is a Mu'wajjal part.

First one needs to be paid ASAP, but bride can forgive that part

Second one needs to paid in case of Divorce and islamically, that is dulhan's right and husband is a sinner if he does not pay that.

There is no such thing as Shara'i Meher. The amount should be in line with bride's current life style (pre-marriage life style) and Grooms abilty to pay it, in case.

I didnt know that before