^I noticed that on the other nikahnama you posted as well. Now both R and I are confused. He's saying you'll get half of whatever I have by default anyway if we are seperated. Do you think we need to make changes to the nikahnama? It seems like the Imam left the second part blank.
Half of what he has by default is the American Law, not Islamic law. And you will get half of what he will have at the time if god forbid, separation happens. That means that if he would have nothing, you will get nothing. Meher-e-Mu'wajjal is a set amount that he is obligated to pay, no matter what his financial situation might be. Its a safe and secure net for the girl. You guys should add it in
both types are there but my understanding is that it can be all prompt, all deferred, or a combination of both.
so for mine, i had Mu'ajjal- none, (none was prompt)
Mu'wajjal - all (and then the amount given in the previous question)
That makes sense then, Stopit. You have forgiven the prompt amount so only Mu'wajjal is due if god forbis any thing happens.
^dat's what i'm saying.
i don't think it's a matter of forgiving anything. the amount of total mehr in the previous question is being paid fully, just not promptly, so no part of it is forgiven.. i just did not want any given at the nikah as my hubby is still studying.
no one mentioned anything about mu'wajjal being owed in the case of divorce. they told us that is up to me to decide when i want my hubby to pay it and that i should let him know as soon as possible.
Mu'ajjal can be forgiven and can be delayed (as you are doing it). Mu'wajjal has its own fixed time and is only due when divorce happens otherwise its not due. You cannot demand Mu'wajjal whenever you want to, its condition specific. But Mu'wajjal is oblogatory and needs to be determined ahead of time. At least this is my understanding.
what i know is about meher is that there is 2 types of meher
one is muwajal
2nd ghair muwajal
u can have both of them or just muwajal at teh tiem of nikkah
muwajal u ve to pay b4 u touch yr bride.....then she become halal to u after payaing this and if u toch her without paying its asin .u can ask her to forgive yr meher u cnat pay or naything but if she didnt maaf u and u touch her..its become sin..
ghair muwajal u can give her at any time after marrige...u can alos ask her to maaf this aswell but if she didnt maaf u and u didnt pay rest of yr life and u died b4 payaing u will b gunnahgaar..
thats wat i know..my khalu was telling some one and i heard aswell hehe
and b4 nikkah u can fix a meher
i saw in my family some just fix muwajal
some fix both
and some fix meher with jewellry brides gets in bari the sets and bangles etc
its not necesarry that mehr shud b money
even my couisn mother in law ask a plot for his daughter as meher and my aunty gave her
u can fix naything in nikkah nama...any special clause u may wana add in nikkah nama u can add as well
and whta i heard that when u take dirvorce(khulla) from ur hubby urself u wil be derprived from yr meher.
and if your husband is giving u divorce then he has pay u yr meher and the jewellry,gifts cloths u got in burry is all yours u will not b deprived from these things. they cant take u from u if he is giving u infact if he didnt give u ur meher then he has to pay u if he giving u divorce!
and both mehrs are fix at the tiem of nikkah..as i mentinoed above it can b naything ...jew,money,plot,house,car,flat....
join in! this got me so worried, i called my husband soooo many times that poor guy had to leave his patient in the middle of an exam to call me back because he thought it was an emergency. he was like ‘im doing a psych evaluation for a guy in there who admitted himself in the hospital because he’s scared of talking to women and you want to discuss mehr e muwajal after 10 months of nikkah right NOW? you guys are gonna drive ME crazy.’ haha, let’s just say now he hates gs even more.
nikkah nama is a very important document i m not sure u can made changes in it after nikkah but if u getting nikahofied in future plz carefully read it ....
u can ask for nay special clause or u can demand anything as well
read clause no 17 and 20
brides to b pay some attention to your nikka nama aswell
dont just pay attention to yr cloths, salon and jew only
I recently got married masha allah. My haq mehar was SHARAI and it was suggested my the Maulvi sahib as atleast Rs 10,000/= so my haq mehar was kept at Rs10,000/=. He said there is to sense in 32 Rs haq mehar it is old and in current era it should be atleast 10k.
The portion which is payable immediately, is called the** Mehr-e-Mu'ajjal**. Word Mu'ajjal comes from Ujlat (with Aain) and means hasten or immediately. This is the portion that bride can forgive if she wants to but the portion is due on the first night
The other portion is called Mehr-e-Mu'wajjal. Word Mu'wajjal (with "Wow") comes from the word "Ajal" (with Alif) which means end. So this portion is due at the end of the contract (marriage) and cannot be forgiven.
i think this is just a pakistani thing. islamically there is only one mahr, not two. the bride can ask for what she wants, it shouldnt even be decided by her parents, because it is for her not them, so it is her right to ask and the groom can entertain her request and negociate if need be. but she should take the groom's situation into account and not put a burden on him. there is a hadith that says the marriage that has the least cost has the most barakah, because it shouldnt be a hardship for them and make it difficult for them to get married [like if groom has to save for many years to afford the mahr]. for some $100 is not easy for them and for others $100,000 is very easy for them, so it always varies from individual to individual. some people ask for huge amounts thinking it is meant to be a security blanket in case of divorce, this is not the correct way. the mahr should be paid whenever the bride asks after marriage, if she asks for it right after consumation it must be paid then. if it isnt paid by the time of divorce, it is due then. if it isnt paid by time of death of husband, then it is paid in full to her from his wealth before the rest of the inheritance is divided. if the marriage ends before consumation, then it is paid half. the wife has the right to forgive it if she wishes, but it is her right to have it and use as she wishes, and she shouldnt be shy to ask for it and none can force her to give it up. some people set huge mahrs and then the girl never gets a penny from it. better to set something reasonable that is actually given to her
What if the husband/wife agree on an amount, and then on the wedding day, husband decides another amount without his wife's consent or knowledge? I think it's really important for parents from both sides to discuss this in advance so that nobody (usually the girl) gets screwed over.
Now see! i didnt get an option of even asking for the mehar of my own choice when i got married! it was all down to the parents of the couple. Me being the daughter had to stay quiet ... shy .... as people/society expect them to be....whhhyy??? so unfair! it's not about being greedy.. it's about the rights of any girl getting married! kya khayal hai??