Watcher, although there is no where written that celebrating birthdays is allowed I do not think there is any where there is written that it is not allowed. Your point is that it is something that was not practiced by the prophet however my friend there are many things which were brought in by the so called khaliphs of Islam which Muslims of today practice, a point illustrated by history when Umar appointed the council to decide on the khilaphat after him and it was offered to Imam Ali (AS)with the condition that he govern by the book of Allah the sunnah of the prophet and the sunnah of the first two khaliphs. The imam refused saying he would govern only by book of Allah and sunnah of the prophet. Osman accepted the first condition. So before you go accusing us of innovation look around you. For a fuller discussin please read Dr Tijani’s book ‘Then I was Guided’. You can find a copy at www.al-islam.org. Also Dr Tijani will be speaking at islamic centre, maida Vale, London this weekend Saturday and Sunday if you wish to come along. There will be both shia and sunni scholars there. You have been shown if only you wish to see. You have been warned if you care to take advantage of advice. You have been told if you care to lend you ears to good council.
On the occassion of the birth of maula-e-kayanat here are some useful words of the imam for people of this forum:
Somebody requested Imam Ali to advise him how to lead a useful and sober life. Imam Ali thereupon advised him thus: "Do not be among those people who want to gain good returns without working hard for them, who have long hopes and keep on postponing repentance and penance, who talk like pious persons but run after vicious pleasures. Do not be among those who are not satisfied if they get more in life and are not content if their lot in life’s pleasures is less (they are never satisfied), who never thank Allah for what they get and keep on constantly demanding increase in what is left with them; who advise others to such good deeds that they themselves refrain from; who appreciate good people but do not follow their ways of life; who hate bad and vicious people but follow their ways of life; who, on account of their excessive sins hate death but do not give up the sinful ways of life; who, if fallen ill, repent their ways of life and on regaining their health fearlessly readopt the same frivolous ways; who get despondent and lose all hopes, but on gaining health, become arrogant and careless; who, if faced with misfor- tunes, dangers or afflictions, turn to Allah and keep on beseeching Him for relief and when relieved or favoured with comfort and ease they are deceived by the comfortable conditions they found themselves in and forget Allah and forsake prayers; whose minds are allured by day dreams and forlorn hopes and who abhor to face realities of life; who fear for others the enormous repercussions of vices and sins but for their own deeds expect very high rewards or very light disciplinary actions. Riches make such people arrogant, rebellious and wicked, and poverty makes them despondent and lethargic. If they have to work, they work lazily and if they put up a demand they do it stubbornly.
Under the influence of inordinate cravings, they commit sins in quick succession and keep on postponing repentance. Calamities and adversities make them give up the distinguished characteristics of Muslims (patience, hope in future and work for improvement of circumstances). They advise people with narration’s of events and facts but do not take any lesson from them. They are good at preachings but bad at practice, therefore they always talk of lofty deeds but their actions belie their words. They are keen to acquire temporal pleasures but are careless and slow to achieve permanent (Divine) benefits. They think good for themselves the things which are actually injurious to them and regard harmful the things which really benefit them. They are afraid of death but waste their time and do not resort to good deeds before death overtakes them. The vices which they regard as enormous sins for others, they consider as minor shortcomings for themselves. Similarly, they attach great importance to their obedience to the orders of Allah and belittle similar actions in others. Therefore, they often criticize others and speak very highly of their own deeds. They are happy to spend their time in society of rich persons, wasting it in luxuries and vices but are averse to employing for useful purposes in company of the poor and pious people: They are quick and free to pass verdicts against others but they never pass a verdict against their own vicious deeds. They force others to obey them but they never obey Allah. They collect their dues carefully but never pay the dues they owe. They are not afraid of Allah but fear powerful men".
Shair this is what I was asking, an explaination from your side, on why do you do it. Some proof from YOUR boooks that it should be done. dont worry about me being suni or what ever.
This was not that hard, but you really…
Originally posted by The Watcher:
**Shia writers - write books with shia thoughs.
Sunni writers - write book with sunni thougts.
There are many books which are sunni-shi'a discussion. I believe these have been discussed before. For those interested read peshawar Nights and The Right Path both being comunications between shia and sunni ulema.
Lamba bhai,
aapka buhut shukriya. Yaar, dont waste your time with watcher, he will never get your point because he is just a kid. Unkee yeh aadat hey key wo akaree lafz apna chahtey hein, unko khush rehney do. Koee khush ho raha hay to honey do. Though I've come across some really sensible and decent people by virtue of this forum, they include fraudia, pristine and degas. They never talk in abusive tone.
Watcher,
you are on my ignore list now. Say whatever you want to say, though I believe in forgiving others, therefore I will keep on forgiving you, our lesson from karbala is to create harmony and love and forgive younger kids. Now go ahaead and chill.
Is there anybody spared by you at all. It appears to me that you just hate everybody doing anything. Now you are unhappy because followers of Hazrat Ali are greeting each other on the great man's birthday.
Where does it say in the quran that you can celebrate birthdays, is your arguement.
Well in those days people only had camels and horses for transportation. Where does it say in the quran that you can get on an aeroplane to go to USA?
Not only that you hate non muslims, its coming very clear to me that you hate shia muslims as well. May Allah help you to get rid of that poison inside you.
shukriya, aap ko bhee 13th rajab wiladat hazrat ail (a.s) mubarak ho. Imam Ali was born in the Sacred House (i.e. the Kaba) in Mecca on Friday, the thirteenth day of the month of Rajab, thirty years after the Year of the Elephant (c.570). Nobody before or after him has ever been born in the House of God, the Most High. (It was a mark) of him being honoured by Allah.
After his birth, its been narrated that Hazrat Ali (a.s) did not open his eyes for a while and his parents Hazrat Abu Talib and mother were both worried, but when Prophet Mohammed (s.a.w.w) came inside kaaba to congradulate Imam Ali’s birth and when Prophet (s.a.w.w) took the new born baby (Imam Ali) in his lap, only then the baby opened his eyes and saw Prophet(s.a.w.w)'s face and smiled.
Then Imam Ali (a.s) recited surah-e-mominoon right after opening his eyes (one of many miracles of Imam Ali a.s), narrated abu huraira.
There is no place where it says that celebrating birthdays is not allowed. It does say that you should not follow other people's festivities... thus unfortunately i cannot wish Merry Christmas/ happy Hannukah .. as in Islam it is tantamount to accepting those religions and festivities to be true and from God..
But celebrating birthdays.. I don't seem to remember any faith having a sole claim that it was their festival.. as it is a personal thing..
in addition.. in Islam festivities have to be in moderation.. as do all other things.. so you may celebrate birthdays.. wish happy birthdays etc.. but not arrange a laser light show type thing.. (well it seems excessive now but may be considered moderate thing to do in fufture.. who knows)
Hope this would lay to rest a lot of bickering..
have a happy time..
Live long and prosper..
and party on dudes..
fraudia bhai(kamran?kami?), maula ali ka jashn-e-wiladat aap ko bhi mubarak ho.
I really like the part of your thread that says "sab=all humans". Thats exactly what our approach should be. What I really wanna accomplish is to have discussions and books related to Islam, prophet (s.a.w.w) and Imam Ali (a.s) in Yale, UCLA, Oxford, and so forth. These personalities were and are NOT limited to a single sect or room or gathering. Theye are aalamgir (universal) personalities, so we should familiarize others with them and importantly their "character's stregnth".
arz kiya hay,
nade ali ka wird mein karta chala gaya
har kaam zindagee ka sanwarta chala gaya
shair.
[This message has been edited by shair30 (edited October 12, 2000).]
here is another one:
waqte niza labon pey raha ya ali madad
phir qabr mein bhee keh kay utha ya ali madad
shaukat meree lahad mein wo manzar ajeeb tha
jab meney khud ali say kaha ya ali madad
shaukat raza shaukat.
p.s: waqte niza means "the time when soul is leaving body OR death time"
chup thay sarkar-e-risalt humnawa koee na tha
kis say kehtay dard-e-dil dard-aashnaa koee na tha
aai abu talib kay baytay zinda-o-paindabad
to na hota to gawah-e-mustafa koee na tha
kiyun chlay aatay hain saail aik faka kash kay ghar
kiya madinay bhar mai darwaza khula koeen na tha
aai riwayat kay aseeron lo zara is kee khabar
sab gani thay naam kay hajat rawa koee na tha
There are lots of issues being discussed here, mostly inter-mixed. Celebrating birthdays is being discussed in another thread, so I will leave it at that.
Quran & Sunnah: One thing we should keep in mind is that Quran and Sunnah are the supreme sources of law in Islam. For matters which are not mentioned there, especially those which have evolved in modern times (e.g. traveling by aeroplane, watching TV, using internet etc), the religious scholars with knoweldge of Quran and Sunnah, provide guidance to the muslims as to what is permissible and what is prohibited. In all such cases, the opinion must not contradict any provision in Quran and Sunnah, but rather be derived from these two.
Difference of Opinion: As with all opinions rendered, there can be differences of opinion amongst muslim scholars. Where an opinion is based on a scaholar's interpretation, and not a direct order in Quran and Sunnah, even if you believe that the opinion is right, it is extremely dangerous to assume that all other opinions are wrong.
On this 13th Rajab, I will like to congratulate all MUSLIMS of the world. This special day belongs to ALL MUSLIMS and not just to shias. The life of Hazrat Ali (RA) should be a guidance to all muslims, and not just to shias.
This is an occassion for all of us to read the teachings of Hazrat Ali (RA) and reflect on how we are carrying on with our lives. Similarly 12th Rabi-al-Awal should be an occassion to remind us and to make us reflect as to how are we living our lives, and is it according to the teachings of Islam, as taught to us by our Prophet (PBUH).
If these special days are spent productively, they will be a source of great insipiration for all of us. Merely congratulating each other and distributing food items in the neighbourhood makes such occassions a "tamasha" and must be criticized.