Hamilton urges U.S. to rout al Qaeda from Pakistan

The message is getting louder that the US should hit targets in Pakistan more openly; something which currently happens in a discrete manner.

I am sure the ones that would like to see the tribal areas reduced to dust would staunchly support US actions inside Pakistan with full fury..it’s showtime..

http://edition.cnn.com/2007/POLITICS/07/18/alqaeda.pakistan/index.html

U.S. forces should go into Pakistan to rout al Qaeda from the safe haven it has found in the mountains on the border with Afghanistan, a co-chairman of the Iraq Study Group said.

Pakistani army soldiers patrol in the tribal area of North Waziristan along the Afghan border Wednesday.

Former Rep. Lee Hamilton, who also served as the vice chairman of the 9/11 commission, says the Iraq war distracted the United States when it had al Qaeda leader Osama bin Laden on the run in the tribal region between Afghanistan and Pakistan.

He says it’s now time to finish the job.

“This has to be carefully calibrated, worked out with the Pakistanis, but I am very concerned that you have a safe haven in Pakistan today where they (al Qaeda) can regroup, rethink, and get ready for more attacks,” Hamilton said on CNN’s “Newsroom” on Wednesday.

Declassified portions of the National Intelligence Estimate released Tuesday reported that al Qaeda has “protected or regenerated key elements” of its ability to attack the United States while in this region.

Some intelligence analysts believe bin Laden and his second in command, Ayman al-Zawahiri, are hiding in western Pakistan.

“If there’s anything we should have learned, it’s that we must not let al Qaeda have a sanctuary, which they certainly do in Pakistan today,” Hamilton said.

The United States has accused Pakistan of allowing al Qaeda and the Taliban to have free rein in the region after it pulled out some of its forces in a deal with pro-Taliban tribal chiefs last year.

Under that agreement, the tribal leaders agreed not to harbor any Taliban or al Qaeda terrorists.

Fran Townsend, President Bush’s homeland security adviser, said Wednesday “that agreement has failed.”

After last week’s deadly siege at the Red Mosque in Islamabad that pitted radical Islamists against Pakistan’s military government forces, Pakistani President Gen. Pervez Musharraf vowed to “fight against extremism and terrorism no matter what province.”

“We will finish it off in every corner of the country,” he said.

The United States will keep “working with our Pakistani allies to make sure the tribal area is denied to al Qaeda as a safe haven,” Townsend said on CNN’s “American Morning.”

Hamilton criticized the Pakistani president for keeping U.S. forces out of the region.

“I know Musharraf is described as a great ally of the United States, he’s been helpful in some ways, but the fact that he has kept us away from going after these sanctuaries I find unacceptable,” the former congressman from Indiana said.

"I think we have to find ways and means, perhaps it’s use of covert actions, perhaps it’s use of special operations, perhaps it’s the pursuit of the Taliban when they’re in Afghanistan, to let us go after them as they move back into Pakistan.

"Whatever it is, I do not find acceptable a sanctuary for al Qaeda in Pakistan. We have to be able to go after them

Re: Hamilton urges U.S. to rout al Qaeda from Pakistan

Musharraf: Yes sir, jaisay ap ka hukam. We will bomb as many Masjid, Madrassahs, houses.! Sir aur kuch hukam?

Yes all terroists based masjids and madarrsas deserve bombing.

US is fully justified in taking this position. After all, it’s the US’ equipment, and money, and still the inept Pakistani forces can’t get the job done. Let the “real soldiers” come and take care of busines..ya’ know what I’m sayin’… :soldier:

Well they are full of terrorists anyways....

And they are killing Pakistani Soldiers, so they deserve to get bombed...

USA by bombing this area will be doing Pakistan a big service

This means the US should also be given the free-hand to strike at will where-ever there's a target of opportunity. If this can happen in Somalia then why not in Pakistan. The way things are going in Pakistan, I don't see much difference btw the two countries in the very near future..should the mighty US also take out the nuclear weapons before they would fall in the wrong hands ? what' ya say..

And you sound like a Tribal Area Fanatic who just killed 1,000 of our brave soldiers....

These people are the enemy of Pakistan. If we can't effectively fight them because we lack the proper equipment then USA should bomb them.

Infact, when Jordan cracked down on the PLO in September 1970, they got aid from USA and Israel....

Same thing today in Lebanon, Lebanon is getting aid from USA to wipe out the Fatah Islam terrorists....

If USA is willing to help Pakistan get rid of this menace then I welcome the help

Whether you mr. khanbabax like it or not

The problem is that Pakistan lacks the firepower necessary to take out these areas.

I mean FATA is another country as far as I am concerned.

there is no governmnetal or federal presence. A Pakistani citizen cannot enter that area without tribal approval and these animals attack our troops.

So what is the point?

I don't consider these people pakistani and they don't consider themselves Pakistani

We got lumped together with these animals when Pakistan was created.

Here is a "what if" scenario for you.

You do believe that you are going to die..right?
So what if you die in Pakistan some how and then your mother needs someone to pray on your janazah..
what if she begs and searches for the same molvis that you are blanketly calling to be bombded to pray on your funeral but there are none left since they were all bombed to death and the ones left hate you because they know you were from the **other **side...

and then your dead body rots in the sun untill the crows eat it piece by piece.

Kind of creates a gory picture on your mind. Right?

That is what will happen to all those poor innocent molvis and students who have no part in terrorism and still get targetted blanketly.

I know you think I have it out for you. But really its the opposite.

Fear Allah and don't use blanket statements against many good ppl that you might need on a certain day yourself young man.
I know you love life too much.
Try thinking of your true life after death. Once that soul departs, its really going to be left to your deeds and the living to decide what happens to you.

So be more cautious. Try to get close to Allah. Stop calling other ppl you don't know as terrorists and stop calling for them to be bombed without proof.

Just declare FATA no longer part of Pakistan. Then khanbaba and his niswar can protect FATA from B-52s.

It would be a welcome move if:

1. no US ground troops were involved

2. Only mullah-fested pits were attacked in coordination with Pakistani forces.

Let me tell you something. You are only making a fool of yourself here. Yar come on, don't be scred, tell us who you are. What r u interested in Pakistan?

'Bombed', 'nuked', 'kill them', 'terrorists'

Why are so full of **** against Pakistanis?

Don't forget, we all have to die one day. Forget about Islam, forget about Pakistan. Just remember we are all humans, and there is a Judge who created us. We are all his creation. Don't talk the way you talk about His Creation. Fear Allah. and talk some sense.

All you atlk about is kill kill kill. Hitler kay bhai to nahi?.

Go take some fresh air. This way of talking has already made you a zehni mareez. Just take a brake and relax. Whenever anything is posted, i know what you will spew.

US has not been aggressive in going after al qaeda in Pakistan so as to not upset the fundamentalist/extremist crowd. Since now everybody is upset and things are progressing the way they are, I won't be surprised if we see more American activity in tribal areas.

Maybe this should have been done 6 years ago instead of all the wasted resources that went into Iraq. But maybe the regular folk in Pakistan would not have backed it at that point. Now perhaps they will.

I think it is the perfect time for US troops to be directly involved in Pakistan. I agree with what Seminole said, this should have happened 6 years ago itself (instead of the Iraq blunder). It should be a combined force made from USA UK and Pakistani troops. Finish these scums once and for all.

Vedic_Intellect, after the great success of the US army in Afghanistan and Iraq where elimination of Al Qaeda and Taliban was total, I think its only logical that they duplicate the same successes in Waziristan. All the while, the population of the area will line up both side of the roads with rose petals to welcome their new masters, while politicians/public will finally see the point in the war on terror. This should have been done not 6 years ago but in 1989.

Well, doubt this will happen...

Flame of life, they can easily make this into a successful operation if they go in with enough forces. The problem with Afghanistan was that they did not complete the job. In Iraq, they did not go in with enough force. Thats why I said if they cannot get enough Congressional support to get the required troops, they should collaborate with UK and Pakistani troops to invade this area properly and FINISH it off. Even after this operation, they would require to keep on funding the Pakistani government to keep control of the Jihadists inside of Pakistan.

Vedic_Intellect, is that how you fight an ideological war?

^^ Bro its not just an ideological war, people are dying everywhere.. I seriously do not think you can tame these retards by peaceful discussions.. you need to put your foot down and use violence..

Anyway, with the way things are going in US Politics, I don't think such an invasion is happening anytime soon. Until then, its up to our Pakistani forces to kill as many jihadists as they can.

The govt. should obviously punish those who take law into their hand. But advocating large scale bombings is just not sensible, IMO.