Does anyone know the authentic recipie of making halwa as sold at halwa poori shops in Pakistan. It is usually orange in color. I know it can be of many colors. What I am interested in is the texture and taste.
Muchas Gracias.
Does anyone know the authentic recipie of making halwa as sold at halwa poori shops in Pakistan. It is usually orange in color. I know it can be of many colors. What I am interested in is the texture and taste.
Muchas Gracias.
I can try to get it for you. The first and last time I made halwa was quite a disaster. I used corn flour instead of sooji. For a bit I thought the texture (of the corn flour) was a quite different(from sooji) but it was in the jar that mum had described to me so I used it anyway. Little did I know that on the upper shelf there was another jar exactly the same kind which contained sooji. Anyhow I kept adding oil to it and the oil kept disappearing, I think the corn flour was drinking it all up. So I finally gave up on the oil and added the milk. The whole thing turned into lumps of something that didn't look quite edible. So I sent my sister to get some ready made halwa. When mummy got back home later she said that people make halwa out of corn flour too. But it was too late then. I had thrown it all down the sink.
P.S. you can add a bit of orange food colour for the bazaar look.
FF ![]()
Get this. Last summer i was all ready to make home made samosas. So my mum tells me that maida is at so and so place in that jar. Ahem. So i like take the amount of maida and mix it and all, it looks a bit powdery but i’m thinking it’s just all in my head. So i even stuffed the masala in and dropped the samosas in the ghee and not much is happening
So my mum’s like this is really strange and she asked where i had gotten the maida from. It turns out i had used confectioners sugar instead of maida
I truly felt like an…well you know.
Awwe Femme, that was so cute. I hope you did that when you were 12.
I know food coloring may be added. It can yellow, orange, red , green, whatever but I am interested in taste and texture.
This is what I do...
Add oil and heat it up
Add sooji (straight from the bag)
Bhoonafy the sooji and oil
Separately boil a mixture of water, sugar and food coloring
Once the sooji is cooked, meaning, the oil separates I add the mixture to it. A loud hissing sounds takes place and everything settles down. I then cook till oil separates one more time.
The final product is very edible but it ain't like the halwaee wala halwa. It is a lot more thick. I know I can keep adding water but it never helps.
hahaha Sehar…thats funny.
FG Actually I did that about 2 months ago and I wasn’t 12 then
I think you are supposed to bhoonofy the sooji before adding anything to it. Try it and let me know if it works. If not i’ll think up of some other alternative.
wow a guy who knows how to make halwa and seekh kebab
BTW
are you married??
FF, take Reading 101. I said I bhooned the sooji before adding the mixture :o
Uman786, you have never seen a bachelor in the kitchen?
I think you should be taking reading 101 cos what I said was tht you should bhoon it before adding anything to it including the oil. Now even though that is the wrong procedure you are the one who read it wrong so DUH. I got the proper recipe from my mother bythe way. If you try to be nice I might even add it here.
FF, gimme halwa recipie and I will tell you how to make pooris :p
ya ya. Lo marro.
1/2 cup sooji
1/4 cup oil
1 cup sugar
2 cups water
Bhoonofy the sooji with the oil until your whole neighbourhood can smell the aroma. Add sugar and bhoon it for a couple of minutes. You don't want it turning dark so keep the fire low. Then add the water and dissolved food colouring and cook until you have the desired consistency. Normally you can take the pan off the stove as soon as the halwa starts bubbling and sorta slides in the pan.
FF< this is the most bizzare halwa recipie I have ever read. You are adding twice as much sugar as sooji. At the very most, it should be a 1:1 ratio.
I will give it a try this friday, nevertheless.
OK in exchange, i will tell u how i make pooris
Buy Vegi's frozen pooris and follow the directions on the packet.
Thanks,
ciao
oh never heard about it ....
iss halwaay ka koi naam bhi hoo gaa ???
Mehroo, iska naam hay halwaaee ka halwa...hota tau sooji ka hay, halwaaee kaa nahee laikin isko kehtay yehi hain. Usually subah naashtay may poori aur cholay k saath tanaavel furmaaya jaata hay.
Thanks but no thanks. I can make better pooris than that on my own. By the way I dont think 1/2 cup of sugar would be sufficient for 1/2 cup of sooji and 2 cups of water. Try it for yourself.
This is too much work. I am going to Devon for halwa poori. Screw this. Who wants to spend Sunday morning making halwa anyway. Jub biwi hogi tau I will ask her to do it. :D
I know I know
aab pata chaal gaya :D
in pak my father in law asked me to make that halwa for him lakiN mujay atta he nahi tha so i asked my pahpoi saas to make it ...lakiN i know its easy :p
funguy.....r u still interested in recipe or u r determined to ask ur biwi for that .....???
if you wanna know ....i can help u a bit !:)
Afia, are you offering help in making halwa or finding a biwi?. I am more interested in halwa.
*Originally posted by funguy: *
Awwe Femme, that was so cute. I hope you did that when you were 12.
I know food coloring may be added. It can yellow, orange, red , green, whatever but I am interested in taste and texture.
This is what I do...
Add oil and heat it up
Add sooji (straight from the bag)
Bhoonafy the sooji and oil
Separately boil a mixture of water, sugar and food coloring
Once the sooji is cooked, meaning, the oil separates I add the mixture to it. A loud hissing sounds takes place and everything settles down. I then cook till oil separates one more time.
The final product is very edible but it ain't like the halwaee wala halwa. It is a lot more thick. I know I can keep adding water but it never helps.
It tastes different because you don't add cardamon powder and milk...bohat say halwaee "ghee" bhi use karte hain instead of oil. You can substitute ghee with butter maybe...
When and how much milk should be added? This is the first time I heard about milk in halwa.