Any recipe for a good sooji halwa as sold at halwaaee shops in Pakistan. I need a simple one for poori and cholay.
Please help!
Any recipe for a good sooji halwa as sold at halwaaee shops in Pakistan. I need a simple one for poori and cholay.
Please help!
Re: Halwa for halwa poori
1 cup suji
2 cups Water
1 cup Sugar
1/4 cup ghee
dry fruits -cardamon,almonds cashewnuts, etc according to need.
Salt to taste
Instructions
Heat the ghee and roast the suji in the ghee till light brown and nice aroma on a very sim/low heat.
Put the water till it absorbs.
Now add the sugar and stir gently.
Add salt and the dry fruits and there you have the most favourite sweet dish.
ik site se chori kari ha..say thanks to me .
…
Salt in halwa???
What do you mean by "Put the water till it absorbs"
This recipe has too many ambiguities.
I need recipes from people who have already tried them.
funguy haha biwi ki muthi may? haha and you are making halwa poori for her?
I assume you mean the soft kind of halwa you get with your pooris in Pakistan. Here's what you'll need: ( I am giving you approxiamte quantities for two to three people):
Heat oil/ghee/butter, add about a cup of sooji to it, stir and "bhoono" the sooji on medium low heat till it becomes a goldenish color. You should be able to smell it "bhooning" by now. Don't let it get dark brown. Add about a half cup of sugar/Splenda to this and mix. Oops, I forgot... You're supposed to keep a cup or a cup and a half of water at a simmer in a separate pan while you're doing the rest of the things above. Anyway, now, while stirring the whole sweetened sooji deal continuously, add the simmering water in a steady stream taking your own sweet time doing it. Kinda like the thing they do with tea at roadside stalls in Pakistan, pouring it from glass to glass to raise a froth, but not that briskly. Anyway, turn the heat down now and let it cook for about ten minutes.
I like to add a little bit of yellow food color when I add water. You may want to add some raisins or almonds too.
I got this out of a cookbook a long time ago, juat cannot remember which one it was.
Hope this helps.
TezMirchi
I followed a recipe similar to yours last time but my halwa came out too thick.
Would adding the sugar to boiling water make any difference?
1 cup sooji
1 cup sugar
2 cups water
In about 1/2 cup cooking oil bhoonofy the sooji on medium-high heat, keep stirring continuously. When it turns slightly golden and u can smell the aroma then add the sugar and ground/sliced almond and pistachios and continue to bhoonofy till it turns a little darker. Add the two cups of water and keep stirring. Cook for about 2-3 minutes until u see the desired consistency of halwa. Put a few blobs of butter on top lower heat to simmer and cover. Leave it on simmer for about 5 more mins and turn it off.
oh i just realised that Peshow posted the same recipe :D
If u have alrady tried it and it turned out too thick ur probably cooking it for too long and at too high a temp. Cut down ur cooking time nad cook it on medium heat.
I think it's the cooking temperature ... I have it at too high. Will try soon InshaAllah. Thanks.
oh myyyyyyy.. i love poori wala halwa....my ammi si an expert........
recipe pooch ker yahaan type karo!
mujy kia pata fun bhai darling ..me ne to ik site se chori kari the
…
I also wanted a recipe for this kinda halwa.
Please let us know if you find the right recipe. Thanks.
Put some vanila essence in it and increase the quantity of ghee(desi) and cook at low heat ...
Although, it may not turn out to be the same as at halwa poori shop, becuase they add some other ingredients which are used in mithai prepration
I'm making this right now (FF's recipe). I've messed up halwas in the past (so badly that the pots had to be thrown away) so I hope this turns out good.
Halwa puri rocks!
I burned the sooji. What did I do wrong? I put the oil into the pot and let it heat up, then put in the sooji and turned it down to medium low heat. I bhooned it for pandra minute lekin us ki "khusboo" nahi arahi thi, so I increased the heat to medium high and kept stirring, lekin it still burned.
Should I keep it at medium heat throughout? How long should I be bhooning it for before I start smelling it? I'm going to try again right now, anyone/
lol. if u keep stirring it it'll never burn. If high burnt it keep it at medium, but not low and high enough for it to make the sooji turn golden brown. bhoonofy for about 3-4 mins i'ld say before u add the sugar and nuts and then another 3 mins or so before u add the water.
Thank you :p I was constantly stirring, I think the heat was a bit too high. But I now know the perfect way to test to see how well a deodarant works
I made it again, didn't burn it, but I can taste th sooji granules.
And same problem as fg, the halwa is too thick!