Haleji Lake..

Situated 70 kms (about 52 miles) from Karachi. Haleji Lake is considered to be largest water fall sanctuary in Asia, and is the main reservoir for Karachi. Its 1-1/2 km off the Thatta road from the village of Gujjo. Thousands of birds of over seventy species migrate here in winter from Siberia and stay through January and February. The birds include flamingoes, pelicans, pheasant-tailed jacanas, herons, ducks, partridges and agrets. It is a paradise for those who love birds.

Haleji originally was a salt-water lake which was formed by seasonal water, collecting in a depression. During World War II, additional water was required for troops stationed at Karachi. Salt water was drained out and an embankment was constructed around the lake which was fed by fresh water through a canal. Resultantly, Haleji became one of the major sources of water supply to the increasing population of Karachi as well as an exquisite refuge for waterfowl.

A water reservoir, home to Siberian migratory birds from November till February - birds lover paradise in these months. Some crocodiles as well, and fishing.

Re: Haleji Lake..

wow this lake is huge

I've been to Keenjhar Lake (or Kalri lake) but not there.. hope to visit it sometime :)

Thats a beautiful lake

yeah, i never been to this place too.. but we are planning to go there soon inshaAllah..

will share pics after the visit :D

Today i went to Thatta for some work and spotted a road going to Haleji lake. I think that road was near Gharo. Will definitely visit it soon :D

aray.. mujhe pick ker k le chalo :)

May bhi chalo ga!

aap Karachi main hain?

Yaar we karachiite GS members should make a plan to visit this lake :D

w0w.. dats a great idea.. :)

to banayen :)

nice post redidentity...

i've never been to Haleji, but visited Keenjhar a couple of times.

one of my friend used to go Haleji with his Dada for fishing. and someone who lived near Gharo told that a lot of crocodiles are there. If you plan to go fishing there, spend a night at the lake.

If you travel on thursday or friday night, when you reach "Quaidabad" on national highway (i'm sure you know the place) you will find a lot of Thailay walay selling local fishing gears.

wahan aapko maindak, kechuway say lekar fishing road etc tak kafi kuch mil jayega...

enjoy your trip, do post pictures of the lake and tell us how did it go : )

wow beautiful..:wub:
mujhay jana hai :crying:

WE have been planning to visit it ever since I moved to Karachi, but haven't put the plan into action yet... it's been more than 4 years now..:)

Finally today was the day when I visited this beautiful Lake. Its so calm. Ideal place for solitude lovers. Although the migratory birds haven’t arrived yet but still there were number of small birds to watch.

Here are some pics:

More pics..

Even more pics.. Couple of Marsh crocodiles too :stuck_out_tongue:

Awesome picture bro

Its such a huge lake

:jhanda:

This lake is not popular with picnickers as it is very deep from the very beginning. Its popular among people who are fond of fishing. Last time I went there with my Botany class in 1987.

The lake is fed by Namewari naddi and its tributaries originating from the nearby hills and also by the River Indus by a Canal