Haleem

I need a tried n tested recipe of Haleem in ever made it before so I need a detail recipe thnkx in advance

Re: Haleem

Dev , I will write a lovely recipe for you , in about the next half hour :hugz:

:yummy: but I also want to know how to make gadhi haleem without using cotton. :hehe:

wht is gadhi haleem?

aww thnk u so much CB ur really nice baby :hug:

I meant garhi (thick) opposite to patli. Heard that in market, they use cotton to make haleem thick :(

some thing like chicken haleem,mutton haleem and beef haleem...........:D

oh acha i also love thick one

Ewwwwwwww

Use shan haleem mix :D

yeah i got tht but didnt got the recipe clearly it was confusing

Hey try looking at this thread :

http://www.paklinks.com/gs/household-affairs-and-cuisine-corner/443971-simplest-haleem-recipe-needed.html

I learnt my first haleem from here :@:

and now what i do is , take equal amounts of lamb with bones and mixed lentils … pressure cooker the lamb until soft and remove bones … boil the daals until they become extremely soft …

Then fry onions add ginger garlic and throw in the meat , fry some more and add the spices , salt, red chilli powder, a bit or haldi and about 3 tsp of korma masala … then add in the daal mixture and start mixing it all .. do it on low heat .. if it becomes too thick then i add the lamb stock , little by little …

After about 30 minutes of cooking it on low heat , its done … fry some more onions and give the haleem baghar and you are good to go …

Serve with chopped green chillies, chooped corriander

I made haleem yesterday using Shan easy cook haleem mix and it turned out good.
I usually cook haleem from the scratch but it is a very long process. With the shan mix it was ready in under an hour.
I did modify the amount and added some extra ingredients.

hey is it ok if i use chciken wth bones n which lentils plz name

Shaan ka haleem mix.

uff tht was confusing uss mei to barley or wheat bhi tha pata nhi kya kya krna hai

why don't you go for shaan or national haleem mix. sorry i've missed a few posts inbetween so not sure if these have been suggested alrdy.

Yeah this is wht I said I bought but it's recipe was bit confusing for me

oh ok!!
so is it easy now?

Devlish , no confusion yaar.. this is the easy deal:

In a cup pour in quarter cup red moong daal .. quarter cup white mash daal and fill the rest of the cup with wheat ...
my husband brought some barlay from pakistan .. I think they eat it as porridge there ... Since I cant freaking find the wheat here , I just use that barlay

Haleem is no hassle at all .. pop the meat in the pressure cooker .. same time pop the daals on the stove and let them boil on low heat ... after and hour both are done and you just need another 45 minutes to get the haleem together !

I did use chicken twice but the taste of haleem is not that haleemy ... so I always use lamb with bones ...