Haleem, Sabeel and Moharram

*Originally posted by smooth_guy: *
OK leave the fasting aside. It is not that important if it is controversial between shia/sunni.

Answer the original question:

u eat haleem, cuz the family of hussain ate haleem....
u drink water, cuz hussain did not drink water....

Why?

bhai haleem is common because it is considered a simple meal made of up of 4-5 lentils, and meat....besides haleem you'll see majority of shia's eating simple food like vages and lentils especially on ashura. And besides water you'll see the sabeels of milk-ruhafzah, juice, lassi, etc...This is for the people who are in the jaloos all day. Its the same way you dont drink water like 24 hours and after 24 hour when you'll get water you will have a sympathy for those who are deprived of all these assesories. And the sabeels of water and drink and the haleem and other niaz is not only for the shias in the jaloos, but for every one. Poor people can come have the drinks and eat the food.etc...

Fasting is an act of sukrana. Yazid fasted and his army fasted on their victory,though in reality they lost....Dont you remember the dua you read before keeping the fast and before opening the fast. The dua is about sukrana. We are not pleased that Prophet's P.B.U.H family was brutally killed by (so-called) muslim fellows.... Thats why we dont fast.

Yazid was fasting beacause he was happy and it was his way for paying sukrana…

:konfused:

ok.. please stick to one version of the story… either Yazid was a munafiq and sharaabi kabaabi or he was pious enough to keep a roza as shukrana.. we can’t have both..

Well there are lots of muslims who are sharaby and kababy, but they read namaz and they do fast…just fasting like this or praying wont make him pious… To be a pious you first need to mend you characters. Allah has insisted more on haququl-ibad, ( haquq of people) then haquq Allah… If person is maltreating human beings, killing them, and than fasting that he is successfull in killing those innocents, how can he be pious? Fasting and prayers are not the only chracter that make a person pious, but his character… Hope that makes sense..:slight_smile:

what makes sense then is for people not to become Allah Mian and stop judging him.. We do not know what Allah will do to him so we should reserve our comments unless we know for sure he became a 'murtid' and rejected the deen altogether.

*Originally posted by PakistaniAbroad: *
what makes sense then is for people not to become Allah Mian and stop judging him.. We do not know what Allah will do to him so we should reserve our comments unless we know for sure he became a 'murtid' and rejected the deen altogether.

Well no one is becoming God overhere...just use your common sense.... when bush is bombing iraq, you think he's a criminal of war and when yazid killed Phrophet's family you think he's pious because of his namaz and roza... Prophet p.b.u.h said
" jo hussain ka dusman hai wo mera dusman hai aur jo hussain ka doast hai woh maira dost hai"...

If you think he is pious or whatever you definatly have right to think that way......

yes Lusi, since I wasn't there and since most of Islamic history is a jumble of politically influenced/concocted stories and other fairy tales I'd rather leave judgement upto Allah.

*Originally posted by Lusi: *

bhai haleem is common because it is considered a simple meal made of up of 4-5 lentils, and meat....besides haleem you'll see majority of shia's eating simple food like vages and lentils especially on ashura. And besides water you'll see the sabeels of milk-ruhafzah, juice, lassi, etc...This is for the people who are in the jaloos all day. Its the same way you dont drink water like 24 hours and after 24 hour when you'll get water you will have a sympathy for those who are deprived of all these assesories. And the sabeels of water and drink and the haleem and other niaz is not only for the shias in the jaloos, but for every one. Poor people can come have the drinks and eat the food.etc...

Fasting is an act of sukrana. Yazid fasted and his army fasted on their victory,though in reality they lost....Dont you remember the dua you read before keeping the fast and before opening the fast. The dua is about sukrana. We are not pleased that Prophet's P.B.U.H family was brutally killed by (so-called) muslim fellows.... Thats why we dont fast.

bro.....they fasted because the whole ummah fasted because Prophet SAW saying regarding the ashura (as its reported in sunniz hadith books). We all know that Yazeed's forces were thinking that they were on right path and Hussain R.A was rebellion etc etc. But fasting or praying doesn't make them heroz...they were evil doer...killing ahle-bait is a great sin they commited....what they did was totally wrong and history has prooved that Hussain R.A was right.

So my point is that the victory of battle was not untill Hussain got shahadah at the asr time of ashura day and the yazeed's forces were fasting since dawn. So your point is baseless that they were doign shukrana. I am just making the facts straight here and not defending anyone. If you read this posting again you will find what I am trying to say here. They fasted because they thought they are good muslims and as they performed salah they did fast the same way follwoing the Prophet's saying. So the bottom line is that they didn't fast for Shukrana, if it was for shukrana they must have fast on 11th of muharram since it has been reported by sunniz and shiaz that yazeed and its forces (may Allah punish them in hell) celebrated the victory after Hussain was shaheed. keep ur record updated. If you argue just for the sake of argue it will not make sense. I tried not to be biased as hardliner sunni but rahter talking about facts. Thanks.

abay kiya ghaans chur gya hai ???

It was ur post not mine :dixsi: go back to the first page of the thread and read it.

Abey aqaal keh dushman … How hard is it to understand simple things man… You sure lack common sense…

see what did you posted earlier

You were talking about centuries here…even though i said the same thing on the first page long time back…

Let me quote it again… so you dont get lost again…

Man you want people to spoon feed everything don’t you… In the earlier post the “originally posted by Smooth Guy” was a typo… but i m sure its not hard to guess probably you forgot to read the earlier part of the post where i mentioned … the thing I posted long time back… Based on the edited version of the my post you posted..i guess you read from the middle and ignored to read the first part of the post…
if you would have bothered to read the whole post man.. it would have made things easy.

man people make mistakes…but i did mention earlier that its one my old posts so i m sure it won’t be that hard for you guess kiddo!!! Atleast i don’t go around sayin lies in the forum as Bihari Babu does !

For realll You are such a kid !!! Well as long as it makes you happy kiddo have fun !

Mods/Admin

I have got reply to my questions that there is a difference of opinion between Shias and Sunnis on this issue so If you want to close the thread then please do so.

Thanks.

I would have let the thread continue as long as the discussion provides informative value. What is disappointing is to see comments like this:
- ***By the way exactly how old are you Kiddo !

• abay kiya ghaans chur gya hai ??????

• Abey aqaal keh dushman ....

• For realll You are such a kid !!! Well as long as it makes you happy kiddo have fun !***
    This is a serious forum, which needs an appropriate level of maturity to participate. If you can't control your temper while participating here, please don't. Next time if you get a warning for using inappropriate language, don't say "he said it first". That argument won't get you anywhere. Anyone who makes deregatory statements, or breaks any rule of this forum, is responsible for his or her own actions. If you find any post inappropriate, please drop me a PM.

Thanks and Jazak Allah.