Haleem, Sabeel and Moharram

I always wondered why in Pakistan people cook Haleem overnight to be distributed on the day of 10th Muharram while according to Prophet (pbuh) recommendation we should be fasting on that day. I have even seen people distributing water and juice among people at various places.

Is there any difference of opinion between Shia and Sunni sects on this issue?

PS. Please don’t make it an arena for a shia sunni fight.

Re: Haleem, Sabeel and Moharram

*Originally posted by khan_sahib: *
I always wondered why in Pakistan people cook Haleem overnight to be distributed on the day of 10th Muharram while according to Prophet (pbuh) recommendation we should be fasting on that day. I have even seen people distributing water and juice among people at various places.

PS. Please don't make it an arena for a shia sunni fight.

It's an excuse to make some haleem...Yummm!...And there is no difference of opinion...In fact we agree...Both sects love haleem...:)

I know there won’t be any difference among desis about eating Haleem but how do people distribute this food while according to prophet they should rather be fasting.

Good point…But Haleem usually takes all night and is done by the Fajr prayers…So eat the haleem and fast…:slight_smile:

Re: Haleem, Sabeel and Moharram

*Originally posted by khan_sahib: *

PS. Please don't make it an arena for a shia sunni fight.

Excuse me for my stupidity but I want to know why did Prophet Mohammad (pbuh) recommended we should be fasting on that day?

Thanks a lot for your attention...:)

khan sahab
since yazeedi army was fasting that day we dont fast..we do 'faaqa' on the 10th mohurram....we make haleem (khichra) because thats the food ppl brought to the family of Prophet (pbuh) after they killed Imam Hussain (as)....sabeel of water because Imam Hussain (as) aur unkay log pyaasay hi shaheed ho gaye thay

so now i see two points:

u eat haleem, cuz the family of hussain ate haleem....
u drink water, cuz hussain did not drink water....

maybe the yazeed's army was reading Quran too, so u shud stop reading Quran????
they believed in Allah and Muhammad too, so to contradict them u wont believe in them????

Without going into too much detail, we are asked to fast on the 10th Muharram because this was the day Musa AS (Moses) liberated his people from Pharoah.

However, some people have hijacked this day for totally wrong reasons and commit 'self mutilation' which by any standards is anti Islamic from the offset.

They know who they are.

*Originally posted by armughal: *
so now i see two points:

maybe the yazeed's army was reading Quran too, so u shud stop reading Quran????
they believed in Allah and Muhammad too, so to contradict them u wont believe in them????

you are entitled to your opinion..we dont have it anywhere that Prophet (pbuh) used to fast (roza) on the 10th

i see you have pretty interesting observations...i m sure khan sahab is satisfied with the answers provided and if he has a question he will just ask again

i did not mention fasting anywhere in my post....
u r the one who mentioned that....
i was questioning the other acts of yazeed's army....
and fasting is BY NO MEANS a wrong thing in Islam that u wud choose not to do it....

*Originally posted by sholay: *
Without going into too much detail, we are asked to fast on the 10th Muharram because this was the day Musa AS (Moses) liberated his people from Pharoah.

However, some people have hijacked this day for totally wrong reasons and commit 'self mutilation' which by any standards is anti Islamic from the offset.

They know who they are.

kindly show me where it says that in Quran...it will increase my knowledge and i will be thankful
this day should be remembered for the sacrifice of Imam Hussain (as) only..nothing can be bigger then that

i did not mention fasting anywhere in my post....
u r the one who mentioned that....
i was questioning the other acts of yazeed's army....
and fasting is BY NO MEANS a wrong thing in Islam that u wud choose not to do it....

fasting is by no means a wrong thing in islam but would you fast on eid? on 10th of mohurram we do faaqa and we open it after the assar time..thats when Imam Hussain (as) did the final sajda to Allah and sacrificed himself

in another thread I wanted to know the real truth.. there are conflicting reports.. both held to be true.. one says the Jews were celebrating with a feast when the Prophet arrived in Medinah and the other said they were fasting.

armughal.

it’s funny when you try to be funny about the emulating or not emulating Yazid’s army.. cuz the Sunnis do the same fanatic ‘emulate/don’t emulate’ about Jews and Christians.. like Jews stay silent while eating so we should talk.. but Christians talk while eating so we should talk about religion etc.. .. as if all jews and christians act as a monolith :rolleyes:

so 10th muharram is same as eid????
bad comaprison....

and PA that thing u said about eating and not talking is a talk in the indian sub-continent, not part of Islam....
and then yazeed is a man, christians and jews represent a religion....
dont equate the comparison....

i was just pointing out that there are days when you just dont fast..and 10th is one of the days for us..we do faaqa instead..if you have a problem with that then there is nothing i can do..Allah will be the judge

ok, fine, as the Quran says "lakum deenukum wa liya deen" :)

Yaar Sheraz, I honestly used to do the same until recently when I found that Prophet Mohammed (pbuh) recommended us to fast on the 10th Moharram (I am sure somebody can provide reference to Hadith). It was because that Jews used to fast on that day and Prophet said that since Moses (pbuh) was more closer to him then he was to Jews then we should all fast. Differences with Yazeed I can understand but as there is no difference between shia and sunnis on prophet (pbuh) hadith (or maybe that's my assumption).

I don't think there is any difference between shia and sunni about Hazrat Imam Hussein's shahadat on 10th Moharram so can we all not fast on that day. I will be interested to know if someone can tell me if Hazrat Imam (ra) was fasting on that day or not.

As I said last time if there is a difference between shia and sunnis then we can always agree to disagree. :)

so now i see two points:

Excellent point! But sad thing is that you will not get any logical answer from them. They have some secret logic Allah knows where it came from.

Sheraz

The Qur'aan states:

"Four of them ( Zil-Qadah, Zil-Hijjah, Muharram and Rajab) are sacred."
(Surah At-Tawbah:36)

However, the Qur'an does not state that fast on the 10th is recommended. Neither does it mention the martyrdom of Imaam Hussain RA.

The significance of the Day of Aashora is from the time of our Holy Prophet Muhammad (Sallallahu-Alayhi-Wasallam). Thus, to attribute the significance of Aashora to the martyrdom of Hazrat Husayn (Radhiyallahu-Anhu) is baseless. Therefore, the host of baseless customs with regard to his martyrdom must be discarded.

This injunction is derived from A'Hadeeth

Hazrat Ibn Abbas (Radhiyallahu-Anhu) said:

"When Rasulullah (Sallallahu-Alayhi-Wasallam) observed the fast of the day of Aashora and ordered (his Companions) to fast, they said: `O Rasulullah! It is a day revered (glorified) by the Jews and Christians.' Thereupon Rasulullah said: "The coming year, if Allah wills (I remain alive), I will for surely fast on the ninth (also)."
(Muslim)

These Ahadeeth indicate clearly that one should fast on the ninth and tenth of Muharram. However, if one does not manage to fast on the ninth, then he/she should fast on the eleventh of Muharram instead.
The Holy Prophet (Sallallahu-Alayhi-Wasallam) said:

"Observe the fast of Aashora and oppose the Jews. Fast a day before it or a day after."
(Baihaqi)

*Originally posted by smooth_guy: *

Excellent point! But sad thing is that you will not get any logical answer from them. They have some secret logic Allah knows where it came from.

logical answer? sabeel Imam Hussain (as) ki hoti hai...koi pyaasa na rahay 10th ko Imam Hussain (as) ki tarah..it even says on the sabeel "paani piyo to yaad karo pyaas Imam ki"...if ur dil-o-dimagh is filled with hatred then only Allah can help you