Hajj 244 Killed in Stampede [Merged]

At least 244 people have been trampled to death at the Hajj pilgrimage in Saudi Arabia, the minister in charge of the event, Iyad Madani, has said.
He said a similar number of pilgrims were injured during the stampede, which lasted 27 minutes.

The disaster happened as pilgrims flocked to the Jamarat Bridge in Mina, near Mecca, to hurl stones at a pillar representing the devil.

Up to two million Muslims went to this year’s event in and around Mecca.

The BBC’s Paul Simpson reports from Jeddah that the stoning ritual is usually the most dangerous time of the Hajj.

Physically exhausted after three days of rites, pilgrims surge forward to cast their stones.

Hundreds of thousands of pilgrims crossed over and under the 15-metre (50-foot) bridge spanning a small valley between two cliffs at Mina.

Hajj 244 Killed in Stampede

May allah(swt) have mercy and may their prayers and duas be accepted tenfold.

I don’t know what it is with saudis and organisation but the 2 just don’t mix. Yes there are up to 2 million people but its not as if saudi authorities don’ t know this year in year out.

There have been camp fires, stampedes and what not, Why can’t these buffons in authority think and plan the hajj better, because if they are not allah(swt) will hold them accountable for there incompetencies.

any british muslims died?

^^ yes it makes a difference to me, anyways u don't know why i am asking this ? so.........

Re: Hajj 244 Killed in Stampede

There have been camp fires, stampedes and what not, Why can’t these buffons in authority think and plan the hajj better, because if they are not allah(swt) will hold them accountable for there incompetencies.

Hey Ak47 tha saudis are doing there best but who knows what happend actually there and whose fault was it , most of the time its ppl fault.

LUC is asking coz may some of his relative went for Hajj this year :bailan:

stampedes arent caused by authorities not doing their job.. its caused by impatient ppl.. jaldi jaldi stone karo aur bhago to mecca for the tawaf e wida... sabr naam ki tho cheez hai nahi hai ...

camp fires are caused be ignorant ppl.. again not by authorities... must u really eat ure halva poori? must u really have a hot meal.. can u not survive with the foodd the ppl provide.. or spend a few riyals and buy something? but nooooo.. some psychos choose to bring their portable choola with them...

really.. try to understand the situation from all aspects before jumpin in without knowin what's goin on...

saudi naam para aud khood paray binna sochay samjhay :)

In the end of the day, ppl were gathered to respect Allah, It was at Allah's own house, It was the holiest site designated by Allah himself, He loves his beleivers who love him, Allah keeps tab of all that takes place and above all Allah is merciful, Allah is almighty.
Now, I dont have any doubts.

Pray for my uncle...havent heared from him sonce morning.......Allah khair karay

Sad, PTV initially didnt report such a large number, they said it was now under control, so I didnt know so many people lost their lives.

*Originally posted by bao bihari: *
Pray for my uncle...havent heared from him sonce morning.......Allah khair karay

Inshallah he will be fine. My mom was there in 1992, when the tunnel incident took place, and we were very worried, and she called after a day due to the rush.

Ugh.. it’s happened again… may God protect all those souls. :frowning:

The Drudge Report is headlining this as “Stampede Over Satan!”… I really hope his readers aren’t as ignorant some I’ve already seen. Disgusting.

So, think other Muslim countries will pressure the Sauds to get this under better control yet?? This should be easy to prevent. I don’t know why it keeps happening.

Allah Pa'ak apna rehem fermaein ameen sum ameen
meri dua hey key jitney bhi loag wahan hein Allah Pa'ak un ko apni hifz-o-amaan mey rahkein aur jo shaheed hogaey hein Allah Pa'ak un key ghar waloan ko sabar-e-jameel ata fermaein ameen sum ameen

Tragedy at Pilgrimage

At least 244 people have been killed, hundreds have been injured. May Allah(SWT) gave patience to the deceased families in this trouble time, and reward Jannah(Heaven) to the victims.

At Least 244 Killed in Haj Pilgrimage Stampede

MENA, Saudi Arabia (Reuters) - At least 244 Muslim pilgrims were crushed to death and an equal number injured in a stampede during a devil-stoning ritual at the climax of the annual haj pilgrimage in Saudi Arabia Sunday.

Panic spread rapidly after some people in the crowd collapsed as many of the two million white-robed pilgrims, chanting “God is Greatest,” surged toward the Jamarat Bridge in Mena to throw stones at pillars representing the devil.

The ritual on the Muslim Eid al-Adha feast day of sacrifice has triggered stampedes in the past and authorities said they had tried to avert disaster this year by urging people to perform the ceremony at different times.

**“There were more than 400 meters of people pushing in the same direction (which) resulted in the collapse of those next to the stoning area and those behind. That led to panic,” Pilgrimage Affairs and Endowments Minister Iyad bin Amin Madani told reporters.

Head of haj security, Brigadier Ali al-Shoaby, said most of the dead were from East and Southeast Asia – mainly Indonesia, Bangladesh and Pakistan – but included Arabs and other nationalities. He gave no breakdown. **

An Egyptian official said a preliminary count showed 13 Egyptians were among the dead. Four South African nationals have been reported missing.

Another 272 pilgrims had died of natural causes during the haj, which all able-bodied Muslims must perform once in a lifetime if they can afford it.

Many Muslims believe death on the haj is a gift from God, which cleanses them of sin, and the pilgrims continued their rituals, largely unfazed by the disaster.

**STONED THE DEVIL **

Mena is on the pilgrimage route from Mecca in western Saudi Arabia to nearby Mount Arafat.

Pilgrims converged on the main pillar representing the devil Sunday. Onlookers chanted “Harder! Harder!” as they stoned the devil.

Muslims believe the pillar marks the spot where the devil appeared to biblical patriarch Abraham. The haj has seen deadly stampedes almost every year. In 1990, 1,426 pilgrims were crushed to death in a pedestrian tunnel at Mecca. Last year 14 people were trampled to death. In 2001, 35 people died in a stampede at the bridge and 119 were killed in a similar incident in 1998.

The pilgrimage has also been the scene of armed uprisings and bombings. Saudi authorities took massive security precautions this year, deploying thousands of troops to guard against attacks by the al Qaeda network.

A recent statement said to be from al Qaeda, blamed for suicide bombings in the kingdom and for the September 11, 2001 attacks on the United States, vowed to “rid the Arab peninsula of infidels.”

Saudi security forces arrested seven suspects this week, saying they were planning a “terrorist act.”

In his Eid al-Adha sermon, the imam of the Grand Mosque in Mecca, Sheikh Abdulrahman al-Sudeis, urged Muslims to reject violence.

“Islam seeks moderation…Those who deviate from moderation and try to incite Muslims against their rulers are seeking discord and anarchy through destruction, terrorism, bombings and shedding the blood of Muslims and those under the protection of the state,” he told pilgrims in Mecca.

The Eid marks Abraham’s willingness to sacrifice his son Ismail at God’s command, according to the Koran. Thousands of sheep, cows and camels are slaughtered

*Originally posted by khawateen: *
stampedes arent caused by authorities not doing their job.. its caused by impatient ppl.. jaldi jaldi stone karo aur bhago to mecca for the tawaf e wida... sabr naam ki tho cheez hai nahi hai ...

camp fires are caused be ignorant ppl.. again not by authorities... must u really eat ure halva poori? must u really have a hot meal.. can u not survive with the foodd the ppl provide.. or spend a few riyals and buy something? but nooooo.. some psychos choose to bring their portable choola with them...

really.. try to understand the situation from all aspects before jumpin in without knowin what's goin on...

saudi naam para aud khood paray binna sochay samjhay :)

I totally agree with Khawateen here. Fires and stampedes are nto caused due to authorities incompetence But due to impatient and short-sighted pilgrims. Ppl there operate in exact opposite way to spirit of Hujj. Once fire broke out in our camp in mina and it spread really quickly and why was that; some person decided to bake his bread in his own tandoor, and it exploded. So many ppl died. How in the world can authroties stop such incidents; its more like suicide bombings with ofcourse a difference.

^ I disagree. It is the authorities' responsibility. They can prevent people from bringing their own choolay, etc can't they? Or if people will bring in their choolay and other such objects which could potentially cause massive deaths, there should be a designated and monitored place to use these objects. I mean, they don't let people smoke in non-smoking areas, right? But if you wanted to smoke, there is a place for it. And this measure is taken so that authorities can contain any accidents.

And then you know what upsets me? Its when people blow off the number of deaths and say "oh they died a blessed death - good for them". Whether the death was blessed or not, it was unnecessary. You just lost a muslim, and who knows how useful that muslim is to the ummah? I think such remarks are absolutely careless.

actualy after that great fire in 1994, i think they have stopped ppl from bringing in chulas into Mina... askin them to monitor an area where ppl are allowed to cook is askin for too much... its hajj.. authorities have much better things to care bout then to see over a coupla ppl cook... so the ban works out great..

There is nothing more rewarding than dying there. people who die during haj are jannatis.
Mein toh kehti hoon that if someone dies then its best to die there.

The sauds could put in subway-style turn-stalls every 50 feet or something like that to regulate the flow of people. It is preventable.

my mom is gone for hajj along with all her brother sisters.... i checked the victims list and called up their group leader and alhamdulillah everything is fine.

But honestly, they gotta come up with a better system or stoning the devil. This has gotta change to become more organized, hope it gets better next year inshaAllah.

*Originally posted by blushing_vision: *
There is nothing more rewarding than dying there. people who die during haj are jannatis.
Mein toh kehti hoon that if someone dies then its best to die there.

i dont agree with you! how do u know?? ur not god and to judge if they will or not or how allah's system work! imagine getting your head smashed in with peoples feet, and getting squashed so your ribs break in pieces and u lie their paralized while ppl step all over you! I don't think that is a pleasant way of dieng.

*Originally posted by PyariCgudia: *
^ I disagree. It is the authorities' responsibility. They can prevent people from bringing their own choolay, etc can't they? Or if people will bring in their choolay and other such objects which could potentially cause massive deaths, there should be a designated and monitored place to use these objects. I mean, they don't let people smoke in non-smoking areas, right? But if you wanted to smoke, there is a place for it. And this measure is taken so that authorities can contain any accidents.

And then you know what upsets me? Its when people blow off the number of deaths and say "oh they died a blessed death - good for them". Whether the death was blessed or not, it was unnecessary. You just lost a muslim, and who knows how useful that muslim is to the ummah? I think such remarks are absolutely careless.

PCG-- There are millions of pilgirms everywhere and its nearly impossible to monitor and check every pilgirm's luggage for portable owens and tanoors. Yes they have put signs and warning on concerned airports and stuff but ppl just dont get it. They hide it in thier luggages thinking we are safe.

Agreed with your later part though, its an unnecessary death.