HAJIB

salam

How important is the hijab in islam? I have been wearing the hijab for sometime now, and I sometimes gets feelings to take it off. Would it be really bad if I did?

HIJAB!..........:)

Hajib is the one who wears Hijab, but that would be for Males......and that too in Urdu!....

Hijaban is the term for female who wears Hijab.

correct me if I am wrong?

hmm..well u should wear only when u feel ready for it. just doin it for the heck of it ..really takes away all the charm out of it!

but i guess its normal to feel like that..some ppl mite say its really bad..either dont wear it..if u do then dont take it off bla bla bla..

u kno waht i did..its really stupid..but hellow..am far from being perfect.. i started wearing it when i was 18..then took it off after couple months..n i did that TWICE!!..i know it was really bad.. but i never felt connected with it..i jus did it for the heck of it.

but then ..i started doin a lot of research..b/c somehow i was jus always inclined towards it..its jus that i dint have the stability at that point in me to stick to it. but after reallly developing a strong sense of understanding..2 years later i started wearing it again..and now not even for a moment i feel i shouldnt be wearin it..i feel SO comfortable and know that this is what i wanna do.

i dint care a bit about what ppl will say..i ll still do what i have to do. and now i take pride in the way I carry myself allhumdulilah. it takes time..but atleast we are all trying in our own lil ways.

on a side note..if ur getting bored of your hijabi look..then experiment w/ different hijab styles..colors..you can be all covered and still manage to look/feel reallyyy realllyyyyyyyyyy goood. trust me. and at the same time, do your research..its very inspiring.jus know that hijab is inside-out. its both. getting to it is hard..but rewarding if you do it rightly. =)

Re: HAJIB

do what you want

dont let some ancient practice run your life

instead of blindly following something hoping for a great afterlife (or being scared of a horrible one).... just live this life to the max! taking off that rag !!

eww..plz..if you cant motivate someone. atleast dont discourage 'em!

sid09 thanks for your advise, I have been wearing for 6 years now:)
DesiPride: You can still live your life to the max with the hijab?? What do you mean by living your life to the max? Ever since I have been wearing hajib, my life has got better. I am happily married with good education, children what more could I want...

Sid09: where do you live?

You're wearing it for 6 years and you're still asking if you should take it off or not? And here is an honest reply.....yes it would be really bad if you take it off without any valid reason.

If you are a Muslims, then your reply is seriously contradicting the basics of your beliefs.

If you are not a Muslims, then sorry to say that your reply doesn't belong to this thread. The thread starter has intended to get an advice of the Muslims. (which is obvious even if not stated)

p.s. Didn't mean to be offensive to you, but such a reply is seriously offensive to the basics of the beliefs of a Muslim.

what could be a valid reason? do you wear hijab? I dont always feel like this, only once in a while

^ Sister, I would like to share my views which I also posted in another thread few days ago.

Whenever you want to take one more step towards Allah and the Prophet (saw), the Shaitaan would try to put all kinds of "waswasas" (fearful doubts) in your mind. He would make you move aways from your decision for sometimes and delay in coming back. BUT once you sincerely practice it for the love of Allah and the Prophet (saw), you would feel the sweetness of Imaan in your heart, and you might even repent for delaying such a wonderful act.

Alot of hurdles might come your way, which are not hurdles but false fears the devil would try to put in your mind through any of your companions. Remember, Allah only sees our sincerity, no matter how difficult a task seems of obeying an order of Allah, if we sincerely pray to Allah for strength and consistency, Allah blesses us with comfort and ease in everything we do.

May Allah (s.w.t) bless us all with the wisdom of understanding the ultimate truth taught to us by the Prophet (s.w.t) and the strength to implement it in our lives. Ameen!

p.s. After making the intention of doing Hijab, a good deed was written in your deeds, but after you start practicing it, each and every second of your life one additional naiki (good deed) would be continuously counted for completely implementing one additional sunnah in your life.

A hadith of the Prophet (saw) has a mafhoom that a time would come when it would be difficult for muslims to maintain my sunnahs like holding fire in your hand, but whoever would maintain it at that time would be blessed with the "naiki" of 100 Shaheed (martyred men) for trying to keep alive a single sunnah.

If you are being threatened by someone (probably a racist non muslim) for wearing hijab and you are in fear and insecurity then you might take it off.

I have gone through the wearing and giving up hijab twice....

First when I was 17 and went to South Africa - all my cousins wore it there and so I adopted wearing it too. On return to the UK I wore it outside and only took off at school and work as it wasn't allowed.
Gave up all of a sudden I don't even know when!

Then in 2000 I wore it just for Ramzan - including at work

In 2001 I wore it again in Ramzan (after I got married). BUT I gave it up part way through Ramzan as I was in a retail management position and the roel I had to carry out wasn't taken seriously I felt and I was treated differently because I wore the hijab

Then I went for Umraah in 2005 and made a promise to adopt it forever.
Ma'sha allah I have worn the hijab ever since - 3 years in August!

I love wearing hijaab now.
I have over 200 different hijaabs
I adapted my own styles of wearing the hijaab
People have come to me for lessons how to tie the hijab in a certain way
Alham dulillah I look better with the hijaab on than without.

I feel stronger as a person with the hijaab on and feel like I have more of an identity (as a muslim)

I do still have 'rut' days - usually when I get treated like I am 'nothing' in some public place. Or when it is automatically assumed that I don't understand english just becaue I wear hijab.
I usually get over this pretty quickly these days - it doesn't affect me like it used to!

Also, I often google the words 'latest hijab tying styles' and learn of new ways to wear the hijab and how to adapt the hijab to what I am wearing.

Hope that helps?

Wow.....

I know I know..........
I am having a clearout soon to give away to charity those that I haven't worn in a while!

I love buying Hijab and I have even made some myself when I have found interesting material..........

I bought a lot when I was in Saudi and also India.
My mum also keeps topping up my supply from her travels.
In the UK I find I am buyig them in the high street as well these days - New Look, Debenhams and even Bon Marche was a find the other day!

I AM running out of space to store them though!

Sisters ASA, I came across this post and i was thinking to myself " Ham mussalmano ke hall parr Allah SBWT Rehem kare" eek zamana aisa bhi tha jaab nojawan marad apni nazre juhka ke chalte the, meaning they would not look at any other namehram and there was a time when women would cover themselves as such ke you could not even see a finger nail, for a muslim women doing parda is Allah's Hukum, think about this for a second all the fitna's start in this with 2 things, Alcohol and when women show themselves off, a women is only for her husband to see any other man should not lay eyes on here thats what our Prophet Muhammad SAWAS thought us and that’s what Allah SBWT all muslim men and women to obey him if not we will pay for this, brothers and sisters this lifetime is to short no one know when he or she will be leaving this world, past weekend we prayed back to back Janazas at my local masjid one guy was 39 yrs old and the other was 44 all well just got sick all of the sudden and passed away so none of us know when we will be leaving this world and be put in our grave Muhammad SAWS said ( close meaning ) a person's grave could be a garden of heaven or a hole of hell fire, Aap SAWS has showed us the way how to live our life, we have to obey Allah's SBWT commendments in this life, and try to make our 24 hr life according to sunnah, if we do that we have a never ending life of Jannat the one cannot even imagine what is there waiting for us, so my request to u sisters is please try and parda it is necessary in today world and my request to all gentlemen please protect your eyes because these eyes could be the reason we will burn in hellfire or be in Jannat we are all smart and can make good decision so make the right choice brothers and sisters please JazakAllah Khair.

I think though that you do have to consider everyones situation differently. Especially those of us who like you, live in a non-muslim country (although ma'shallah Islam is the fastest spreading religion in the western world especially here int he UK)

It isn't always possible to do full purdah. For example working full time in many fields you cannot adapt full purdah. The alternative is like me, to change the way that one dresses - abandon short tops (although they were never inappropriate), wear looser clothing and wear hijab. This is called dressing modestly and this too is in accordance with islamic teachings.

I think you will find very few women in today's society who can adopt fullpurdah as this would probably mean staying home. It is just not possible in so many families these days for both husband an dwife not to work.

I hope this helps get my point across?

Allah SWT knows best and may HE guide us always towards the correct path and protect us from the evils of this world.

ASA sister, I respect your post, but my view of point is a little different, why do both men and women need to work because of our needs and our lifestyles, only men should work and whatever he makes one has to adjust their lifestyles accordingly " yeh zindagi to guzar hi jai gi " kya hi acha ho rokhi suhki kha karr guzar lain laikin Allah SBWT ka hukum na tote, tell me this in Muhammad SAWS time and the Sahaba's RATA time were the women working? no they were not, they were doing the work of deen also and raising their children in such manner that once they grow up they became great Muslim leaders, they could if they wanted to but they adjusted their lifestyles accordingly to what their husband had provided them with, I know I know you will say ohh we cannot get to that level I understand that but we can try to come close and learn from their teachings, so sister u should take a deep breath and ask your self why is their a need for you to work?? Too many bills that’s why right! we can change our lifestyles, I have heard from scholars that Muhammad SAWS and his family and his companions Sahaba Ikram RATA starved for days without eating anything if Muhmmad SAWS wanted he could have everything to anything after all this universe was created because of Muhammad SAWS he was Allah’s SWAT Habib he was asked many times we all know that he was offered to make the mountains of Makkah gold and silver, but not brothers and sisters Aap SAWS, and the Sahaba’s RATA wanted to set an example for all of mankind, so on the day of judgment we could not criticize them oh they had it all and how come we couldn't, starvation came in Prophets SAWS, and Sahaba's house first for what, what reason ? There was only one reason how can the complete deen come in their life and their household, and how can deen come in every single human beings life, how could the message of Allah SBWT get spread across humanity, brothers and sisters they would not do anything to disobey Allah SBWT, so this he concern of today that how could deen first come in my life and my household and how can I take this message across the globe, hamari zindagi ka maqsad to yeh hi hona chahiye tha but ahhh unfortunately today muslims have forgotten their responsibility, and we are running after dunya, brother and sisters this deen has come to us after a lot of sacrifices some of them we cannot even imagine, those people had no love for this world they only had love for the akhirat and it is a duty of every single muslim male/female to learn complete deen and first practice in his or her life and take the message wherever we go how can our 24 hr life become according to sunnah, and for this we need and environment around us like I said before " ye zindagi to guzar hi jai gi, eek din to kabar mai jana hai aur phir jo questions hoon gai 1? Who is your lord? A person who obey Allah SBWT commandments exactly the way Allah SBWT wanted us to we will be able to answer that, 2) who is your prophet? And only if we had lived our life according to sunnah we will be able to answer that. 3) What is your religion? and if we had spend our life according to the teachings of Islam, the way we, govern, make money, spend money, eat, sleep, deal with people, do business, work, give zakat , and etc, etc we would be able to answer that, In Quran Hakeem there are stories of people who came before us, people of luut, people of sabba, people of bani israel and when they did not obey the commandments of Allah SBWT and the teachings of their prophets, Allah SBWT destroyed all of them, look around us people what is happening with muslim across the globe, we were once in power when we had obeyed the commandments of Allah SBWT and today we have forgotten Allah SBWT, so Allah SBWT help is no longer with us so we are being disgraced everywhere we go, I would like for all of us first myself to make Istaghfarr and cry front of Allah SBWT that oh my lord please forgive us for our sins that we have done and start our lives over and try not to make those same mistakes, sorry for the long post but I felt its my duty to get the message across to all of you may Allah SBWT give us all taufeeq and hidayat Ameen JazakAllah Khair.

wannabe-mum: I agree with what you are saying. I am also from the Uk and I am training to be an optometrist. Obviously in this role I cannot observe full veil as I will have to interact with patients.. I want to work, I even have a child and my husband works. I want to study because our deen says that we should further our knowledge and understanding. Inevitably, I would want to work afterwards because what would be the point of studying for 4 or 5 years..and my husband supports me 100% mashallah...

I think times have changed, everyone wants to work. I know I couldn't stay at home all day. Mashallah, I have time to study, raise my child, do all the household chores etc..This is all due to allah listening to my prayers to help me..

ASA sister, my job was to inform you and for you saying that our deen says we should furthur our knowledge of deen, as far as i know its only the knolwledge of islam, but it is your life do as you want may Allah SBWT be with you take care AsSalam Alikum.

hey ami: am from toronto and wow mashAllah u ve been wearing it for 6 years..thats inspirational.

and dont worry we all have those days when we feel "does my head look big in it" or i dont feel like wearing it..all that is very normal. doesnt mean we hate it or we feel bad about wearing it. for me the most exciting part is to match my hijabs with my outfits. and i dont ever feel like when i goto mall..i wish i could wear it..i ll still buy whatever i like and just HIJABI-FY the outfit. it will look amazing. these steps will help you on days when ur low on hijab.

cuz see..celebrating yourself has to come from you first. why wait for someone else to come and do it for you!. and wearing hijab is a way of celebrating what lifestyle we have chosen for ourselves and how we take pride in it.

infact i feel we're so privileged here ..compared to saudi n all..where its mandatory for girls to wear abaya.. but man those khaleeji girls really kno how to rock their abayas. i saw this girl who was in black abaya and had a bright color designer handbag..i thought it was quite a fashion statement. it looked CLASSY! point is that u can be all covered up and still look GORGEOUS and CLASSY!
newaiz am happy with hijab for now. one step at a time. =).