hajab & boyfriend

Its become more of a fashion thing in the Middle East and a habit..But a girl wearing Hijab is supposed to be pious.. but Allah knows whats in people's hearts and minds..

PS. Noone is an Angel :)

Bane.

If non hijabis go out with boyfriends then why can't hijabis?

*Originally posted by PakistaniAngel: *

probably coz they prefer coming in rather than going out?

well that just defeats the purpose of wearing hijab...doesn't it?

^ Maybe it does not..!!!

Who are we to judge?

I think it is wrong to start such conversations. As to who is doing right or wrong.

*Originally posted by Gizzy: *
^ Maybe it does not..!!!

Who are we to judge?

I think it is wrong to start such conversations. As to who is doing right or wrong.

I am not talking of somebody specific but rather a social phenomenon

*Originally posted by Gizzy: *
Who are we to judge?

"Who" ka tau pata nahi.. per maza buhat aata hai. :)

Seriously, people stereotype all the time, whether conciously or not. I am sure we are all stereotyped ourselves, all the time, be it by the color of our skin, our hair style, our clothes, where we are eating, what ever.

Is it wrong to stereotype? Not really. Its part of human nature to form opinions based on prior knowledge. What will be inappropriate is if we start to discriminate people based on pre-conceived impressions.

Waisay, some girl up there mentioned that "if I am not in hijab, people automatically assume I have a boyfriend". Well...... :) u must be in a weird group of people who jump to such a conclusion just based on the fact that you are not in hijaab. Or else they know something u r not telling us. :)

*Originally posted by seeker: *

well that just defeats the purpose of wearing hijab...doesn't it?

And just who are you be judging them?

and who are you to judge if i'm judging or not

seeker and PakistaniAngel…please.. :nono:

and some dont even know why they are wearing the hijab in the first place. Its just a fashion statment or just an item of clothing with no meaning attached to it. Blah who cares

i think its a great idea, mixing sunnat ie, islamic values with the more western ones, wat a good balance, and u know wat, by waring a hijab people might actually think the couple are married, therefore taking away the b/f stereotype, where as a married muslim couple without any islamic (modest) clothing might look like a b/f g/f couple. So all girls on gup shup get those hijabs on and pm me yur phn numbers, and dont be shy.

You never know, those kind of girls might be the ones whose prayers are accepted by Allah, and not ours.
Allah knows best, and he is the only one who judge people, and not us. Don't worry about other people, and please let Allah be the judge.

AOA ppl

i wear a hijab nd dress in ma traditional shalwar kameez nd i'm proud of it, i have seen a lot of women nd girls of muslim decent in my local town nd city they never wear a hijab or cover them selves appropriatly i think it's really really abysmal nd disapointing to see this happen . But then again who knows the secrets of the hearts allah tallah knows best.

When i went to pakistan i noticed how popular it was to have b/g friends nd seeing our pakistani m/f's doing this. Pakistan is more western than our selves living abroad then agian they say we living abroad r 2nd class citizens but given their current status I DON'T THINK THEY HAVE A CLASS THEMSELVES.

*Originally posted by chand_chera: *
When i went to pakistan i noticed how popular it was to have b/g friends nd seeing our pakistani m/f's doing this.

m/f?? u mean .. male/female, right?

Salaam people
i am from the UK and i see many so called muslim women not respecting the hijaab. they are all over guys, smoking,in cars with guys and wearing the most revealing clothes.

it all looks so hypocritical not to mention stupid!
i also wear hijaab and alhamdolillah i respect my hijaab and the dignity it gives me.

these women give out such a bad image of muslim women and totally degrade the whole concept of hijaab. there is totally no point at all in them wearing their "scarf".

i think that they should either stop wearing it or stop behaving in such an inappropriate manner.

Ms Aysha,

Well done :k:

You have just managed to turn around the whole argument carefully built by so many people in this discussion. Thank you for your contribution. :slight_smile:

these women(girls) that i have come across who wear a hijab and have a boyfriend were forced into wearing the hijnab,so they wear the hijab 4 their families sake and have boyfriends too.a gujraati friend of mine who wears a hijab also went out with guys...she wore the scarf coz all the women in her family wear a hijab.

I think we Muslims have made hijab a big deal! Whether one wears hijab or not, has a boyfriend or not, it's none of our business. At the same time, I don't think we should tell 'em to stop wearing hijab or stop having boyfriends because we all know there are good and bad people everywhere and in every religion and these people ARE part of Muslim society. Just learn to accept them the way they are. Don't try to change them, it probably won't work believe me!

Huuh!

After wearing hijab one has to maintain certain criteria. I am a strong believer in "mind your own Damn Business". If a girl likes someone and she happens to wear scarf its totally HARAM. Mind you Islam does give full right to women to chose their own husband. But we have all sort of rules and regulations for Hijabans another delimma of our culture]. The correct way is to tell your parents and get it legally done. I am not gona get in to that; its totally a different topic.

Its okay for a muslim girl who is NON-hijaban to have a boy friend?

First of all Islam forbids it.

What i dont understand is why do people have vague image.. I am not talking about from this prespective. Ex. When i talk and scream at guys in my claass or lets say happens to talk about philosophy [which you all know is simply beyond limits] Its consider a crime, You raise your hand 10 times in a class they think you are alien. " I thought you don't suppose to do that cause you wear scarf" Fudge you i can do whatever i want as long as its under islamic law and i am not breaking it. I can go on and on with several examples.

Ah this thought disgust me!