after hearing a couple of songs - ‘boohein baariyaN’ and ‘tu agar miljata’ i thought Hadiqa Kiyani was really good. but after listening to the rest of the songs on her albumn (forgotten the name) i don’t rate her so much. i don’t think she deserves all the attention she’s getting, although she looks very cute in her videos.
This is similar to pretty boy Shezad Roy who gets more popularity for his appearance than actual content IMO.
Abrar ul Haq - now he’s the real deal. catch him live if you can - his show is brilliant.
Having heard Hadiqa's songs, her lack of proper music training becomes apparent. Her voice is just not crisp compared to even someone like the Fariha sth girl. There are others as well who don't have the training but are able to get by.
Agreed about Roy!
Abrar is absolutely brilliant. Anyone know if he writes his own lyrics?
well i think Hadiqa's got a nice voice, lack of training or not. could do without the Michael Jackson type 'whoops' though.
well, everybody seems to know Abrar on first name terms here so i guess i should confess as well. in fact, i am Abrar's secret mentor. i helped him with money when he was a struggling student, he stayed at my place until he found a place of his own, and soon he is planning on releasing a 'Best of Abrar' albumn which will be dedicated to 'Xtreme - without whom none of this would have been possible'.
I agree with Mr. Xtreme. Hadiqa is too over rated. Perhaps its just that she is the only lady in the Pakistani pop music scene right now. Her borther has contibuted a lot for her forced success in the show business. She didnt dereve to be a DJ in MCC anyway as Fakhr e Alam was doing a good job.
She is a very nice person and the only parhi likhi larki in the music industry right now. Many have tried to break through, but I think besides Nazia and HAdiqa no one was ever able to gain a lot of popularity. But mind you there have been many who have tried. Fifi who even sang a song with Junoon. Then we had Candy from Milestones. And there are many other examples who didnt even gain that much popularity.
Anyways back to Hadiqa, yes she has a mediocre voice with mediocre music. I really dont know what the hype is all about!
*Let The Game get this straight, you talk to Hadiqa Kiyani on the phone,Abrar-Ul-Haq is your relative,you send The People's ARTIST some horrible private messages (which just shows how *innocent* you are,as the *shmucks* on Gupshup suggest);Does *it* run in your family?**Think About It.** People,That Is All.*
P.S.: Hadiqa Kiyani sucketh,and you all know that.
The People’s Van is going to get you,little shmucks,It is going to get you.
Are we talking of female pop singers, or female singers in general?
Shazia Manzoor is a whole lot more popular than Hadiqa ever will be. Hadiqa is more of a one-hit wonder, and has got the looks. Shazia Manzoor has a great voice and rhythm, and has a huge following in India as well, not to mention bhangra scenes around the globe. I believe Shazia's music is even more popular than Nazia Hassans', (though i know i will hear an earful from some about that), but its true.
Anyone remembers Candy from Milestones?
The best Pakistani female vocalist.
So what you wanted to See good has made you blind
And what you wanted to Be yours has made it Mine
So don't you lock up Something that you
Wanted to see fly
Hands are for shaking No not tying
I sure don't Mind a change But I fell on black Days
How would I know That this could be My fate
yes, but remember, Shazia's music didn't take off until it was remixed by India. At least Hadiqa's music is 100 percent pakistani. Plus, most of Shazia's music actually comes from Pakistani films, remixed by Indians of course.
When shazia makes a 100 percent pure Pakistani album, lemme know.
Yeah, I agree that Hadiqa Kiani is a good singer and performer, but I also feel that she might not be as hot if other girls came into the industry. But, why don't other girls make music? Most girls that try make one or two songs and then leave. there's this one chic, uzmah shah. I heard in concert once, and she's pretty good. She even announced an album, but its been 3 years since her declaration.
I heard this one girl in concert out here, she was in the Umar Sharif show a while back. A GREAT singer. I forgot her name though, but I swear her voice sounds like Kavita Krishnamurti
Also, there is this new singer - she's been doing film music so far - her name is Aasma. People think her voice sounds like Lata, so she now goes by the name of Aasma Lata (corny, i know). Not to mention Zara Sheikh. Both of these girls sang for chalo ishq larain (good music - good vocals), and now ali haider is planning on doing some duets w/zara sheikh. So i'm sure hadiqa will have some competition soon. And there's this new chic from Lahore or Islamabad, Naghmana or Naghma - I don't know how she is though.
Originally posted by Arnold Shalwaar Nicker:
** hmmmm whats ur name???
meri abrar say kaafi phone par baat ho chukki hai.
u prob. have his mob # then right?**
DEFIENATLEY I DO HAVE HIS CELL #..LOLZ..orr yeah he teach my bro when v were in LHR..u know the college attesonion i dont know how to spell its hard..abrar is educated..Pyari Ci Gudia thanks for ur info..really appericiate it....
DONT B JELOUS THE GAME.. ME DONT LIKE U.
all singerz have their own style…can’t say who is under-rated and who is over-rated…
and currently v have lotz of female singerz who are doing good work…singerz like
…
naghmana [moosa khan]…
asma lata [khoaye ho tum kahan]…
zara sheikh…
uzma shah [hayat and des-perdes]
humeira arshad…
fariha…
etc…
God bless u all…
DerVaisH
muhabatein theen kabhi apne dermian kitni…
bicha gaye hai anna hum mein doorian kitni…
abhi to toota hai dil hi teri judai mein…
girein gi hum pe abhi aur bijlian kitni…
Is Hadiqa over rated?
She is one of the few modern singers who make good music videos. She doesn’t have much competition either..so i guess the attention she gets is alright.
You guys need to cut her some slack. She’s got a good voice and a good understanding on what she wants to do with her music. Nazia came from a different time and Hadiqa belongs to a different generation. You cannot compare them. Either way, Hadiqa’s the best female singer since Nazia Hassan in our part of the world. I think she’s great - she’s also a knock out which makes it easier to sing her praises, if u know what I mean..
yes, but remember, Shazia’s music didn’t take off until it was remixed by India. At least Hadiqa’s music is 100 percent pakistani. Plus, most of Shazia’s music actually comes from Pakistani films, remixed by Indians of course.
When shazia makes a 100 percent pure Pakistani album, lemme know.
PyariC,
this is part of what i mean about her being over-rated. Do we give her extra marks just because she happens to be a Pakistani? She’s got plenty of talent IMO, and she looks good. but most of her songs are pretty forgettable. maybe she needs to get a new song writer