Habitual Complaining...Career Regrets...

Once again, I’m feeling sad about the fact…k…

Why didn’t I do medicine :–(

I see my old classfellows…dressed in their crisp white doctor’s gowns…going around treating patients…the ladies look so nice and sweet…it gives such a cool aura to them…those white doctors gowns… :frowning: Its such a respectable and noble profession… :frowning: you help people…you get duas…people look up to you, you’re a benevolent kind hearted healer…and being a doctor would have suited my temperament so much more than engineering :teary1: my favorite subject was even biology throuout school :frowning:

then why why why why why why yyyyyyyyyyyyyyy didn’t i do medicine :crying:

i even passed the interviews and test of the best med school in the country…i couldve been a doctor today.. :teary1:

i left all that :confused: and went abroad…to do engineering :confused: i never ever even thought i would become an engineer…since childhood i wanted to be a doctor…i dint even like the name of ‘engineering’…always seemed such a cold, impersonal and overly techincal profession…

aur ab…bachelors in computer science :frowning:

how foolish was i…why did i do this :crying:

It's never too late Irem bajii you should go for it!

I agree, its never too late if its something you would really enjoy.

It has taken me a long time to realize what I want to do and I didnt mind switching gears eventhough people think I am crazy to have left a potentially successful legal career pathway. What I am doing now is nothing related to my degree but I am enjoying this field and hope to be successful in it Insha'Allah, eventhough I am starting "late in the game" according to some. smile

Irem try my suggestions and see how you feel about things. there is nothing like test driving a profession for a while to see how you feel about it.

:smack: uff. man, this is scaring me for a number of reasons.

note: the following is pretty blunt. so, please, excuse my direct approach.

so, now you know you wanna do medicine. what is stopping you? why don’t you go for it? 'cause you’ll be older than your friends, or your classmates? Listen, when you’ll be a 75 years old half dead doc, you won’t look back and say “oh damn I wasted four/five years of my life learning something I didn’t continue with”. Instead, you’ll be glad that you figured out what you wanted to do and you did it despite taking a wrong turn (if you wanna call it that, I wouldn’t) at some stage. You got to where you had to go one way or the other even though it took some more time but you will surely have learned a lot of stuff on the way.

And why do you think your first degree was a waste? You saw a new country, a new culture, and you grew up as a person. And most importantly, you lived on your own and that is a huge education in itself.

Please, please, please, develop the courage to be different. You spent four years growing up and now if you realize that medicine is your calling, go for it. Don’t get bogged down by what falani auntie or uncle will say or not. You have to be honest with yourself. If you stay in your field and don’t enjoy it, will you ever achieve the level you’d like to see yourself at? Maybe you will but it would be substantially easier if you actually enjoyed what you did.

You spent four/five years learning discipline, logic and problem-solving skills. By virute of those spent years, you will bring a different perspective to medicine - that of an older than the average doc in Pak and that of a problem-solver. The purpose of being a doc is to help people. It is very likely that your experience in a different field will help you help your patients better. 'cause after all, it is all about them.

In the end, the decision is of course yours and I apologize for being blunt and presumptuous. But based on what I know about a typical young Pakistani, I think it is only social pressures that are holding you back from doing what you want to and can still do. If I’m wrong in my assumptions, feel free to throw out everything I said. :slight_smile:

The grass is allways greener on the other side of the road.

i agree with sambrilian.

indeed, it can be a very good combo. Infact, I know a renowned pediatric surgeon (also a professor) who did his bachelors in computer science. Backed by his unique insight on computer simulation n modeling of physiology and his hands on experience as a surgeon, he is serving as the vital link between the medical doctors and the engineers in developing cutting edge diagnostic tools and computer aided medical planning.

So I say go for it :jhanda:

If only I could trade with you, your cubicle life seems more appealing than my Biology!

paki mariyam :hehe: nai yaar, trust me, biology rocks.. :k:

2good2btrue…hmmm…thanks for the info n encouragement bro.. :slight_smile:

highsocietylady…thx for the reply…sigh…maybe u r right…but i never felt this strong pull towards any other profession…like business or law or something…u know…its just medicine which has always fascinated me…i dono :confused:

digitalsurgeon this is not a joke acha :snooty:

sambrialian…thanks for the reply…
hmm…ye sab…jazbati baatein…kehna boht asaan hae…lekin karna itna asaan nai balke kafi mushkal :-p
one cant just take crazy decisions in life like that :confused:
or maybe u r right…maybe i dont have the courage to be different…hmmm…khayr…its not like i hate my current profession or anything…i dono…maybe i’m just being ungrateful…i dont even know if i wana do medicine now..honestly…lekin u know…its just one of those things in life which u passed up but somewhere there’s always gona be a slight regret in ur heart that u could have had it…ya know :slight_smile:
aur waise bhee bro, put urself in my shoes n think abt it…? when u have graduated, n r working, u dont wanna start in a new field afresh…what am i gona do…go to a med skool in pak now? nahh…sounds like a crazy thing to do…
right now i’ve decided i’m not gona for med skool at this pt in life, might change my decision a couple months/years later…who knows

Haris Zuberi…thanks for the input bro

hmcq u r rite…but then again, just shadowing one doctor for a week only is not gona give me the full exposure to the profession…u know…? lekin that surely is an exc idea…thanks bro

Munni, thanks, and i am glad u r enjoying ur new field :slight_smile:

belle :slight_smile: thx yaara

One good reason not to became a doctor is that by not doing medicine, you almost completely eliminate the risk of ever having to give someone a rectal cavity examination :)

^ or treat erectile dysfunctions.

*Originally posted by irem: *
sambrialian....thanks for the reply...
hmm...ye sab...jazbati baatein...kehna boht asaan hae...lekin karna itna asaan nai balke kafi mushkal :-p
one cant just take crazy decisions in life like that :/
or maybe u r right...maybe i dont have the courage to be different...hmmm...khayr...its not like i hate my current profession or anything...i dono...maybe i'm just being ungrateful...i dont even know if i wana do medicine now..honestly...lekin u know...its just one of those things in life which u passed up but somewhere there's always gona be a slight regret in ur heart that u could have had it...ya know :)
aur waise bhee bro, put urself in my shoes n think abt it...? when u have graduated, n r working, u dont wanna start in a new field afresh...what am i gona do...go to a med skool in pak now? nahh...sounds like a crazy thing to do...
right now i've decided i'm not gona for med skool at this pt in life, might change my decision a couple months/years later...who knows

well it all depends on your own perspective. In my opinion what I said is actually logical and what you're saying is based on emotion and "haww haye what will the people around us say.". :D

I was in a class with a (30+ age) corporate lawyer who worked for a big shot firm in Toronto. After working for 7-8 years there, he left his 150k job and was in the middle of doing a second degree to apply to med school. I asked him how he could pass up on a such a lucrative salary and a flourishing career. His answer was that he hated getting up to go to work, he detested the CEOs etc he had to put up with. So, he went back to school. But again if you feel you're not ready to make such a decision, then you're not ready.

Good luck with whatever decision you make. I'm sure you will be successful with it. :)

sambrialian, thanks for the reply and good wishes bro :) As i was saying tho...its something that could have been...is not the most feasible option right now.. :) but yes it does pull a bit at the heartstrings coz it could have been a part of the present... sigh but khayr aye koi gal nai jindri ich ainj vi honda ae kadi kadi :D

you heard the lyrics of this amitabh song kabhee kabhee mere dil mein khayal aata hae yeah?

kabhi kabhi mere dil mein khayal ata hae
k zindagi teri zulfon ki naram chaon mein guzarne pati
to shadab ho bhi sakti thi
yeh ranj o gham ki siyahi jo dil pe chaai he
teri nazar ki shuaon mein kho bhi sakti thi

magar yeh ho na saka

aur ab ye aalam hai

ke tu nahin...tera gham, teri justuju bhi nahin
guzar rahi hae kuch is tarah zindagi jaise
ise kisi k sahare ki aarzoo bhi nahin

na koi rah, na manzil, na roshni ka suragh
bhatak rahi hai andheron main zindagi meri

inhi andheron main reh jaonga kabhi kho kar
main janta hoo meri hum-nafas, magar yoonhi
kabhi kabhi mere dil main khayal aata hai

that kinda summarises my tryst of fate with the medical profession and my current career outlook :D :)

MAD SCIENTIST hameshan puthi gal ee karna :smack:

Madhanee, do midwives in Pakistan wear white coats?

Madhanee, :hehe:. You are a blast, man. :hehe:

Irem :hug: :hug: :hug: Everyone experiences regrets. It’s the eternal ‘what if’ question that haunts us in most major life decisions we take. If you had gone into medicine, i am FAIRLY certain that you would still have had doubts as to whether medicine was the most suitable field for you.

i think you are doing well Alhamdulillah in the field you have chosen… give it time for you to feel more permanently settled in. Allah karay, over time you will find it was the right decision for you. Just give it time.

talked to my parents about applying to med school this weekend…my parents both thought it was a crazy idea…

papa said that life is not about studying and studying and medicine mein aur boht saal lag jayein ge, mummy said parhtay parhtay tees saal ki ho jao gee shadi vya kab ho ga, plus she said my other degree wll go to waste, she said that i can develop interest in the field i’m in if i want to…

lekin ofcourse if i really wana do it my parents wont stop me…

then i also thought DO I REALLY WANNA BE A DOCTOR? i know i hate the sight of blood. i hate going to hospitals its so depressing. do i really want to be around ill people the whole time, its gona be so depressing. u r not a free bird when u’re a doctor, u’re emotionally chained.

i wanted to be a doc coz a)i love bioolgy and b)its such a feminine n noble profession…

BUT…sometimes in life u just need to just LET GO of somethings…make peace with some decisions…and value what u do have…maybe i’m just being a nashukri :confused: i worked myself off to get the degree i do have, it was the toughest, and now i’m being ungrateful…i should infact cherish it..

if i want a job with more human interaction and dealing with ppl, i can steer my current profession towards that direction inshallah…

but more importantly, one shud be satisfied with what they have, rather than looking at other things…

NADIA lub u yara :hug: i was talking to two doc kurris who r mashallah in the best med schools in pak…and they were also telling me k r u crazy for wanting to be a doc? itna kaam hota hae, its so tough, be thankful…i think my problem is i am just not thankfull…
:hug:

Madhanee thanks for the suggestions…hmmm…bio informatics is not really my thing…i think i want to go into entreprenurship inshallah and social work…definitely…

now don’t start making me doubt my choice :hoonh: