Gym/Fitness culture

Fitness and healthy life is quite popular in West. In recent years, Pakistani youth are taking fitness seriously and joining gym or fitness club. Bollywood is major source of inspiration, various stars specially Salman Khan is famous due to his muscular body. In one of his interview, he was indicating that his body building image is helping youth inn constructive activity or hobby of healthy life. Youth are not wasting time in gali or mohalla but working their own bodies.

In Pakistan, facilities are not great. Proper diet and supplements are quite hard to fine. Some people take steroids injections that cause severe health risk.

What is your opinion on gym culture? Would you encourage these kind of activities for your own family members? Besides asked question, you can bring your own point of view or different angle on this topic.

Credit: Pakistan muscle-men: Dead weight – The Express Tribune

Re: Gym/Fitness culture

YES I DO Aerobic Exercise At home Daily but I am Not moti just for fitness :stuck_out_tongue:

Having an active and fit lifestyle is good. If that means going to the gym then why not!
One can even take up other healthy hobbies such as trekking, hiking, swimming etc.

Yes a healthy and a fit lifestyle is a must and lack of facilities should not be an excuse because it's not necessary to join gym.Walking,jogging,cycling and playing different sports helps a lot.

I find it interesting that you mention Bollywood as a source of inspiration. I know a lot of young, middle aged & older Pakistani people that are into health & fitness & I can assure you none of them even listen to Bollywood let alone watch it. If my husband wants a six pack, I highly doubt it's Salman Khan who has inspired him. Now one can't deny that a part of the younger generation might be inspired by the celebrities in TV & film industry but if anything it would be Hollywood & Bollywood at the same time. Not to forget the plethora of health & fitness knowledge Internet has to offer.

I remember my older cousins in Pakistan including the girls were going to gyms in the early 90s. I think it has more to do with one's educational background & how aware the families are.

My father in law is in his late 70s & he is MashaAllah a very fit man. At one point on the pasr we were hiking together & he put me to shame because of how he could still keep on going & i couldn't.

All he does is basic walking & a lot of it & despite not having any major health problems he always knows what to eat & how to eat moderately. Same was the case with my Nana. No gym but walking & eating right & if it wasn't for his memory loss he would still be going strong in his early 70s.

People are more aware now. Every morning show in Pakistan is talking about health & fitness these days.

As for my own opinion. It will definitely be a big thing in our family. My child is 3 years old & already knows what running, warm up, cool downs & stretches are. She loves her vegetables & fruits as much as she loves her candies & chips.

As a family we try to do more outdoor activities than movie or game nights at home. We just need a "Bahaana" to explore the city. Find state parks so we can be more on our feet then bottoms.

Health & fitness is a huge thing that's even encouraged in Islam. We ought to take care of our bodies & teach our kids to do the same.

aao luddo khelen :cb:

On serious note to OP: Before gyms, there was akhaRa culture and we have a city Gujaranwala ‘city of Pehlwans’. So giving total credit to bollywood for inspiration is misplaced.

chalen green mera or pehli bari bhe meri :snooty:

Bint e Naeem, Muqa.... My Nana used to walk in morning and evening and he was more than 90 years old.

It's great that lately there has been increased awareness and emphasis on healthy living. If there is one thing that turns me off from a guy, it's his toond (combined with ganja head).

I agree with bint-e-naeem that you're giving bollywood too much credit. And to maintain a healthy lifestyle, gym isn't necessarily the answer. There are so many other activities one could do to stay fit. I wish more pakistani uncles and housewives took this more seriously so we wouldn't have so much serious health problems in our older generation.

Ps: no ludo for MQ. Unhe exercise ki bohut zaroorat hai.

Tond is sign of ameeri...

Tond is sign of ameeri…

:nahi: laziness and overeating

Gym main jitni bhi bandian hoti hian unka goal kuch makhsos hison par hota hia… idhar nahi bataya jaskta hia… :cobra:

Lol abs and thighs? I have a cousin in islamabad who was overweight and struggled with rishtas for many years. She finally managed to find a diet and gym regime that worked for her. She looks easily 10 years younger now.

I think walk and namaz are enough exercise for me

Haji sb of Haji club... kehty hian... london ko hor parian chahiye hoti hian... par khud bhi to apni sehat dekhian....

App fajer ki naamz ke liye uthtey hain :hmmm:

I think the reason people are more mindful of their health and are taking fitness more seriously is the increased access to health and fitness information via the internet. Another factor that I think plays a role is the changing cultural attitude towards fitness. In the past, certain cultures viewed a bit extra weight as a positive thing and didn't view it as unhealthy or being overweight. These days people are aware that even a bit of extra weight may be harmful and they're also more aware of the negative health consequences being overweight.

Personally, I work out 5 days a week and rest on the weekend. It's become a habit as I played football ("soccer" in the US) throughout high school.

The health culture has changed significantly amongst us. Only couple of decades ago, people who were fat and bulky, who had tremendous amount of unhealthy eating habits were the icon of health for us. They were called Pehelwaans. There diet consisted of unhealthy amount of fat, milk, eggs and other fat producing food.

Thank God, because of awareness, things have change now. People are realizing that eating fresh vegetables and fruits are very important. Slim and fit is much better than fat

its the simplest things that really matter. the rest is just hype. your elders were doing it right, as were probably most of the rest of our elders two-three generations ago. diabetes? what diabetes..

Nadi mein nahana, thandurusti ke liye labhadayak hai.

Old jungle saying. Lee Falk