Guys

Guys who want to marry professionals/career women, what are you guys actually looking for? Money, trophy wives, showing off, please add …?

Re: Guys

Now a days with the economy, need two incomes to live comfortably especially in the US. I still think a good portion of guys prefer housewives.

So money it is!

You guys do realize that you don’t have a right on your wife’s earnings. As a man I wouldn’t ask for her money, no matter what ,as its my responsibility to provide for her. Religiously speaking.
But I have seen majority of couples living comfortably on one income that too a good lifestyle in the US as you yourself said a good portion of guys prefer housewives.

Aren’t working women opposite to trophy wives.
Working men get trophy women.
Working women get, calls from work, coffee on the go… training at work… etc…

Working wives != women with professional degrees. Men who want trophy wives will only pursue women with professional degrees and then expect them not to work while rejecting girls with home economics degrees. Also known as the #doctorbahu](http://www.paklinks.com/gs/usertag.php?do=list&action=hash&hash=doctorbahu) phenomenon.

These days I feel guys are more unrealistic with their expectations than girls–this doctor bahu phenomenon has affected everyone. Even the high school grad wants a doctor wife. :halo:

I have seen most guys in the US wanting working wives. Even the Islamic hijabi ones are supposed to look after the house, kids, take care of the in laws, look good and bring home the money too. And yes, not part time, full time. And they have the final say on how that money is to be spent.

Some time ago I was talking to an aunty who is quite religious by the way and wears the hijab too and said that she was looking for someone for her son, she needed to be pretty, tall and they would be supportive of her work. I immediately asked if they meant supportive if she wanted to work of was that a requirement that she work and her daughter chimed in saying it was a requirement. I have seen countless examples like this.

So the answer is " money".

The woman has no obligation to give her money to her husband to help with the house finances. If she works that money is hers. She can do what she likes with it. The husband has the responsibility of finances. Don’t understand these kinds of people who look for a daughter in law who’ll just be an extra pay cheque. If the guy can’t afford his finances why is he getting married? :confused:

I went to a desi speed dating event this weekend.

I just don’t know what to make of it. I can understand why people say we are ABCD’s though. There is a totally different crowd of Pakistanis out there that I did not know even existed. We only have pretty much the working middle class of Pakistan out here who have settled down and their kids grew up here. Kids like me grew up with nothing and we built ourselves from our own hard work…or we went down the drain with bad influences from public school.

But I met a totally different crowd now, and I can see where my perspective on desi men is just skewed. Granted, this more educated “posh” class, like one of the guys called it, is a MINORITY of Pakistani immigrant families, and a MINORITY of Pakistanis in general including those living in Pakistan, it’s just a totally different mindset.

What I noted is what X2 sometimes talks about. People want EVERYTHING and their expectations are really unrealistic. I can’t tell you how many guy-girl pairs were hitting it off at that event, and they each flat out said “no” to each other, that it’s not going to work.

Some patterns I noted:

-about 5 guys just didn’t talk to the girls, they cooly stood off to the side, and just drank their cokes and pretended to look bored. Great, good to know that’s what you learned from your high family pedigree and state of the art education.
-a lot of desi guys are out there NOT practicing Islam. Like at all. But they want someone who is desi-ish. So they want the girl to be great at making a biryani, but they spend the evening talking to the girl who showed up in a knee high skirt.

I mean, I dunno, I could go on but I have a headache from the weekend. It was a lot of … acting American, but wanting a desi girl to be desi-ish, but still super hot, and wearing westernized clothes or revealing clothes with lots of make up…but then still feeling dissatisfied, that they didn’t meet any “simple” girls.

I honestly saw very few real conversations going on. No one talked about their values. They just did small talk.

I don’t know. I saw SO MANY beautiful accomplished girls, and for these guys to walk away shrugging like “meh” … it’s pretty crazy. Like what are you looking for??

I’m a 29 year old British Pakistani investment banker who would like to marry someone in a few years who as you put it, is a professional career woman. I don’t expect my wife to do maid service - me and my brothers do our own cleaning/laundry (not doing anyone a favor) nor do I expect a roti making machine (I cook my own food or eat out). I under no circumstance want a dolly bird - more trouble then they’re worth. I want someone I can feel safe in a relationship with and someone who understands with me its one strike and your out - 1 word 3 times, we’re done. No think of the kids, think what people will say etc - let the chips fall where they fall. The same rules apply to my relationships with parents/siblings/friends/relatives/business acquaintances. In fact I’ve cut off a large proportion of my relatives/friends for their betrayals and mischievous nature.

This is the era of equality - I expect my wife to work and contribute to household expenses (hers/mine household - not my parents). Those who will spout Islamic views on the wife keeping her money, i’m kool with that, then she shouldn’t expect 50% of my net assets if we divorce, keeping it all sharia complaint after all. i expect her to go back to work after she finishes maternity leave no stay at home mummy bs - we can get an au pair. I expect her to sign a prenup. That pretty much sums it up.

P.S. No wahabi’s please.

Its more about ambition… I would like someone who is ambitious. Also, career / a real job teaches you so much about yourself and life so even if a girl stops working after marriage (for whatever reason), I think past experience would make her a more rounded person

Why can’t all this leave it up to couple themselves. What i am saying is, it is true that gone are the days when one income could support household. I have seen..jahan par understanding ho..these things do not matter. Yes everyone have preferences..but none of us know..how our tomorrow is gona be like. Main thing is, encourage, motivation and understanding which goes both ways. I have learnt that, people prior to getting married..put their finances and discuss these in detail and how are they going to manage and do what. And go from there.

You are an investment banker. You probably make a pretty penny! Hard to find someone who matches all that ( 50% of household expenses I presume) and is compatible on a mental level too as well as physically attractive. Top that with the pre nup. Nothing wrong with protecting your assets, though. Good luck with all that.

It’s good that you are sure about what you want and have laid it out there too, no surprises. I hope you do that with your future wife too.

I want a virgin barbie doll like girl with big tits and 4 kids idk

Umm folks, this isn’t a Zarooraterishta thread!!

Majority of them: for money
few of them: because they want a well rounded person and in their opinion a working girl has a well rounded personality than a non working girl.

Well Rounded kya hota hai?

Are non-working girl square?

Its clear that its hard to get all in one. So, I wish to have all and id have to marry a few then

36-24-36

That’s what I’m looking for.

Both working men and women are better than non-working men and women. I mean, kaamchor log mujhay bilkul nahi pasand. :naraz: