Guys - my engagement is off ( i think )

Re: Guys - my engagement is off ( i think )

How could his sister know that you were traditional? The guy must have been the one who made objections and then his family is making excuses (including his khala). Us bandy ko ye sab pehley nazar nahi aya tha kia? :mad:

Anyways, no use to discuss all this now. He was a loser and doesn’t deserve you. Dafa karo.

Wese hum larkian jain tau kahan jain. Some people say we are too modern and liberal for them. For others, we are too traditional. Humain zinda bhi rehney dein gey log k nahi?

now you dont want to marry a puppet do u

hehe damn right girl! dafa karo!

I know he used to report EVERYTHING to his sister, she even called during our date. She probs didnt like the way i sounded.

To be honest I dont care anymore!

On to bigger and better things!

Sheyrish - yes the one thing that i need to make sure i dont do is develop weird trust issues which i feel happening but i need to control.

so happy for you to be honest :) you deserve somebody so much better

For the next time, have certainmilestones/ targets in mind as time passes -

end of Week 1 - Initial screening
end of Week 3 - get to know person better
end of Week 4 - make decision

Maximum time invested - 1 month.

End of 6 months - screened 6 candidates - landed Prince Charming!

Since you are a scientist/doctor, figured you would relate better to milestones :)

fundamental flaws in ur suggestion

u should yourself to be treated as a project too then - and in most cases guys are out shopping just like in this case

Sorry you took my post literally - I was addressing the 6 months' investment OP made - was trying to inject some humor and at same time convey that do not invest too much time without being sure of the person.

Cheers.

first of all wow^^^

good riddance indeed…you deserve better

^^ I do agree…6 months seems way too much to invest in a potential fiance… good one southie :hehe:

First of all....PHEW.... good riddance.

You obviously weren't too comfortable with the whole rishta - especially when you realised he was 9 years older, than the inital 7 that you had thought. And the whole sister thing - wow- how weird, especially the reportings....cringes at the thought that had a marriage resulted from this.

There's something bigger and better for you out there; this guy wasn't the right person, and now wasn't the right time. Allah knows best.

lol inspiron, what a weirdo you ran into!!

Mashallah you've a good Naseeb and the dua's of your elders who protected you against a weirdo like this .. Mithi pao!

Count yourself lucky you didnt land in a family like that .. too traditional? seriously ?! hmm!!

good riddance and that too at the right time Alhamdullilah.

Keep your chin up, be thankful to Allah for the timely revalation and know that it *his *loss :snooty: :smiley:

All prayers for you :slight_smile:

Inspiron,

I am happy for you...happy because you should know this now versus after taking a step and then regretting it.

Good job.

He lied about his age...and who knows ...this may not have been his first time and he may do that in the future. With his wishy-washy communication, he misled you, your parents, and even his parents (if they're completely innocent). And neither him not his family apologized ....though I doubt they would have cuz it would have been awkward. What goes around eventually comes around. You dodged a bullet...be grateful to Allah...and move on with your life. Take a break from the rishtas for a while and just concentrate on YOU and surround yourself with positive people. Best wishes.

Oh God it's 'the madrans', you're lucky you got away. They're all crazy.

wth you dodged a bullet. my friends cousin married this guy that would report everythign ot his sister...and she even walked in on them the night of the wedding because he didn't want to leave the door locked in case his "behan needed something"....be thankful. and best of luck

this is super creepy. :bummer: So moral: a potential SIL could be as dangerous or even more than a MIL :smiley:

Happy for you inspiron that you found things before hand.

Rishta processes are tough and sometimes family values are entirely different and people find each other different and scary. Haing a sister 'advise' him on the rishta matters is one thing, but to say no to a rishta on her advice even if he himself did not have MAJOR objections, well thats quite stupid of the guy.

You have matured and learnt a lot during this process and GS community is happy for you.

like you said, to bigger and better things.

:eek: Whaaat? I hope the sis was under 10 and didnt have any other person looking for her otherwise it’s quite weird :bummer:.

LMAO!!! When the meddling sister gets married and is having her own suhaag raat.....the girl should walk in on them. Interrrupt them with unnecessary questions...play knock knock ditch.....embarrass her by giving her free sex advice and then apologize by saying "Oohps...silly me for helping u out...you probably know everything already since you used to walk in on your brother and I"....and embarrass her even further. Muawhahahahaha.

"Take a break from the rishtas for a while and just concentrate on YOU and surround yourself with positive people. Best wishes."

Redvelvet's advice (#93) was so right on, had to cut and paste it again (hope RV does not mind)