guy-phobia

Why is this so? why does in our pakistani society, its considered “bad” to speak to or know guys? Even just as friends, what is morally, ethically wrong with it? I see that alot, in my day to day personal life. “Larkoun say baat karnay wali larkian achi nahi hotein etc etc”. And I dont mean even mean meeting people outside univ or work. I just mean my friends from Pak/Oman etc who I can only talk to online.
I dont think talking to a guy, any guy is going to hurt me in any way, since most of my friends are guys and they are wonderful, super nice people. Then why should I shun away from them?

Any ideas?

Re: guy-phobia

I guess breeding ground for lesbians in the closet. You know Iranian chicks are known for lesbianism. If you ever get a chance read a book "Whirlwind" by James Clavell. Interesting insight information.

I think from a parent's perspective it's more about what 'other people will say.' God I heard this phrase throughout my whole teenage years. My parents would say, "Sure you can have guy friends at school, talk with them, but don't be too close friends because people will talk." They trusted me, but didn't trust the guys. I think it's generally assumed that girls and guys can never truly be platonic especially in our culture.

It has just been brought down through the ages that guys and girls can never be friends so our parents follow that rule to the T.

Its all bull****.

Yeah come on my muslim ummah sisters stand up and break down this wall. Help your ummah brothers. Rebel against your parents.
Actually I propose a universal "kiss a boy day" for girls.
CM can you help me get that resolution in UN passed. It will help the Ummah exponentially. Trust me once all the sexual frustration is taken out of Middle east they will think progress.

Why don't you just ask Mushy to pass the law. You have his e-mail after all.

Tsk Tsk CM, Yaar He doesnt have the pull in UN like you do. Plus he is too busy in Wana area apprehending evil doers.

Ira I think it has to do with all the what ifs . Our parents worry about us and they think that if they keep us away from all the possible things that can go wrong, they are doing the right thing...what they dont realize is sometimes this harms us instead of helping.

I dont think there is anything wrong with talking to a guy, not all are sick perverts -some yes- but we have the nice people who are around when we need them. But in the end I think parents just worry too much. I know I would. People can hurt you even those you trust.Its sad...but yeah I would try to keep my kids away from all the possible pains of life too.

^^ But dont you think that it is being over protective. I mean the kids should have confidence to talk. I think it is a unhealthy sign to discourage girls to talk to men, plus that is what breeds sexual frustration in our society.
You know they did a study recently in HBR (Harvard business reveiw) and mentioned that in India, it is common for men and women to hold hands in public (a new development) a sign of progressive society. I personally didn't read the article but heard it in a debate.

You should stay away from guys, because they are icky, and they just want one thing. It's a dirty, dirty thing they want.

Yeah, this rule is so archaic. I do not know how to play cricket. I am very angry that I do not know how to play cricket. You know WHY I don’t know how to play cricket? Because I was never allowed to go outside and play cricket with the boys (i.e. my cousins and their friends). Why? Because they are boys. I spoke with my cousins - they agreed to teach me - and we figured we can play together without their friends. Just me and my cousins. Yet AGAIN, the elders refused. :mad:

The only thing we were allowed to play were cards and that too sitting in front of my nanimaa’s face so she could watch us.

:mad2:

kicks a wall

Ya i also wonder why ppl say if you talk to guyz these kind of girls
are not mannerd or something. This thing is typical pakistani thing lol!
I think there is nothing wrong to talk to a guy or be friends with them.

Yes being over protective has its down sides. But perhaps some parents do not realize they are being a little too careful.

Sexual frustration has got absolutely nothing to do with not being able to have a quick chat with a guy friend. Not at all. Some people can control themselves, others cant. Thats a whole different issue altogether.

Plus I dont see how talking to guys is going to help with the physical urges.far from it.

You should spend some time in Pakistan and you'll see what I am talking about. Go infront of a girls college and there are lines of cars waiting and they aint the parents its the guys looking at girls and waiting for that one little moment be it a quick harmless smile or a "hanh ji". There is also a saying in Pkaistan "Jo huns hgye wo phuns gye"

Wrong. We all are. Most are just good at hiding it :stuck_out_tongue:

Well you’re not. At least not that I have seen.You bring it out in the open and I will stab you.:stuck_out_tongue:

Verizon— well thats cultural. Although I have to admit girls are pretty free there. I mean I know for a fact that most of my friends and relatives are quite free when guys are around. They talk and all. Rarely do you see a girl who wont talk to a guy at all.Plus in Pakistan cousins/friends/ get together I guess the difference is that everyone is there -and they’re rarely just on their own.

YO know. when I met PCG, she wouldn’t even look at me. Kept staring at the walls, whistling some bolllywood song…Although sometimes silence is golden. :k:

:-/

What does that have to do with anything?

I didn't look at you much not because you're a guy, but because you're horrible to look at. Haha. No just kidding. Dude, I was exhausted, and the atmosphere of the malaysian resteruant was nice. My actions rarely mean anything.

and there was no bollywood song that I was singing!

:mad:

Haha, actually I was more surprised at our Karim uncle more than anything. Crazy old man.