Gupshup on facebook

I just found out about the group on facebook accidently…Why don’t we have any information available on this forum regarding this group. I’m not really thinking of joining it but may be there are lots of other posters who want to join the group.

Re: Gupshup on facebook

hmmm, its not official i guess and ppl dont post there much.

I don't like facebook. Don't ask me why

^Why not? Please tell us...please please please.

haan haan big bataoo

mere kaam ki cheez naheen hay

:hinna:

woh kion BB batao

I think once you post something on Facebook, they "own" it for eternity....:)

they can do what ever they want with it............

Just like GS.............:)

I don't think if that's entirely true.....you have the security settings that you can use to restrict your info and pics to people who aren't on your friends list.

Gupshup is different... on gupshup admins can access to private messages and profiles and private blogs...

**whats the link Hareem Ji? where is this group and whats it all about? why aren’t joining? any catch there? :hmmm:

Have you heard of Facebook? Or should I say Haven’t you heard of Facebook?

Usmani sahab aap kon si duniya main rehte hain? :hehe:

The fb privacy settings allow you to restrict access to your content by other members, however, as a site, facebook can do pretty much anything it wants including resell any information/content/pics you put on their site to any third parties. That's why it usually gets a pretty dismal rating when it comes to end-user trust of the website. It's all in their sign-up agreement which of course, none of us take the time to read.

Re: GS, only select admins have access, and they don't have time to snoop around PMs and private blogs. It's only in instances where a problem/issue is reported that they have this option available to resolve these issues. Again, it's a trust issue... one can be paranoid or laxed about these things based on one's predilections, experiences, and of course hearsay.

:k: make sense but then it’s totally in our control what info we post on internet, right?

exactly - and that’s what I keep telling people who whine about confidentiality and privacy issues. We have the control over what is posted and we should invest time in educating ourselves as to who can access our content and what can be done with that content.

Sorry to go off-topic though… Re: the fb gupshup group, I don’t think it’s officially endorsed by Paklinks. It’s a user-initiated group, and since we aren’t really in direct competition with fb, I don’t think anyone from the admin team has thought about getting seriously involved with it. However, if membership in that group increases manifold, and people start to strongly associate it with GS, then we should definitely look into it.

sunaa to hai par meraa koi account nahiiN hai…maiN ne link to us group kaa maangaa thaa…kaun saa group hai…agar vahaN sabhi apne GS saathii haiN to kia buraaii hai. aapne bataayaa nahiiN k aap kiuN nahiiN join karnaa chahatiiN? agar bataanaa munaasib samjheN to plz bataayeN varna i will understand :slight_smile: thank you**

senior people from GS are members of the fb group but as Lucid has already mentioned, we prefer not to post there due to the rights that fb has over the material posted on their site.

at GS we have similar rights however we have established our credibility with our membership by NOT using your material for either our personal or commercial gain.

at this point in time it is unlikely that paklinks/gs will pursue a formal relationship with fb.

You're giving your whole life away the moment you connect to the Internet. If you have problems with admins reading your PM's then you're better off to stay away from gupshup, no one's forcing you to join.

Perhaps Cheegs has left some stuff unsaid here and I want to make sure that there is no misunderstanding.....

as Lucid said in a previous post.....Admins don't have time to access your PMs, private blogs, etc.......we have the ability but really, we don't have the inclination, interest or time to spare.

Cheegum's first sentence is what really should hit home with those folks that are worried about their personal lives becoming public. Nothing is totally private on the internet. Nothing.

Forewarned is forearmed; act with prudence.

Only if you decide to do so, or are unaware/ignorant. Again, it's up to the end-user to decide how much of their life they want to put online. Ideally, this should be an a priori deliberate decision as opposed to a post hoc realization of something that just happened as a consequence of your Internet use and online participation.