Gupshup loosing to Facebook as well?

Is it true?

Re: Gupshup loosing to Facebook as well?

probably. looks like it. traffic to GS is declining.

Not because of facebook alone. Instagram, twitter, whatsapp etc.

Lefty loosie
Rightie tightie

GS has no comparison with FB or any other social media. Its basically apples and oranges.
GS was established purely for Pakistani/desi community all over the world who can share their thoughts about general life, political, sports etc issues as well as solve their problems like challenges faced by expats, matrimonial etc. The progress it made over the number of years is remarkable. Its been here for more than 20 years from nowhere blossomed to a great extent. If you google many topics you can still easily find one of the GS links somewhere in top results. But the prime or most active members of GS community have moved on with their lives. The "reason" that brought them to GS doesnt exist anymore.

On the other hand new social landscapes have evolved which are more widespread and provide an opportunity to connect with your neighbors, colleagues, relatives and what not. So that makes it easy. And remember there were many strong social networking sites like myspace or orkut etc vanished. We are stil here. I'm quite sure if GS makes some tech changes, it can easily be the best forum for Pakistanis. A simple proof is a lot of those members who still stealthily spend a lot of time on GS hovering around threads, members profiles etc without posting anything ;)

Too many GS members are moderates.

;)

Southie why you always act like a character from "Saas bhi Kabhi bahu thee..."

There gotto be some objection, right?! :p

which particular character from Saas bhi kabhi bahu thi? Baa… uss ne to aab e hayat pee rakha tha :nahi:

Who is Tulsi (mazloom character)?

I actually never watched that show properly but everytime I had a glance someone was ranting about someone else. And then there is a 100x zoom to the focus of that person as much that you can count the hair inside the nostrils

I had a aunt, and everytime I used to visit her she was watching this show and she was like shh.. i cant talk right now till this finishes.. :\

That would be @Monk pra.. No matter how much he tries to simplify nobody can understand him without having a headache..

Arafat, KP, BBQ (Huma), Chilly, CG, MSecret, Niksik, Sweefs, X2, aaliyah, LP, esix, Hadeel, Slims, entire cafe crew, Miainva, kaun,sehrysh, myself, Lusi list goes on....a lot of oldies from 2008-12 moved on.half out of that list got married, including myself, some who got married then had kids. and these are the people i know myself let alone other people. at times myself ive barely been on gs.

While whatsapp groups etc have made an effect the bigger effect has been the 'university' generation has simply moved on or simply blogs, as evident by pvt blogs. Including mods, someone above has said we have too many mods, yeah I agree. needs to be rectified.

The website has too many forums too, imo, and would do well to condense, as Pa, life1 etc get the most traffic as it is, a few forums are simply outdated cafe etc and others have been dead for as long i can remember eg auto forums. i sometimes find the page too much of a hassle, let alone for our members, our entire system is outdated, we still have tech issues that havent been solved for years. however such changes can only be done by azkar at his discretion. if people have suggestions about this post away, im sure we can pass it along.

For the record, I wasn't commenting on moderators. El Sid woukd verify.

Re nostril hair, El Sid, how many per sq..cm cross section al.area. and how many per cc nose.

Thank you.

oh my bad, but even if you were i'd agree with you

No problems Shak. Was just having fun with the gentleman from Noo Yawk.

Agreed. :k:

It's not Facebook or any social media, it's smartphones that killed GS. Simply put, anything that I can't conveniently access through my phone using an app, I don't access at all. GS does not have the mobile platform infrastructure that is required to be alive in this day and age of 24/7 connectivity. I am sure many are like me who hardly use computers for any personal computing

How does one do personal computing without a personal computer.

Agreed with TLK. If you guys can make an associated app, this place would take off again.

Well..
You dont find me on facebook.. :snooty:

^ The gentleman has a keen eye for value. Word is that he exited FB at the right time, and has turned to GS as a contrarian.