Gupistan - Fear Allah!

CM,

Of all the people, I can't believe I am having to explain to you why the Moderators are not elected. Seriously, the logistics required to implement such a situation are not within our reach at this time. I can't say that it will not happen somewhere in the future.a

And let me also add that you are mistaken when you assume that Mods are not involved in the making of policy. They most certainly are. At the very least in the form of their opinion. In fact, there have been instances where the Mods have been allowed to script and implement their own preference of rules in their respective forum. Whether or not this has been a beneficial process is still debated.

Now...with reference to the specific topics you have brought up....I can't really address them without reviewing them from a to z. I am not up to speed on what happened with the images in the signature fiasco, nor am I abreast on the insulting the quran threads. All I can say is that I will enquire and make an effort to understand what's behind.

One thing I can tell you right now is that respect is earned. You know that and so do I. The only difference between whether or not I give an Admin respect or you give him/her respect is the size of the picture to which you and I may be privy.

Muzna its not about how mods are chosen. I am using that as an example of imposing ideas and in this case people on the general community. You do it if you choose a mod. People are always gonna have problems with the mods chosen. I know i have. Take Roman as an example for the religion forum. I still think to date he is the best man and was the best mod for religion. But you remember how many people had mental breakdown because god forbid a liberal muslim was incharge of religion. You guys weathered that storm for a good long time.

Gupshup has imposed like any website certain restrictions and certain liberities. My only request is that you put that down in writing so that there is actual "justice" in the implementation of the rules.

The idea is not to offend people. The idea is to make things transparent. Transparency brings understanding as well as respect in the case when decisions are taken properly. Just like you said respect is earned. With the current amount of back tracking and unclear/biased implementation of the rules, the admin are not earning any respect.

*Originally posted by Muzna: *
You CM, have been around for a long time and we look towards members like yourself to be a stabilizing factor. With your advice in view, I will try my best to take a more active role.

The difference of approach and attitude I was talking about, can be seen clearly here. This is the same CM who has been banned(?) and is been ignored for reply by other admin.

Members makes any site worthy, you guys need to listen them carefully what they wanna say, do not just pick few lines which you do not like and start ignoring them, try to read from left to right and top to bottom and try to get a hold the message, no member will do any insult or mockery to any of your team unless they are provoked and not been answered straight or answered rudely. There are numerous examples, so many gem type user have left the board just because of administration, the best example I can give you for now is of “Amal”, he was a real poet and because of him so many visitors were visiting and participating. One day he raised some issue about betterment of poetry section but he was not answered nicely, when he said kay he will leave, instead of stopping him answer was similar to GTH, and then we have lost him.
So many nice people have left gs already, general section has become a mess or corner room part2, café is like a fish market new comers have no respect for seniors, religion forum is like a war zone,
I will say close religion section for any debate, we do not need any debate on religion and faith, no one is a mufti or allama here to prove other wrong, every one here is only for behas-barai-behas, no one can be changed on the net. Religion section should provide only guidance according to Quran and sunna’t with reference, and other religious questions, and only those who are of same Fiqa, should answer them, if a Shia’t person asked a question and a sunni comes and claim that this question is haraam, while in shia’t fiqh that is ok, so he will never get the answer except a war. Make at least 2 sections one for shia and one for sunni, other can be fit into non-Muslim religion sections.

There should be a zero tolerance policy on whole board, no personal attack, no religious attack and no national attack should be allowed.
Increase the number of mod in each section according to the time zones, there should be at least 4-5 mods in most busy sections.
In religion section; mod selection should be on the basis of sect. one shia mod and one sunni mod at least to understand and answer any fuss.

Grouping and backbiting should be stopped immediately in all forum including mod and admin sections.

Before admin take any decision, they should inform other admin and should have their approval before they take any action. No admin should be allowed to take any decision on their own as a result other admin start hanky panky as if they know nothing about that.

When you impose a law, try to act on it as well, do not ban any person without giving any reason and points, let complete the 30 points first and then ban them, as per rules.

*Originally posted by CM: *
The idea is to make things transparent. Transparency brings understanding as well as respect in the case when decisions are taken properly. Just like you said respect is earned. With the current amount of back tracking and unclear/biased implementation of the rules, the admin are not earning any respect.

Well said.
I have already made this grievance a priority. Let's see how far I get.
Hang in there.

That is all i ask for.

Mahkan98 i was banned. Well deserved as well as i broke the rules. Bju hell Faisal deserved what he got as well.

Bju hell Faisal deserved what he got as well.

What do you mean?
If you ask me, few admins besides deserve to a ban, but I don't want to request their banning here just to save my subsequent banning with no warning and points. Just wait and see how long this can go.

Considering you are a multinick you should know.

Any further clue ? which ID of him ?

I'm don't know that these last few posts are about so I'll ignore them.

CM,

Can you please define in more detail what you mean by "transparency"?
I'm just curious.

Ok examples from sites i belong to. One i have been at since May 2000. The website has around 10 hardcore rules you do not break. Talking about Warez sites, downloading hacked software etc. You do that banned automatically. Discussing anything that is illegal in the US like smoking drugs. Banned automatically.

One example of transparency is him banning his own Moderator. A moderator that joined when the site was created in 1998 was banned in 2003 for using foul and abusive language. Like all other bannings. He was given two warnings. The third was a 2 week banning and then lastly he was banned permanently. And you arent allowed back to the site when you are banned.

That will never happen on gupshup. Because Mods arent normal members anymore. They are above the rules.

Another example of transparency. Every time a post is moved or editted, you are informed of what rules you broke and why it was moved in a pm. Also the mods ask if you have any questions or would like to discuss the action. This is not a rule. This is generally what the forums do. They respect their membership and work for them. The difference between a mod PM on another site and gupshup is like getting an letter from the House of Lords and a letter from the Khoka on your street corner. Also thus you cant complain a mod is biased against you.

An example on Gupshup. Myself and Mad Scientist (medic) posted a thread in general. Later on it was moved to Cafe by Xtreme. The next day Xtreme himself stated in a thread by Minerva that this thread is cafe material but for you i will bend the rules. So much for transparency and fairness eh?

Transparency is linked to fairness, equality and basic all round respect and manners.

Another example for a politics forum. Mods do not interfere with conversations going on in their fourms, unless this wish to and explicitly state that. Then another mod is assigned moderation of that particular thread.

An example on Gupshup. If say Umer, Nescio and PCG are participating in a thread, they will in turn not moderate that thread. If the forum belongs to one them, they will ask for a moderator to step in and check that they themselves dont cross the line. Other moderators are inencouraged to edit the mods in the discussion to make sure they dont cross the line.

Mods on these sites are there to set the example. On gupshup they are the exception to all the rules.

On these forums we get to choose our mods. Which i personally like. But you cant do that on gupshup because you will have intolerant idiots running amuck.

One thing i like about the forum where the mod was banned was that questions of policy are answered within 24 hours without fail. There is no ignoring. There is no bouncing back and forth. There is no favoritism.

Gupshup is not like that. Here you ignore and bouce and if you dont like what the person says you call them an idiot and attempt to ban them.

Now just some additional information. On the forums i mentioned i am the only practicing conservative muslim. I have said alot of stuff that has gotten me the ire of mods here. But there i have stated stuff like the attack of Sept the 11th does not deserve to be mourned as it is. 2000 is a low number etc. I didnt get flamed. I didnt get harrassed. I didnt get banned.

On gupshup, once you are a mod you are god. You can say whatever you want and treat people the way you want. There is no respect for opinions or people. I dont know if that is an active policy but it has started from the top down. Flaming is as common as breathing on Gupshup.

If you need further clarification. I will do my best.

As for the context of the other posts. I was banned in Feb or March. I basically insulted Faisal a great deal. He deserved it in my opinion. I still dont regret my comments nor the fact that i insulted him. Why did i insult him? I believe he editted one of my posts where i pointed out a stupid comment he made and mocked him and it started off from that. You can always ask Faisal of his opinion.

^^ By far the best post on gupshup. CM you are the MAN !

Thank you for saying such truth.

-Salman

why not ask to clear it ? Is ignoring a solution ?

CM :k:

Welcome back Robespierre.

CM that was really well written, and i totally agree.

ok admins now send CM a PM and offer him moderatorship plus mithai-ka-tokra, in return ask him to edit his post and turn it to a tareefi reply.

lota party khareed laiN is say pehlay kay or pol khulaiN.

waise honestly i dont get why ppl take GS so serious. Like muzna said its lotof hard work etc etc and i totally agree. Us ppl complain too much, har cheez izzat ka maamla ho jaati hai, thread koi lock hoyi...delete koi hoyi..i mean wtf cares, its just a forum. Popcorn khayo post karo tay mast ho jayo.

(in case u didnt realize above was a neutral reply - pehlay CM ki tareef and then Muzna ki :::Is tarah say banda dono taraf say chittar khaanay say bach jaata hai:::: )

waslaam

admin ka yai haal hai:smack:tou khud sooch lain gupistan ka kiya haal hoo gah:snooty:

An example on Gupshup. If say Umer, Nescio and PCG are participating in a thread, they will in turn not moderate that thread.

Bhai sahab, mera naam kahan sai aa gaya beej mai?

What has happened to my thread. :bummer:

I do not think that I need to add anything here since the original statement by Islamabad had been removed and matter has been resolved. But just to set few things straight, I will nontheless try to put my message across.

With respect to Islamabad's initial post, I would say that as much as I respect his sentiments, his post left us clueless until the time he clarified the matter. He was very angry and he duely acknowledged that. However, I try to remove anything that goes against our values and religion but in the end I am a humanbeing and somewhere I might have faltered. Though this time around the charges levied were mere accusations and not really backed by substantial proof. And Miss Muslim Queen now, let me tell you I was equally infuriated by that post. It has to be a two way traffic. I took his diatribe and charges as an insult, it was akin to someone giving a gali to me/cursing me for questioning my faith and love for our prophet.
If I refered to the action as dumb, I believe I was justified. THis isn't arrogance for I am the sort of a person who is always willing to say sorry to resolve the problem. This is the first time I won't...I did not refer to him as such and can't think of ever doing that. The people who add to the forums and provide information on relevant topics are very precious to me and they 'know' this too.

Good morning :wave:

*Originally posted by Muzna: *
I'm don't know that these last few posts are about so I'll ignore them.

CM,

Can you please define in more detail what you mean by "transparency"?
I'm just curious.

So much interest in member concerns is refreshing, maybe you could take the little military dictator saba under your wing, ?

Muzna got style.