Hi everyone.i am new here.i am 21 and i need to lose around say 11 kgs.i am very depressed because of the way i look.i dont buy new clothes nor do i attend any gatherings other than going to university.i cannot afford a gym membership and healthy expensive foods.though i have an elliptical machine at home.i use it for 45 minutes 6 days a week.i eat healthy like fruits oatmeal diet aata green tea brown rice etc yogurt kala chana carrots etc
If anyone of you has experienced successful & healthy weight loss,please answer the following:
1-if i do only elliptical daily will i be able to see results since its said you need to vary your workout and your body should not get used to one routine.
2-how long does it take to start seeing results ( this time i am trying to be very patient though )
3-for toning my arms should i do bicep curls with 1-2 kg dumb bells ?
4-The brown bread available in karachi,Pakistan.like is it okay to have that since i heard k ye real brown bread nahi huti isme bhi sugar huta hai
And the weight loss threads are very helpful and motivating.Thankyou in advance.
Well I have experienced a great amount of fat loss, you can say I was quite heavy and then with sheer determination and hardwork I lost around 25kgs. It was mix of gym and diet control but then I have recently put back around 6-8 kgs and now my mission is to loose a total of 15kgs to get to a weight where I don't have to think too much if I can eat this or not. I am gonna do the same routine....exercise on as many days I can adjust but making sure I stay on a controlled diet for the nxt two months atleast. Lets see how it goes for me but I am quite hopeful.
If it is easy for you. Go head. I am sure you will see the results. I only do brisk walk too.
2-Let me tell you you have to be patient. Just don't give up. If you had a bad day yesterday. That's completely fine. Just think for today,s meals and try to eat healthy.
3-I don't know
4-yes brown bread is batter then white.
Measuring waist is actually very motivating. It reminds me the cheating that I do in previous week. Or less number then previous week makes me proud. Same case with weight machine I am sure.
a friend of mine lost over 20 kg (from 80-58kg approx) by just controlling her diet and lots of exercise. it took her about a year. she eliminated ALL junk from her diet.
I have a recipe of some kind of soup, which makes u lose 4 kgs a week if u only eat that with a glass of orange juice daily .. it worked on my czn, she lost 12 kgz in 3 months :)
If you have doubts about brown bread you can try switching to "chakki ka Ata" for your rotis at home. It is going to be tough though, because most people in Karachi like their rotis white. However if you convince your family at home to make that switch it's going to be healthier for you as well as your family. Chakki ka ata has the same basic concept as brown bread, both are made from whole grain. Whereas as white wheat doesn't have all the natural wheat fibers in it, because they are separated during the refining process.
Aside from that weight loss is all about counting your calories. That can be tough though. Try finding filler foods, snacks that are going to keep you from eating too much. Munch on carrots, bell peppers, cucumbers or other vegetables when you're bored/hungry. Garbanzo beans/chickpeas/cholay are good fillers too, just don't add too much stuff to it. Just boil them using as little salt as bearable and keep them in the refrigerator. They'd probably not go bad for 3 to 4 days. Water is a great distraction too, drink water when you're bored.
As far as exercise goes, I'm a big proponent of strength training. Try learning how to do pushups, learn free weight squatting. Youtube is your best friend. Cardio is just too boring for me, but that's me. Aside from that good luck, and go slow at it. Like they say, "Slow and steady wins the race."
I would highly reccommend cutting your carbs down to the bare minimum. I gave up rice and had the occasssional roti, and lost about 20 pounds in a onth and a half. I was exercising as well (combination of cardio and circuit training), but I hadn't seen any significant weight loss until I cut my carbs. Good luck!
I have a recipe of some kind of soup, which makes u lose 4 kgs a week if u only eat that with a glass of orange juice daily .. it worked on my czn, she lost 12 kgz in 3 months :)
only soup and juice ? that seems like a fad diet yaar and this time im quite serious about shedding the pounds for ever.its already been forever since im struggling with it.
I would highly reccommend cutting your carbs down to the bare minimum. I gave up rice and had the occasssional roti, and lost about 20 pounds in a onth and a half. I was exercising as well (combination of cardio and circuit training), but I hadn't seen any significant weight loss until I cut my carbs. Good luck!
alright if i cut white rice completely out of my diet.and eat one brown roti per day ( my roti is not very big in size ) , so is this fine ? my diet mostly contains of black chickpeas,oatmeal,fruits and vegs wagera.. and isabghol :P lol
Try logging you calories by using myfitnesspal or sparkspeople which is a free online site that lets you log you calorie so you can monitor the amount of calories you intake which ends up being more than you think. The elliptical can be monotonous but go to youtube and search beginner workouts by fitnessblender, jillian micheals 30 day shred, leslie sansone walk away the pounds which is pretty basic, there is pilates by blogilates, any HIIT workout for beginner. Make a goal of choosing any workout alternating with your elliptical. You wont get bored, you body woul be constantly challenged. If youtube is banned I am pretty sure you can find workout videos in stores. Just pop a dvd in and go for it. Brown bread is fine. Personally I think our bodies need everything including carbs. Go for complex carbs with a low glycemic index. Here is a link to arm workout 10 Best Arm Moves you seem to be eating healthy just try logging your calories is all I can tell you. And I think one roti is fine.
alright if i cut white rice completely out of my diet.and eat one brown roti per day ( my roti is not very big in size ) , so is this fine ? my diet mostly contains of black chickpeas,oatmeal,fruits and vegs wagera.. and isabghol :P lol
The roti should be okay but I would avoid chickpeas. Definitely have lots of veggies and stick to the "healthier" fruits (e.g. apples). Some fruits have very high sugar content and try to limit the number of servings per day. Doing the calorie tracking is a very good idea, but make sure they are "good" calories (i.e. high in protein, low in fat and carbs)
Also, try to make sure you lead an active lifestyle. If you're still having trouble losing weight, try removing the fruits from your diet altogether.
A small portion of Garbanzos, especially the black ones wouldn't be bad though. You can't cut off carbs from your diet completely, that's your body's main energy source.
Besides all carbs aren't created equal. Some digest slower than others and that's what you should look for. Slow digesting foods, that'll keep you full for longer periods of time.
Determination, self confidence and dieting in a healthy way. Each of us our bodies..respond differently to food and workout. And that is because..it is our life style. Beside working out. Eat in small portions and walk a lot throughout the day if you can. Start from here..insha'allah you'll get there..
I have lost close to 60lbs, took me a year.. i don't believe in starving your self or drinking soups all day everyday..it's not healthy and its not sustainable.
I did not cut carbs out just watched my calories and worked out.
You are on the right track Elliptical is a great workout.. add some weights to your routine there are a lot of great youtube videos i usually use 5lbs and 10lbs.