Guests wearing red to a wedding

Re: Guests wearing red to a wedding

I wouldn't wear it! I think it's rude to wear red to the shaadi of someone else... knowing that the bride is wearing the same colour. Would you do the same if you went to a non-desi wedding where you knew the bride was wearing white? I dunno, I just don't like it.

Even though you have asked her, she's not going to say no. A few people asked one of my really good friend if they could wear red to her wedding (knowing that she was wearing red) - it was nice of them to ask but she could not tell them no. She didn't want them to wear it and so she complained about it to me/her friends... but she let people wear it.

Yeah, you won't look like the bride because nobody can steal her light but I still think it comes under manners and etiquette not to wear red. Unless the bride specifically asks people to wear red, I would keep it off limits on the wedding day. Wearing it on the mehendi/valima are definitely ok. Can't you keep this outfit for another event and wear something else to your friends?

When in doubt, I always take the conservative approach - better to go that route than offend someone/come across as rude

Well some ladies wear their wedding dress on my wedding :smack::hinna:and I find it quite rude,don know why they do such thing,and it gets worst when those ladies sat beside me for a photograph:snooty:Lols

They can wear whatever they want.
Its your wedding but you don't decide what they wear.
It would be a different story if the dress code / colors are mentioned in the invitation,but if they aren't then its really up to the person to wear whatever they want.

I wouldn't mind if someone decided to wear the same color as me on my wedding day.

I know soooooooooooooooooo many people have a problem with brides wearing their shaadi ka jora to someone else's wedding, but really people, chill out!

It is so wasteful to wear an outfit once and never again because hayee, log kya kehengay. Yes, a guest wearing a red outfit to someone else's wedding should not dress up in jhoomar, teeka and ghoonghat, but to wear the outfit again, what is the big deal?

And for those who say wear it somewhere else, um no one is going to wear a shaadi ka jora to an iftaar party - you'd only wear it to a fancy event. Gosh, some people are so insecure.

Yeah wearing red is ok but Wht abt wearing their OWN wedding dress in others wedding!:chai:

Nowadays bride's wear other colors too like maroon , pink etc.Guests can't be expected to stay away from all those colors.

Ahan:chai:

In other words you’re only allowed to wear red once in your entire life :rolleyes: I didn’t realize that Allah mian said kay laal sirf dulhan apnay shaadi kay din pehan sakti hay, uskay baad pehan na haraam hay.

Absolutely nothing wrong in tht.A bride has a lot more that makes her a bride , not just her dress.
So yeah they can wear their own wedding dress too.What is the problem ?

In our family we wear(if we want to)our wedding dress in mehandi,all the ladies wear their gharara,shararas tikka ghunar,it looks quite nice:)

Yeah obviously they CAN wear but I was talking abt MY views on this.

I was not talking abt the colouring but the wedding dress itself:chai:

In desi weddings, its ok for guests to wear red. Infact the more dressed up you are the more close to the bride you are. Most of you have been born in the West so the cue not to wear the color the bride is wearing comes from there. When my SIl got married, my MIl was mad that I wasn't wearing my wedding dress on that occasion. Obviously she wouldn't want me to upstage her own daughter, right?

nice outfit mA.
personally I would not wear this outfit to the wedding event.....even if the bride said, "It's alright, go ahead".....but if you really want to then there isn't any harm in it.
I don't think there's any chance that you will be competing with the bride though......as long as you're not all decked out in teeka and jhoomar.....
enjoy!

Basically, it's this that I'm thinking. No one will really have a problem with me wearing red or whatnot, but it's just courtesy to be a bit considerate in case I look like I'm trying steal the limelight innit? I've worn red before, it's just that the kaam on this outfit is so heavy, I'll look like I'm showing off.

Anyways, I've got a back up outfit if it's not this one, and if it's really not gonna happen (cos all of my sister's said not to wear it just in case), I'll just wear this nice blue outfit I have.

And also if I wore it, I would tone it down a looooooooot with no jewellery and wearing light hijab etc etc.
Meh.

Guests should go naked, because bride could potentially be wearing any color dress. Why take chances.

You guys need to seriously chill. Everyone goes all out for weddings and how many times are you going to get a chance to wear something like this? The bride doesn’t care and your not her in-law so shes not gonna lie to please you. No one is going to confuse her for the dulhan or trying to upstage the dulhan.

The girl on stage sitting next to the groom wearing a dubatta on her head, heavy jewelry and make up and having pictures taken with all the guest is not the bride, the actual bride is the girl in the red suit all the way back at table number 35 stuffing her face with briyani :smack:

Brides wear many different colors now, are you going to stop going to weddings cause it would be rude if you coincidentally wore the same color as the bride. Unless it is specifically stated that you can’t wear a color, there is nothing wrong.

In case Bride is not wearing traditional red on her Day … one can go with the color … I believe wedding is a function full of colors …
below are few pix …

in the first pic, my eyes kept going to the red dress. i had to make a conscious effort to move to the bride. So, i guess if you wear red and the bride is not, please do not sit next to her. :stuck_out_tongue: