Guess the Cricketer

Guys…
Its a challenge.
Please guess the cricketer.I will keep giving few hints every now and then.And please dont put your trivia questions here.Use seprate thread.

Ok.. so here are 2 clues…

1. He scored an unbeaten match-winning century on debut.
  2. He is an opening batsman and a medium-pace bowler.

Ok..No one answerd...
here is another clue...

3.He won a match for his team by hitting a six of the last delivery.

Another hint... He is South African
His initials are JK

Jacques Kallis

Originally posted by Some1: *
Another hint... He is South African
His initials are **JK

No Some1.
You are wrong...

Another hint..
4 He won the first match in which he was appointed as captain.

Socho Socho

not sure, but is it Indian Captin? Sourav Ganguly:)

*Originally posted by Eastern Thoughts: *
not sure, but is it Indian Captin? Sourav Ganguly:)

nah..... good try though...

try more.

where are Umairs,Asifs,ehsans and Mundas.

We are here only - try to come up with some decent quiz instead of something like 'name a player who farted on field once...'. Also be clear when you are giving the clue.

I dont think there is any player who was an opener and was also a medium pacer and who scored an winning unbeaten century in his first test match and then won his first test match as captain.

Closest player comes to mind is Salim Malik (one of my fav) who scored an winning unbeaten century on debut and he also won his first match as captain, not to forget that he was a decent medium pace bowler.

*Originally posted by Asif_k: *
We are here only - try to come up with some decent quiz instead of something like 'name a player who farted on field once...'. Also be clear when you are giving the clue.

I dont think there is any player who was an opener and was also a medium pacer and who scored an winning unbeaten century in his first test match and then won his first test match as captain.

Closest player comes to mind is Salim Malik (one of my fav) who scored an winning unbeaten century on debut and he also won his first match as captain, not to forget that he was a decent medium pace bowler.

Dont get Angry, you angry young man of Khel Khilari. ;)

Try ..socho....
Answer will follow soon.
Last clue...

He is Indian. **

Manoj Prabhakar?

although I doubt he was given the skipper's job.

*Originally posted by Diablo Kazama: *
Manoj Prabhakar?

although I doubt he was given the skipper's job.

nah.....

:k: :k: :k:

Gavaskar or failing that Srikanth.

*Originally posted by ehsan: *
Gavaskar or failing that Srikanth.

Nah........

Try again???
socho socho.....

Do dushman in agreement. :wink:
Allah nazar-bad se bachaye.. :slight_smile:

Except Kapil, Jadeja, Prabhakar and Ganguly No Indian medium pacer opened for India and scored a century debut or not.

Waise Jadeja and Ganguly hardly qualify as medium pacers, at best they are part time bowlers who just run and bowl.

So the answer is NO-ONE.

ehsan bhai - Ye Gavaskar aur Srikanth kab se medium pacer ho gaye ?? Lagta hai aajkal aap bahut busy hain.

*Originally posted by fair_&_balance: *

Do dushman in agreement. ;)
Allah nazar-bad se bachaye.. :)

I always admired Malik and his style! I even liked him as a captain and a bowler! I think he was 1994's third highest wicket taker or something too

Ok the answer is …

Mr. Bhuvan from Champaner. LAGAAN

Please dont kill me now.
:rotfl: :rotfl:

Asif using : Baal nochne wala Icon :

^ dunno about number of wickets, but Malik became quite notorious alongwith Sohail for getting breakthroughs with his occasional bowls during the mid-90s.

I admired his game a lot too. The stalwart of Pak's batting lineup alongwith Miandad who rescued Pakistan many a time with his well-placed innings and soft-hand shots. Quality player, pity he isn't remembered in as high a regard now and his name always associated with issues off the field more than the heroics for his team.