Growing up in Karachi

Lived in Karachi from age 4 till shortly before 18. Lived mostly in Gandhi Gardens area till i was 10 and then Defence Phase II Commercial Area (the not so rich among the rich) my remaining time there.

I only got to learn to drive at age 15 so had only about two years and a half to explore the city on my own. School was in saddar and most social life was around defence, clifton, tariq road, jacob lines, bandar road so most of my movement was limited to these areas. There was the occasional trip to the airport, karsaz etc.

Gulshan e Iqbal and North Nazimabad were some of the areas that were considered too far for comfort. So i grew up with an image of these areas being the badlands of some sort, especially n. nazimabad because if i ever drifted towards there, i wouldnt be able to find my way back.

Now that i look back, it seems even though i have a sense of pride having grown up in this city, i stll regret not knowing most of the areas like i should have. And i blame that on never having a proper map of the city :mad:

Lets hear your experiences growing up in this chaos of a city called Karachi.

Re: Growing up in Karachi

lived in karachi from 0 yrs to about 34.7 years
base camp was always north nazimabad - “C” block , the area around Hydri market, Asghar Ali Shah Stadium and the surroundings were where I spent my childhood, schooling etc. I got my “wings” when I was in grade 9 , St. Jude’s high school in D’Salva Town. This was when I started going out on my own , without an adult. I remember going to visit friends living in papoosh nagar and as far as F.B. Area on my own :smack: , bus routes as far as I remember were 2D , 3 , and we had those yellow mini buses, W something.

Anyway, within 2 years it was time to go to college, St. Pat’s in Saddar , so now I was really on my own, for pretty much all day. I fell in love with the old city at that time, the saddar area become new “BASE CAMP” , as we would often bunk classes at college and go spend time in front of St. Joseph College. My first 25 or so one way love affairs started and ended in front of St. Joseph’s.
Empress market was another fun place to roam around with friends. I have been a pet lover all my life and the pet shops in Empress market were fun to be in.

While in college and university, me and some friends used to put up these stalls in the ladies markets in Meena Bazar and Hydri market, ChooRiaan and ladies chapals and hand bags - making money was not the objective :blush:

rest later

**Lived 24 years in FB Area (Azizabad to be precise) … n not too far away frm 90 … :halo:

till class 7 … didn’t knew much about karachi …

then went to cadet college … (In pakistan steel) … n in 5 years … i can proudly say … that i explored almost all areas of Karachi …

(I Still believe that no 1 can claim that he knows all Karachi areas inside out)

i already grew up before i came to karachi :D

^ Sirf Qadd lamba honay say banda grown up nahi ho jata :p

**^^:omg:

I’m trying to imagine you doing that but i don’t know how you looked like back then so the image that comes to mind is of your current self standing outside St. Joseph’s :rotfl:

Cadet, one of my brothers went to Pakistan Steel back in early-mid 80s. The other two went to Petaro. I was the only son spared from cadet college :smiley:

iss hee liye aisey nikley :p

My parents didnt let me go to a cadet college , I was too POSH for that :snooty:

uss waqt bhi mooch thee :blush:
laikin itni Ghinaawnee nahi thee :smiley:

**^^ && ^^^^ :omg:

my brother went cadet college but it was some time ago. he has the best memories from there. apparently the standards arent the same anymore with hassan abdal beating all.

*^^ yeah ..... Hassan Abdal is defiantly among top rated Cadet Colleges in Pakistan

Wow…Another St Patsian (if thats even a word) went there for 2 years of college after matric from Habib Public School. PM me for the year you went to St. Pats.

Growing up in Karachi was the best part of the whole life. Lived there from 5 years till 24 years old. Knew all about areas like Yaseenabad (between azizabad block 8 and dastageer), Gushan blocks 13-d-1 and II, saddar, PIDC and surronding area, N Nazimabad, gurumandir.
Went to school at Habib Public, College St. Pats and BCS from Petroman before returning back to US. Started driving on my own by age 15 and officially by 18.

so u must know abt 6 Number Bus & 6B :hmmm:

sure do…more about 6B then 6 since its last stop was very close to my home…we used to call it chand gaari…it used to be pretty empty but on a working day around noon all the girls from sir syed college used to ride in the back and front portions of the bus…that was the highlight for quite a few of us… :slight_smile:

**hahaa...
which area were u frm?

I shifted frm block 8 two years ago

One of the things that I remember growing in karachi , which I dont think happens any where else is the night cricket in Ramzan..., Gali key Khambey per kunda marna aur shadion main laganey wali lightoon main cricket khailna... that was fun

lived in yaseenabad for about 13-15 years....