Greg Chappel vs Bob Woolmer : The coming showdown

Re: Greg Chappel vs Bob Woolmer : The coming showdown

once again, I can’t do anything about ending this hilarious “team india” however I can make fun of it. I brought up australia since they are the best team in the world and if they want to call themselves “team australia” or hell even “team god” that’s fine since they are so damn good. But a mediocre team like india with slogan like “team india” and even worse “men in blue” is just comical. Now as far as huddle is concerned, it’s pretty much done by every team in every sport for a very long time. It’s universal, anyone can do it. no matter if they are good or not.
and as far as “team pakistan” is concerned. I am sure initially some papers or even fans referred to themselves as “team pakistan”, but thankfully unlike our indian friends, we realized we are a mediocre team who is only making a buffoon out of ourselves by this self appointed title. I am sure once in a blue moon some paper in pakistan still refer pakistan as “team pakistan”, but if you think it is as widespread as the indian use of that term, you are kidding yourself.

ok, now tell me what part of the words “team india” indicates superiority. to be considered a team, does India have to win every match and 10 world cups in a row? is it not a team?

how does “team australia” make “perfect sense”?

I give up !!! please read the post you quoted again and try to understand what is being said instead of keeping on blowing ur own trumpet.

P.S: TEAM PAKISTAN title wasn't bestowed by the media but officially adopted by the PCB, so there u go.

I concur.

I dont see what all the commotion is about. Every team is out there to play to win and needs all the morale uplifting it can get. We might not believe it but im sure every Bangladeshi and Zimbabwean cricketer too goes out with the belief that they will win. If you dont go in to win then you might as well just wear ghunghru and take some classical indian dance classes.

Point being they are an indian team and hence theyre called team india. Whats so complicated about that?

Sincerely,
Captain Lota

this is what i’m getting at.

the Indian national team is not like an NBA or NFL team with a name like “The Lakers” or “The Patriots”…so what the hell should they be called if not “Team India”.

in every sport where a team does not have a name, they are referred to as “Team ____”. This is most common with national teams, and all you have to do is watch coverage of the Olympics to see virtually every national team in every competing sport be called “Team ____” because none of these national teams have mascot names.

perhaps Atlanta bhai can expand on how using the word “team” requires India to be an amazing, world-beating cricket team.

it makes sense since they are great team that likes to flaunt their superiority. I’ll give you an local example. couple years back, hawks started this marketing program “play-off bound atlanta hawks”. It was in every billboard in town along with every local tv and radio commercial. they got ridiculed so bad by game 30 when their record was 4-26 that they took down every billboard and pulled every commercial out of airplay.

I guess what I am trying to say, whenver mediocre crappy team like india decides to come up with slogans copying the mighty aussies at that, expect to be ridiculed just like hawks got ridiculed.

And i don’t know where the olympic thing came from. Yes, I know athletes wear their country color and the name of the country is prominently displayed in their uniform, i don’t think i’ve seen widespread use of “team(whatever country)” type of slogan like indians do.

Simple stuff, if you suck, please don’t come up with some kind of slogan that only cause people to ridicule you more.

and before nikhil baba and his dhoti-walla friends get their you know what in bunches, let me make myself clear, I laugh equally hard when I see pak cricket team sporting shirts with ridiculously hilarious slogan such as “proud to be a pakistani.” :rotfl:

Oh well !!! at least i tried.

P.S- resist from making cheap-shots if u don’t have a good argument.

Atlanta Bhai,

I am still trying to comprehend whats wrong with the Phrases

1- Team India

How does it potray arrogance or a hint at being the Best in the world?????

2- Men in Blue

What should it be otherwise, Men in colourless Shirts and Trousers?????

3- Proud to be a Pakistani

Atlanta Bhai this is the Biggest proof that you have lost your baseless argument, just to make your point you have even ridiculed your Team and Nation.

Atlanta Bhai Even If My team loses the next 50 matches they will still be Team India, and also the Men in Blue, remember I said if they lose, will it make them Team Losers, or Team Pakistan, or Men in Pink or Men in Purple.

I sincerely fail to understand your logic, specially when I have read your many other posts, and none has been as absurd as this one.

Aejaz

no, it shouldn't be men in colourless shirt. it shouldn't be anything. I don't have problem with slogans as much as I have trouble with a mediocre team in india making up the slogan.

you focused on a great point. you say that "team india" still remains "team india" after they lose. Yes, maybe to you. But countless newspapers in india along with large portion of the fans disagree with you. How else can explain how these slogans mysteriously disappear after every indian loss.

right, I have ridiculed my nation because i poked a fun at their so called "slogan." just because i refuse to go along with a idiotic slogan that our cricket team has picked up doesn't mean i lost love for my country. It's high time you (indian) people stop taking cricket and their jingoism to drum up support so seriously.

A country which hasn't won a away test series against a significant opponent outside of sub-continent for a long time should not be throwing out any kind of slogan. And here's the mandatory paki bashing so indian members won't think I am slamming only their pyare bharat mata. A team that has regularly gotten whipped like schoolchild by australia for the past 8-10 years should not be coming up with "proud to be a pakistani". both are equally retarded.

and jatt mirza. I think you indians sticking up for such ridiculous slogans is idiotic too. but that's okay. we can agree to disagree. and no, i didn't take cheap shots. just said what i thought was right. people like kattabomma and balle balle take cheap shots. go talk to them before you try to teach me about cheap shots.

I did not read the above posts in full but whoever says that its OK to call the Australian Team - TEAM AUSTRALIA but not the Indian Team - TEAM INDIA , is suffering from classic DESI INFERIORITY COMPLEX.

TEAM INDIA is Indian Team's official brand name and makes perfect commercial sense .They could be just as well called INDIAN PANTHERS or INDIAN SEAHAWKS. Talking of commercial sense, this is an area that PCB can take some lessons from BCCI.

My issues were only with how our tabloids - yes tabloids (Hindustantimes & Times of India) sometimes parade these terms with an air of arrogant show-off.

By the way, Bob won.

Sincerely,
Captain Lota

^ was it even a contest? :)

^not at all..:D

I guess chacha babloo got somehow chappel to lay on the floor and then decided to do it they easy way while he simply sat on him til chappel begged to be counted out :hehe: